We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serene surrounding and back to nature”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Permai Rainforest Resort
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Serene surrounding and back to nature”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

My family and I loved the location as its located at the rainforest area. The resort being next to the sea and in forest was amazing. We loved every bit of it. Would definitely go back again. Hospitality was good and the staffs were very helpful. The food served was good too.

Stayed February 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank satvin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    179
    58
    18
    21
See reviews for
156
190
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2017

This. Raintree resort is back to nature concept The treetop rooms was a great change from the usual type .The buggy was always there. The staff was always with a smile ready and always try their best to solve problems The rooms were basic -no Tv no newspaper no internet .Ttoiletries only soap and toilet rolls .A lot of outdoor activities lined up to keep ones thought away from the city life
The rainforest with the morning showers and the night roar of the sea waves will be there in ones memory always
My photos will tell you more. One plant take care gives you itch please keep off

Room Tip: Treetop no 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eliyasingan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2017

We started our 2 weeks holidays in the resort and extended our original 3 days to 6 nights. We were staying in the cottage first and moved to the treehouse next.
We were here in February, which is still rainy, hence it was half empty. It would probably be less fun when crowded with people. We liked the restaurant- buffet style for breakfast and dinner but some people were complaining about limited choice, especially for dinner.
The cottages are fairly basic but can fit more people. It is in the forest hence very moist. The whole resort is very clean but given the humidity there is high level of degradation, especially for the cottages. The advantage is that you are closer to the nature as the animals come to the distant ones. The treehouse was unexpected and unique, there are some 12 of them ligned by the sea, some under reconstruction now. It is for 2 people but with one extra mattress we fit with 2 adults and 2 kids just fine.
Traveling with kids (7 and 10 years), I found this place amazing first hand rain forest experience. You are just in the forest at the same time by the sea, the beach is great.
We cancelled other trips and just stayed in the area, except for the trip to Seremenggoh Nature Reserve with Orangutans. We would have tried Bako Park by boat but that trip was unavailable due to rough sea. There is a nice short 2 km trail just around the resort, that takes about 1.5 hour (2 for us). We also took the evening trip to the mangroves, it was fun.
I read some of other reviews and I guess one should be realistic - you are in the middle of the forest so do not expect any luxury. No tv, wifi only in the restaurant. No alcohol.

Room Tip: cottages are fairly basic, I would go only for the treehouse next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Libuse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2017

They have amazing nature covering around the environment, the beach is awesome, the staff are friendly, but the PROPERTIES MAKE ME CRY.
I feel like i have been stayed in HUNTED HOUSE. The mini bar is disgusting! the bed is disgusting! the toilet is disgusting! the broken window make me feel unsafe.
& I felt I have been cheating. I was booked one room for my family members, which are 10 persons all together, so the receptionist strictly ask us to take another room as the cabin was max. accommodate for 6 person only. so i accept.
When we reach our cabins, i realized that our next cabins was stayed in 9 persons! so i asked them, they said there is no extra charges & THEY REALLY ARE 9 PERSONS STAYED IN ONE CABIN!!
The foods quality & quantity are not good enough! & the worst thing is the safety system is reallyX10 POOR!! this is the first & the last.....TT

Room Tip: Better don't stay in this hotel, i swear....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sie Wei T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

Overall pretty dissapointing stay for a 3 star hotel. We were poorly guided through the reception. Bed sheet and pillows had weird smell and the floor were pretty dusty. The activities is dependant on the waves, and the waves were pretty rough most of the day.

Stayed January 2017, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.8 km away
Damai Beach Resort
Damai Beach Resort
#17 of 54 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
21.9 km away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
22.6 km away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 km away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
22.5 km away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
22.5 km away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Permai Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Permai Rainforest Resort

Property: Permai Rainforest Resort
Address: Teluk Penyu, Kuching 93050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kuching
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kuching
Price range (per night): RM353 - RM479
Hotel Class:3 star — Permai Rainforest Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Permai Rainforest Resort is an eco-resort set in pristine Borneo rainforest located by the beach at the foot of mystical Mount Santubong, Sarawak. Carefully designed to minimize impact on the natural environment, it offers a unique rainforest experience and a variety of activities from dolphin watching to high ropes courses and guided kayaking tours. Just 40 minutes from the Kuching, its an ideal way to experience Borneo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Permai Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Permai Rainforest Hotel Kuching
Permai Rainforest Resort Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing