We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ronald H
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia

Staffs and service

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 May 2024
The staffs at the resort are very friendly, helpful and caring. To enjoy a good holiday, need to have car as the resort is about 1hr from Kuching town
Date of stay: May 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
RM 390
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 361
  • Trip.com
    RM 329
  • Priceline
    RM 446
21.4 km from Damai Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 340
RM 295
  • Expedia.com
    RM 295
  • Priceline
    RM 295
  • Hotels.com
    RM 295
21.9 km from Damai Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Executive Deluxe
RM 455
  • Expedia.com
    RM 379
  • Agoda.com
    RM 273
  • Priceline
    RM 356
21.6 km from Damai Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Theatre Hotel Kuching is a luxurious hotel located in the heart of Kuching City, Sarawak. Our hotel is a perfect blend of history and modern luxury, providing you with an exceptional experience during your stay with us. Our team is dedicated to making your stay memorable and comfortable. We offer a wide range of services to our guests, including 24-hour front desk, free Wi-Fi, Self Service laundry, and more. Our rooms are spacious, elegantly designed, and equipped with all modern amenities t
RM 189
  • Priceline
    RM 209
  • Agoda.com
    RM 125
  • Expedia.com
    RM 190
22.1 km from Damai Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 312
  • Expedia.com
    RM 341
  • Agoda.com
    RM 254
  • Priceline
    RM 269
21.6 km from Damai Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
RM 152
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    RM 148
  • Hotels.com
    RM 136
  • Expedia.com
    RM 144
21.9 km from Damai Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    RM 411
  • Vio.com
    RM 314
  • Priceline
    RM 335
2.2 km from Damai Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Zimmer No. 1
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    RM 132
  • Agoda.com
    RM 100
  • Priceline
    RM 111
21.6 km from Damai Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    RM 191
  • Agoda.com
    RM 162
  • Priceline
    RM 172
26.8 km from Damai Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    RM 59
  • Agoda.com
    RM 47
  • ZenHotels.com
22.1 km from Damai Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Room service
View more hotels in Kuching
Reviews (922)
Filter reviews
922 results
Traveller rating
154
342
231
114
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
154
342
231
114
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hill top cultural village chalet rooms shuttle bus bako national park suite sarawak borneo orangutans foodcourt pax wing stalls
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 922 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2024

My family members travel in group today and we booked for 4 nights via booking.com, turns out that when we get to the reception, they charged us extra and come up with RM 400+ EXTRA CHARGE ON US BECAUSE OF the children age over 12 to 17.
Their rules don't comply with the booking.com
Why does Damai beach hotel come with new rules upon arrival and charge us again RM 400++
I have spent RM 3000++ already on 3 room, 4 nights for 2 rooms and 2 nights for 1 room.
I ended up had to pay for another room costing me up to RM 400++
Not only that, they made me and my family members to wait at the reception for nearly half and hour and the manager did not even apologize about their own mistake, for putting Damai Beach on booking.com when their rules about children age don't even comply with the system in the booking.com

The manager did not apologize to us for their mistakes, my family and I already spent a fortune on the accommodations , we visited Damai Beach 2 years ago for 3 nights and 3 rooms, costing us RM 2000+
AND THIS IS THE THANKS THAT WE GET FOR SPENDING SO MUCH MONEY BEING LOYAL TO COME HERE FOR OUR SOUGHT AFTER HOLIDAYS WHICH I EXPECTED TO BE TREATED WITH A LITTLE MORE RESPECT, RATHER THAN MAKING US TO STAND AT THE RECEPTION TABLE MAKING US WAIT AND ARGUE OVER THIS .

This is not over yet. My family members and I went out to eat outside so we drove and came back again, then this guard at the main gate LITERALLY HARRASED us by flashing his torchlight at me through the windshield, blinding me and harassed us with questions asking us where were we going!? What rooms do we stay at!? in very rude tone of voice!! We are residents there and he shouldn't be asking us questions like that.And I stopped him by answering him, myself.
He then let us go.They don't make our stay feel decently pleasant at all on the very first day we arrive.

I tell you, avoid this Damai Beach hotel at all cost and find elsewhere to have fun.
They are only looking for money and charge on you for hidden charges by saying that, it is their rule when they don't even comply with the holiday agents website, confusing the visitors and you'd have NO CHOICE then since you have paid for everything...

AVOID AT ALL COST!

Damai Beach tourist.

I had to complain a

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Irene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 April 2024

The best thing about this hotel is that it is in an amazing location with a view of mount Santubong and by the sea. Another plus is that the staff here are very helpful and friendly.

We did enjoy the food, we had both the breakfast and a Buffett. The Sarawak Laksa was the best I’ve ever had in a hotel. It was Hari Raya (Eid) so it was busy, but it was great to experience the festivities.

It is true that renovation does need to take place to the resort. Since we were here 5 years ago, there were some noticeable areas for improvement such as the tiles in the floor around the resort in some spaces are broken and the pool did have some green in the grout between the tiles. There is evidence of renovation however, the steps to the top pool have been upgraded and the restaurant area has been renewed.

One of the activities on offer was quad biking along the beach which is noisy and could spoil the tranquility of the resort. However, not many people were doing this when we were there.

Our Chalet was pleasant, sheets clean etc and the beds were very comfy. We all slept very well!

All in all, it was a good stay for the money we paid. I look forward to coming next time we are in Sarawak.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nelly-matilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 March 2024

The room is very outdated and we got the room up on the hill, however, to walk down to the beach, the stairs were steep and not well maintained. The saving grace was the mini market next to the hotel as the food in the hotel were so-so and expensive.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Saiful A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 March 2024 via mobile

On arrival we were told we had been "upgraded" to a deluxe room nearer the pool because the hotel was quiet and our triple room was further away from the main pool area...the room had two double beds so we had an additional put you up bed brought to the room. The room was large and spacious with very old furniture but very dark not enough ceiling lighting. The bathroom needed a full renovation, the hot water tap was lukewarm at best even when leaving the cold tap fully off. The double beds were very comfortable with soft pillows and mattress toppers, the additional bed was hard and uncomfortable. We could not reach any of the WiFi points from our room (216). There is no safe in the room and you are given a list of rules including not to bring any food or drink from outside in...which is absurd everywhere else encourages you to bring your own food/drink etc. no bottled water just a jug to refill.

The deposit for the room was pretty high 400myr...but no problems getting this back.

The hotel was very quiet right on the beach with quick access to the food centre for local good value food, there is also a convenience store and 7eleven by the centre. The pool area was nice to relax by with plenty of sunbeds and pool towels were provided free of charge.

The sea was very rough and the high tide would come right up to the wall so you can only really use the beach for walking on when low tide.

The hotel breakfast was great with plenty of choices including freshly cooked eggs, cereal, lots of fruit, toast, local cuisine etc.

We only had 2 nights and this was enough.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Ninasunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 March 2024 via mobile

As others have said, this resort is tired in need of updating and new management because it has great potential. Probably about a poor 3 star resort at best. First impressions are good. Big rooms that were once lovely. Good A/C in room. Sea view. Good beach with lovely warm sea. But— pool swim up bar. Closed. Great looking bar looking out to the beach with comfy seating. Closed. Inside bar. Hardly any drinks. Limited menu in restaurant Because it’s Monday!! Pool nice and good size. Dirty green algae on at the bottom. Twigs floating in it. Booked massage for me and wife and when we arrived it’s double booked. List of Rules!! upon checking in and placed on bed.! The management have no idea how to run a resort. Our bathroom at first looked nice but very tired and needed painting, re grouting. Room furniture tired and worn. Toilet by pool had no toilet paper. However staff tried hard and location great and we actually had a good time. Quite large but only 16 people seem at dinner which sadly say it all really. I hope the owners/managers read and act on the reviews before it could be sooo much better.

Room tip: Don’t expect bars to be open or have a good selection.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank R1922JDmattt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews