We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
doreenho
london

Pleasant and Budget Hotel

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Feb 2019via mobile
Clean, friendly staff and right in the city of Kuching.
Price is right at rm88 for a double. Walking distance to the waterfront, ‘China town’ Padungan, Carpenter street and main bazaar. Most of the city interests are within walking distance. A very pleasant stay although there’s a minor renovation going on at the moment. Will definitely coming back to stay the next trip!
Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
RM 460
RM 420
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from 360Xpress City Center
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
RM 439
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
0.2 km from 360Xpress City Center
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
RM 183
RM 148
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Hotel Site
  • Priceline
0.3 km from 360Xpress City Center
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
RM 259
RM 200
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
5.4 km from 360Xpress City Center
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
RM 134
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
1.0 km from 360Xpress City Center
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
RM 435
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Official Hotel Site
19.8 km from 360Xpress City Center
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Theatre Hotel Kuching is a luxurious hotel located in the heart of Kuching City, Sarawak. Our hotel is a perfect blend of history and modern luxury, providing you with an exceptional experience during your stay with us. Our team is dedicated to making your stay memorable and comfortable. We offer a wide range of services to our guests, including 24-hour front desk, free Wi-Fi, Self Service laundry, and more. Our rooms are spacious, elegantly designed, and equipped with all modern amenities t
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    RM 201
  • Booking.com
0.0 km from 360Xpress City Center
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive Deluxe
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    RM 247
  • Priceline
0.5 km from 360Xpress City Center
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 98
  • eDreams
1.7 km from 360Xpress City Center
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 231
  • Booking.com
7.3 km from 360Xpress City Center
View more hotels in Kuching
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
35
79
35
15
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
35
79
35
15
12
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 176 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2019 via mobile

I booked a room here for convenience sake as I work at a nearby Plaza Merdeka mall. I needed a place to crash after a very late night of stock take (we finished at 430am). I was so disappointed that the electricity kept tripping in the room since early morning until noon when it was check out time. To add to the inconvenience, there is no phone in the room to allow you to call the front desk, so I had to call the reception from my personal phone. The room I got was facing the main road so by 7am it was very noisy.

For the RM103 I paid, I expected a better room.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank CarynRisly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 December 2018 via mobile

I would conclude this

1) next door were a family w non stop crying baby, the sound so loud as if I was just a curtain away...human issue
2) so dirty the hotel corridor see the photo the rubbish were there for 2 days
3) smelly room might due to no window
4) aircond not really cold but cold after if on for whole day
5) got hotel housekeeping but seem not cleaning coz I dropped some sugar on the table and it’s still there when I back. And the toilet bowl.....as if the hotel cannot afford a better cleaning chemical??

What else?? I m too picky? Frankly I couldn’t think of anything else good except the location is near to Padungan

But for a business traveler this might be a good value hotel. But in return I m getting s crying baby and pungent smile room I don’t think I want to come back again

Pay a little bit more for a better hotel I would rather

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank Jimmy_L421
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

The room is lack of maintenance and not sound proof, could hear clearly the noise from next door and outside. The cleaners are unprofessional since they're always making noise in the corridor, talking and laughing out loud outside the room. Limited TV channels, only a few local Malay channels and not suitable for those not understanding Malay well. Internet connection was interrupted in the room, very poor Internet connection. A lot of noise could be heard during midnight. After all, I had very bad experience during my stay in this hotel👇👇👇😣 it wasn't worth the money value at all.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Cruiser818935
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 September 2018

Very friendly staff, but No hot water, no internet in room, convenient to walking around and some nice local restaurants, especially Sunday Dimsum. A couple of Dive Bars near by and 24 hour 7-11. Other than that, really not worth the price. Can get better deals if you spend 10-20rm more.

Room tip: The hotel is very run down. My room was falling apart.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank therubes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 July 2018

I did not expect to be able to sleep well but I did! The bed was comfy, hot shower was working, pillows are comfy and fluffy too. It's absolutely worth every single penny especially for a night stopover and having to leave the city the next day.

Date of stay: October 2017
Thank Borneon_Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews