We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must do if you are in Borneo!”
Review of Kuching Caving

Kuching Caving
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Real caving for everybody! Easy, intermediate and technical day trips through fabulous, deserted caves. Educational too - we run presentations on local geology and archaeology. We can supply you with all equipment and protective clothing - bring a towel and T-shirt. Dangerous? No! We have an excellent safety record which makes Kuching Caving as safe as shopping. "The best thing we did in Kuching" is the reaction from most of our guests. Western managed. Established 2007.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Must do if you are in Borneo!”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

James was funny and knowledgeable... and more importantly, he made sure we had a safe and enjoyable experience during this amazing adventure. Thumbs up!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Anu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
ho chi minh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“YES - great place, great people, great time!”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

My friend and I decided to go caving...our other friends didn't want to splurge on our budget trip...but the extra 70 bucks for caving was so worth it!

James and Frankie were knowledgable and much fun. I had never caved before and would highly recommend for beginners as both James and Frankie have a lot of experience. We also got a great introduction to local fruit, food, farming/village life around Kuching AND rice wine. Good times, hope I can make it back!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank yi ping c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Caving with knowledgeable guides”
Reviewed 17 December 2011

The journey from our hotel located at Kuching waterfront to the village took about an hour with a quick stop for some snacks and refreshments. Along the way, our guide, James briefed us about the caving we were about to experience and some historical sights along the journey.

At the village, we met Frankie, the local guide, at his house. There a short video was played about the geology of the cave we were about enter. Equipment check and safety briefing done, we trekked along some padi fields and picked up some fruits along the way to the cave. Both James and Frankie made the caving interesting with insightful knowledge of the history, geology and creatures of the cave. Some of the interesting things encountered was a millipede that bite could cause necrosis and a recently dead snake which we bought into a watery grave.

The cooling dip to enter the 2nd cave just shows how varied the geology of the caves are. We exited the cave through another way as the water just to cool for us to endure.

Frankie's family treated us like family as we washed and dried ourselves up from the wet adventure. While there, we also feasted on the local fruits picked up along the way. If you are going to Kuching for an adventure then Kuching Caving is not one to be missed.

Thank you James and Frankie for a wonderful and amazing experience!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Aznor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great experience with the Drop Out tour”
Reviewed 14 December 2011

This trip was a blast. The cave system was varied and much thought appeared to have been put into the route to introduce the maximum amount of oomph and interest into the trip without endangering anyone.

We were part of a group of 4 participants guided by 2. Ramly (an ecologist working with the Sarawak Forestry department) and Saman (whose day job is installation of electrical and mechanical systems for hospitals) were knowledgeable weekend cavers who patiently guided us through the system.

The equipment provided was good for the purpose, with knee pads, gloves and other optional items available as add-ons. Helmets were Black Diamond Half Domes, harnesses were Petzl Gym harnesses.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Owl630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The highlight of our stay in Kuching ....”
Reviewed 6 December 2011

James and Frankie (our guides) exudes passions and dedication ensuring that all of us have a great time - and we certainly did. Excitements, awed, challenges, fulfillment are just some words to describe the wonderful time we had. My children ages 11,12 and 16 constantly recall the many memorable situations and anecdotes/background stories from both J & F. Truly an experience not to be missed.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank khoeho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kuching Caving also viewed

 

Been to Kuching Caving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing