We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guides, amazing scenery, good equipment”
Review of Semadang Kayak

Semadang Kayak
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Semadang Kayak is the premier kayaking, bamboo rafting and adventure outfitter and service provider, operated at the Sarawak River (Semadang River) at the Heart of Borneo Rainforest in Kuching, Sarawak. With various package choices, we could take you on the kayaking and rafting trip of your life! This trip is a family friendly trip and suitable for beginners.
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I can really recommend this company as a great way to navigate the awesome Sarawak river in the company of friendly and capable guides and like-minded travellers. The equipment was all brand new and well-maintained and included the loan of canoe-bags to keep your camera and other essentials dry whilst paddling.

The route was wonderful, with great views of the towering limestone peaks of the area as well as the verdant jungle on either side. Lunch was taken in a local village and included the delicious Sarawakian dish of bamboo chicken - marvellous! The trip was also great value. For me, this was the best activity of the many fun things we did in Kuching. Highly recommended!

Date of experience: March 2014
1  Thank TomJABaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"the river"
in 137 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 21 reviews
"okra"
in 5 reviews
"dry bag"
in 7 reviews
"great fun"
in 21 reviews
"small waterfall"
in 13 reviews
"waterproof camera"
in 11 reviews
"life jackets"
in 10 reviews
"took lots of pictures"
in 4 reviews
"fish feeding"
in 8 reviews
"caving tour"
in 5 reviews
"change of clothes"
in 9 reviews
"highly recommend this trip"
in 6 reviews
"local village"
in 14 reviews
"bamboo chicken"
in 10 reviews
"unforgettable experience"
in 8 reviews
"traditional lunch"
in 4 reviews
Filter

253 - 257 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

We had a wonderful family kayak trip with our two children. The guides, Mackenzie and Jack and McQueen, are super nice guys and took us on a relaxing tour through the Borneo jungle in the kayaks. Lunch was tasty and everything went smoothly and on time, from our hotel pickup in the morning all the way through to the end. Would recommend this tour to anyone looking for a suitable activity with kids in Borneo.

Date of experience: March 2014
1  Thank ourbigtrip2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This is an easy kayaking trip with friendly, professional staff. You kayak about 11km, all downstream with a couple of stops along the way to look at a small waterfall, have lunch (fabulous food, and lots of it) and go for a swim. A dry bag is provided for your stuff and at the end you're given a disc with photos of the day so no need to risk your own camera. The scenery is great and it's a lovely, peaceful (and non-strenuous!) way to see more of the jungle. It's worth carrying a dry change of clothes (you will get wet) as they can stay on the bus and there are change rooms available at the end.

Date of experience: March 2014
1  Thank Judy12343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Had a great day! After after initially being pretty bad at kayaking and going into the bank, we soon got the knack and had a wonderful time going down the river, stopping at a waterfall, at a village for lunch, at a swimming spot and for fish feeding. The scenery is beautiful and the river is clean and gently flowing. It's very quiet and peaceful out there. The whole operation is very well run and the photo CD at the end is a great record of the day. The only disappointing thing for us was the non-appearance of the orang-utans at Semenggoh, our first stop, but that wasn't Semadang Kayak's fault! In fact McQueen tried to get back in time for the afternoon session for us, but we were just a bit too late. We appreciated his effort. Definitely recommend this company!

Date of experience: February 2014
1  Thank newplacesoldcases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Absolutely incredible experience! The scenery is spectacular, the food mid-way through the day was fantastic! The guides, (brothers) that take you down the river made the experience unbeatable! They really are two of the loveliest guys my partner and I have ever had the fortune of meeting, they go out of their way the entire trip to make sure you enjoy yourself. Had us laughing the entire day! There is no need to take a camera as the guides manoeuvre from behind to in front of the group the whole time snappin away with their camera, you don't even realise they're doing it half the time, and then at the end they load the whole lot onto a disk for everyone to take home with you! It means you're able to just soak in the views without worrying about missing a photograph! Absolutely fantastic time! Would do it all over again! Thanks again guys you were awesome!!!

2  Thank Bonzo1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Semadang Kayak also viewed

 

Been to Semadang Kayak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing