We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cosy home in Kuching”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Batik Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 80 Kuching B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Faja Grande, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A cosy home in Kuching”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2017

This has been probably the best hotel in my 9 months wandering throughout SEAsia, great downtown location, high quality rooms & service and, above all, the amazingly friendly & helpful staff: after 10 nights with them, Raj, Musalim and Jo-Lynn easily became best friends, or like a second family, like the rest of the staff:)) I owned a boutique hotel myself for many years so I know what I'm saying!;) Also had the pleasure to meet owner Jackie to whom I wish the best luck with all her interesting projects in several different fronts, and hope to come back in the near future to further explore the surprising Cat City and its natural surroundings! Keep going this way Batik Boutique crew and take care

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pierceptive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    97
    23
    5
    2
See reviews for
35
166
51
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

While there are many really good things to say about Batik Boutique Hotel (location, clean, big rooms, a good selection of Scotch whiskey if you care about that), what really separates this from other places we've stayed is the attentive, hospitable, welcoming, and helpful people working there. Especially Jo-Lynn & Raj!

I cannot say enough about how helpful and attentive they were. Felt more like staying with friends who wanted to do everything possible to make sure you enjoyed their city. And because of them, we really did. From suggestions on places to go, things to do, restaurants to try, confirming and making reservations for us, they were simply the best. Thank you!

Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 325camd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

This hotel is in an amazing location especially for food hunting. Top spot ( cheap and fresh seafood dinner), noodle descendents, and chong choon ( famous sarawak laksa) are just a stone throw away.

We managed to get to the river front, carpenter street (black bean coffee) and lau ya kheng (pork satay) all by foot!

They provide good tea and coffee facilities . Their coffee is from black bean coffee. Bathrooms are equipped with Tanamera spa products.

When we arrived, we were greeted with a shot of tuak and kek batik. The staff also asked if we wanted to join the owners for a hike the next day! The hotels 'quick guide' to kuching was most helpful as foodies on our food hunt.

The staff are attentive and accomodating in advising on which are the best places, best tours or even guiding how to do the visits yourself if you don't want to follow a tour.

The hotel also provides free airport transfers (one trip to and from the hotel) subject to availability.
A tip: If you book through an external site (such as agoda) they won't have your details so make sure to contact them directly and they'll be sure to help.

Best of kuching hospitality! Would definitely visit again.

Stayed March 2017, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Amy_smk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

Batik boutique...ahhh this hotel is where I really started to relax, to love kuching and love the staff. The staff treat you as if you were old friends, welcome drinks and cake is a lovely touch followed by genuine interest for your plans around Kuching, offering their advise on local tourist spots giving us maps and directions. Masalem (think that's his name) is wonderful! He ordered us a private car to take us to see the rafelesia when it was in bloom, all for crazy cheap prices. They do so much for you, service above and beyond.

As for the rooms, they're amazing! Good and spacious with the best rain shower we've experienced in the last 6 weeks, wonderful bathroom amenities not just the little plastic bottle of gel but China dishes with aromatherapy shampoos, conditioners, washes and body lotions. Smells amazing! The beds are so comfortable, I haven't slept so well in my life. The breakfasts were a mix of buffet and ordering from a menu, the French toast wins over everything everytime.

If you're still reading this and are wondering is batik for you, go with them! You won't regret it I'd stay here again in a heart beat (we even extended out stay because we didn't want to leave)

Thank you batik for the amazing memories ❤❤❤

Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylv R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seremban, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2017

One of the best hotel I've stayed in Kuching especially the best location spot in the city. Would like to thank the team of the hotel especially Jo Lynn for providing a great hospitality and giving suggestion on where you could enjoy your nightlife by just walking. Great atmosphere for spa in the hotel room where you could feel comfortable and relaxed. The food was great and luxury in such a decent price. Would definitely recommend my friends to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PalmSeremban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.9 km away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.3 km away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.2 km away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
0.2 km away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
1.0 km away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Batik Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batik Boutique Hotel

Property: Batik Boutique Hotel
Address: 38 Jalan Padungan, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price range (per night): RM213 - RM274
Hotel Class:4 star — Batik Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Batik is a lifestyle hotel set in the epicentre of Kuching's hustle and bustle. It caters to the needs of today's discerning business and leisure traveller sprinkled with a certain special touch. With its fifteen stylishly designed well-equipped rooms, unconventional hotel offerings and enthusiastic and ever-so-helpful team of hotel crew, The Batik is Kuching's first hospitality icon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Batik Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batik Boutique Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing