We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic and inexpensive adventure with David.”
Review of Beds Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beds Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 81 Kuching B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 January 2012

My husband and I took a day trip to the highlands with David and it was a highlight of our eight day stay in Kuching. We wanted to visit places that were authentic and not just set up for tourists. David was very friendly, accommodating and lots of fun. We visited a number of markets which was a feast to our eyes with so many variety of fruits, vegetables, flowers and plants. We even got to sample some of the produce. He drove us to his mother's village and provided us with a memorable insight into their country's culture. After a trip in a 4WD, we took a short jungle trek through some of the most beautiful rainforest to a great refreshing waterfall where we rested, swam and waited for our lunch to be cooked and served in a traditional manner. It was so peaceful as there was no one else around. The experience was definitely worth more than what we paid.
Even though our accommodation was elsewhere our impression of this place was very positive. The hosts were very friendly, helpful and the place was clean and had a cosy, relaxing atmosphere about it.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank JoyVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Beds Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 61 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed here for 6 nights and can definitely recommend the place. It is cheap, the staff is friendly and loads of extras is included in the rate. This rooms are basic however they do have fan and air-con, unfortunately the toilet and bathroom is shared.

Breakfast is included in the rate and you can eat a much as you like, however you should prepare it yourself which seems fair enough.

There is a water-dispenser available with both hot and cold water, they have a baby-chair, a brilliant livingroom with big tv and all the movies you can wish for, free city maps. There is a laundry machine you can use for 5 ringit per wash as well as kitchen if you would like to cook yourself. The rooms are clean and so are the common areas.

The place is situated slightly away from the harbour where you will find most of the towns attractions, but this is hardly a problem.

If you feel like chilling out and a swim, head in opposite direction of the harbour to the public swimminpool. Here there is both a adult and kids pool. The staff can show you the place on their map.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tuslingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

The facilities here are outstandingl - showers, common areas, air con, great character etc. Very clean and high quality linen.
Imo and David are great hosts and make it a fun, relaxed place to stay. They organised some really fun nights out when I was there. It feels like a home away from home. I was recommended Beds from other travelers who I met in Sabah, and they raved about it as much as I am now. It was definitely a highlight of my time in Sarawak!
Perhaps it's a blessing that this place isn't in LP as it wasn't full when I saw there. It's spacious enough to handle critical mass though

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shoegazer_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I stayed here 5 nights with my partner and we both loved it! We stayed in a double ensuite room, a little small but very clean and nice, with 2 comfortable beds (not attachable) and super comfortable pillows! the staff is sooo great, really friendly and helpful. also they have a very useful board with information on transportation, so we could easily go on our own anywhere we wanted in the beautiful surroundings of Kuching. The common areas are really nice. Overall this place offered us everything we needed at a very good price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daphne283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed here for five nights and we were very happy with out choice. It's in a nice little neighborhood, with some food places in walking distance, and it's s sort walk down to the waterfront.

The room we stayed in was small, but the common spaces are very welcoming and make a great area to sit back and watch a movie after a long day. The staff was also a lot of fun, and very personable. We really enjoyed getting to know Greg, a intelligent young local who Was very talkative, very helpful, and always smiling.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelBensonCAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.3 km away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
999 reviews
0.9 km away
Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak
0.6 km away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#26 of 55 in Kuching
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Borneo Seahare Guesthouse
0.1 km away
Marco Polo Travellers
Marco Polo Travellers
#4 of 81 in Kuching
189 reviews
1.1 km away
Singgahsana Lodge
Singgahsana Lodge
#2 of 81 in Kuching
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beds Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beds Guesthouse

Address: 229, Lot 91 | Section 50, jalan padungan, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range: RM40 - RM70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beds Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beds Guesthouse, located in the heart of Kuching's very own China Town, is just a 15 minutes walk from the City centre. Nestled in between old historical buildings along Padungan Road, we offer budget travelers a cosy, clean, friendly and hospitable stay in Kuching City. Close to eateries, watering-holes, shopping centres, banks, airline offices, money changers, florist, fruits, sundry shops and city bus routes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Beds Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beds Guesthouse Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing