We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place and cheap!”
Review of Beds Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beds Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 82 Kuching B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights and couldn't fault it really!

The place was always clean, showers hot, free breakfast which could be had all day, eggs, toast, noodles... Decent if you're on a budget like us!

We stayed two nights originally in a double room, we wanted to extend and although they couldn't give the same room they gave us the 5 bed roof dorm to ourselves for the same price which was an upgrade of sorts as it had a private balcony and shower! Nice touch!

The staff could not have been more helpful in every sense! The guy even took us to the airport himself at 2pm for next to nothing!

The Internet and wifi could be better but that's the only slight negative! I'm sure that will be sorted quite quickly, the staff seem to really want to make things great for travellers! They also gave us information on things to do and how to get there... I really liked this place!

Few nice restaurants close by too!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Beds Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 53 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2012

My initial booking was for 4 days; I ended up staying here for over a month! Beds Guesthouse is a home away from home - so many of the reviewers here on TripAdvisor have said the exact same thing, and they're all absolutely right.

If you want to know why this place has an unbelievably good review record here (not one single review below 4/5, at the time of writing), you need not look further than the awesome staff. Everyone here is so friendly and helpful; I really wish that every place had staff this great.

The rooms are clean and spacious; the staff are friendly; the public areas and facilities are excellent, and ideal for meeting other travellers.

The place is GLBT friendly.

This is, hands down, the best guesthouse you'll find in Kuching. In fact, I can't think of a better guesthouse anywhere! Beds Guesthouse is simply the best.

Room Tip: I stayed in numerous rooms, and I can truly say that the descriptions of each of the rooms given by...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zac_vt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

Apart from the Jazz hostel in Miami, this hostel is really comparable to that!!! I loveeee everything here!! It pays more value of money than any other hostel!


The owners here are friendly and helpful. The amenities offered is completely cater to every traveler's need. Did i mentioned the complementary breakfast provided?

With a price of Rm 18 to Rm 50 per night, i was amased by how i was treated here!!! To be exact, i only pay Rm 18 per night for a bed that only cost me Rm44 for 3nights!

I love their ambience the most. The cozy spacious of the living hall is the most perfect venue for the meeting among the travelers!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank likthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We got a huge double room for £10/night, in a hostel that had a decent common area (TV, free dvd (pirated of course) movies to watch and comfy sofas) as well as a kitchen for use. These all added to the atmosphere which is less common these days, so a real bonus.

Also included was free all you can eat breakfast (noodles, eggs, toast and tea/coffee) and filtered water.

David, the receptionist who also ran the tours, was a great character that really added to our experience in Borneo. The owner is lovely and helpful, you get a useful map on arrival that we used for our entire 4 night stay!

It’s located on the edge of the main backpacker area which was the only minor down point...but we’d still recommend it :-D

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My wife & I decided to go for a simple 1 day stay at Kuching, so we searched thru the net & found this place. As soon as we entered the main door, we found ourselves in a comfortable looking shared living hall. We were then led by the friendly owner to the shared DIY kitchen where we were allowed to cook noodle and make coffee for ourselves (noodles & coffee provided btw). Then off we were to the room. Our room was clean & neat, though we could hear cars roaming thru the road accasionally at night. The location is quite good - it's at end of Kuching's chinatown; there are many shops along the stretch to buy local chinese cakes. Overall it's a good value for money place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daeren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.3 km away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
999 reviews
0.9 km away
Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak
0.6 km away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#27 of 55 in Kuching
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Borneo Seahare Guesthouse
0.1 km away
Marco Polo Travellers
Marco Polo Travellers
#3 of 82 in Kuching
189 reviews
1.1 km away
Singgahsana Lodge
Singgahsana Lodge
#2 of 81 in Kuching
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beds Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beds Guesthouse

Address: 229, Lot 91 | Section 50, jalan padungan, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range: RM40 - RM70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beds Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beds Guesthouse, located in the heart of Kuching's very own China Town, is just a 15 minutes walk from the City centre. Nestled in between old historical buildings along Padungan Road, we offer budget travelers a cosy, clean, friendly and hospitable stay in Kuching City. Close to eateries, watering-holes, shopping centres, banks, airline offices, money changers, florist, fruits, sundry shops and city bus routes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Beds Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beds Guesthouse Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing