We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
WongHY17
Subang Jaya, Malaysia

Poor wifi

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Apr 2023
Harbour View has arguably the best location in Kuching. From here I can walk to Waterfront, Carpenter Street, and Padungan. There is a coffeeshop and 7-11 nearby. Price is in the mid-range.

I stayed here for 1 week, had a room with a view of Tua Pek Kong Temple. The lobby is small and doesn't have comfortable chairs. The hotel seems fully booked judging by the huge crowds during breakfast. Cafe Harapan serves a decent buffet and I really enjoyed their hot coffee. But don't expect a large spread compared to the more upscale hotels nearby like Pullman, Astana Wing and Hilton.

The only setback is poor wifi connectivity.
Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
RM 279
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Harbour View Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Zimmer No. 1
RM 200
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Harbour View Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 210
RM 175
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Harbour View Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
RM 345
RM 300
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
21.7 km from Harbour View Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 64
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    RM 64
1.1 km from Harbour View Hotel
Free Wifi
Room service
RM 491
RM 353
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
19.5 km from Harbour View Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Theatre Hotel Kuching is a luxurious hotel located in the heart of Kuching City, Sarawak. Our hotel is a perfect blend of history and modern luxury, providing you with an exceptional experience during your stay with us. Our team is dedicated to making your stay memorable and comfortable. We offer a wide range of services to our guests, including 24-hour front desk, free Wi-Fi, Self Service laundry, and more. Our rooms are spacious, elegantly designed, and equipped with all modern amenities t
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 181
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Harbour View Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive Deluxe
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    RM 317
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Harbour View Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 335
  • Expedia.com
    RM 502
0.5 km from Harbour View Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Kuching
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
26
113
81
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
26
113
81
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews carpenter street walking distance to kuching waterfront family room location cafe hilton pullman
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2022 via mobile

The hotel is strategically located in the Kuching. Walking distance to kuching waterfront and other attractive places. The only problem for this hotel is the limited parking space. The rest is ok and comfortable.
The family room has 2 queen bed which is suitable for a family with 2 young kids.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank akryla
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 December 2020

Christopher was eager to please, accommodating & sympathetic

free Wi-Fi connectivity & speed was terrible - interrupted, quite slow & having errors
few issues during stay but was resolved rapidly - TV connectivity & image quality, hot water supply & blocked drainage in the restroom

magnificent view from room if facing Sarawak River/Jalan Bukit Mata
food was appetizing
bedding was comfortable

around 20 minutes (9.9 Km) from Kuching International Airport

Room tip: higher rooms facing facing Sarawak River/Jalan Bukit Mata
Date of stay: September 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sp3ak_christ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2020

Very satisfied with our choice. Clean rooms, excellent amenities including an iron with ironing board, bedroom slippers, hair dryer, hangers, coffee-making facilities, complimentary drinking water every day, clean towels, full-length mirror, comfortable beds and pillows. Easy access to the riverfront, walking distance to 7 Eleven and other shops. Staff were friendly and polite. We had arrived before check-in time, so the concierge allowed us to store our luggage in a locked cubicle in the lobby. On the last day, we were stranded across the river due to a heavy downpour and arrived back at the hotel half an hour past check-out time to find our access card had been deactivated! The receptionist was very understanding and reactivated our card at no extra charge. True, the wifi wasn't that great but we were out most of the time anyway. The only thing I wasn't so comfortable with was the bathroom door - I'd prefer a solid colour door than frosted glass!

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 January 2020

Harbor View is a good value hotel close to some very good street food places to eat close by.
The only disappointing thing was their attitude to the provision of wifi. Over the course of a 3 day stay, it only worked for the first hour of my stay.
When you check in, along with your key and wifi password, you are given a big disclaimer that says the hotel (in so many words) has the right to have disrupted wifi services whenever it feels like it. Have a nice day!

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kardy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 November 2019 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and got room with an extra bed ( room 1318 ) -- the highest level
- fast check-in
- friendly staffs
- spacious elevator
- there is concierge
- family-friendly
- basic ammenities
- standard size wash room
- city center
- can reach any corner in the city by walk
- there is 7-11 next to the hotel
- nearby coffee shop & food stalls
- free mineral water
- daily house keeping

con :
- WiFi connection was down, mostly

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank bubudibz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews