We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jungle joy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Permai Rainforest Resort
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Jungle joy”
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 days and it is what is says it is!!! Jungle heaven sounds of pure wild life. We stayed in the tree house number 9 and it was brillent loved it nice bed hot water and sounds of nature!! We thought we might of got to see more wildlife but we did see monkeys and flying bats at night. We did do the jungle walk at night which was fun and got to see a few more interesting bugs and frogs and little tip if you do the jungle walk have a torch well needed lol. The people there was loveky very helpful. Breakfast is basic but enough to make you feel ful I say just enjoy the experience and make the most of it. And defo go to kutching awsome place loved it!!!

Stayed March 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    185
    62
    19
    23
See reviews for
167
192
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2017

the room was very good and clean, great view from the balcony, with resident monkeys and squirrels, the staff were friendly and helpful, there are plenty of activities on offer.
we climbed the local mountain which was an amazing experience, also visited the cultural village which was a good experience. The restaurant serves good value meals and has great views. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: for couples choose a tree house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

My family and I loved the location as its located at the rainforest area. The resort being next to the sea and in forest was amazing. We loved every bit of it. Would definitely go back again. Hospitality was good and the staffs were very helpful. The food served was good too.

Stayed February 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank satvin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2017

This. Raintree resort is back to nature concept The treetop rooms was a great change from the usual type .The buggy was always there. The staff was always with a smile ready and always try their best to solve problems The rooms were basic -no Tv no newspaper no internet .Ttoiletries only soap and toilet rolls .A lot of outdoor activities lined up to keep ones thought away from the city life
The rainforest with the morning showers and the night roar of the sea waves will be there in ones memory always
My photos will tell you more. One plant take care gives you itch please keep off

Room Tip: Treetop no 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eliyasingan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2017

We started our 2 weeks holidays in the resort and extended our original 3 days to 6 nights. We were staying in the cottage first and moved to the treehouse next.
We were here in February, which is still rainy, hence it was half empty. It would probably be less fun when crowded with people. We liked the restaurant- buffet style for breakfast and dinner but some people were complaining about limited choice, especially for dinner.
The cottages are fairly basic but can fit more people. It is in the forest hence very moist. The whole resort is very clean but given the humidity there is high level of degradation, especially for the cottages. The advantage is that you are closer to the nature as the animals come to the distant ones. The treehouse was unexpected and unique, there are some 12 of them ligned by the sea, some under reconstruction now. It is for 2 people but with one extra mattress we fit with 2 adults and 2 kids just fine.
Traveling with kids (7 and 10 years), I found this place amazing first hand rain forest experience. You are just in the forest at the same time by the sea, the beach is great.
We cancelled other trips and just stayed in the area, except for the trip to Seremenggoh Nature Reserve with Orangutans. We would have tried Bako Park by boat but that trip was unavailable due to rough sea. There is a nice short 2 km trail just around the resort, that takes about 1.5 hour (2 for us). We also took the evening trip to the mangroves, it was fun.
I read some of other reviews and I guess one should be realistic - you are in the middle of the forest so do not expect any luxury. No tv, wifi only in the restaurant. No alcohol.

Room Tip: cottages are fairly basic, I would go only for the treehouse next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Libuse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.8 km away
Damai Beach Resort
Damai Beach Resort
#17 of 55 in Kuching
708 reviews
22.6 km away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,571 reviews
21.9 km away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 km away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
994 reviews
22.5 km away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
1,994 reviews
22.0 km away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kuching
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Permai Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Permai Rainforest Resort

Property: Permai Rainforest Resort
Address: Teluk Penyu, Kuching 93050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price range (per night): RM352 - RM515
Hotel Class:3 star — Permai Rainforest Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Permai Rainforest Resort is an eco-resort set in pristine Borneo rainforest located by the beach at the foot of mystical Mount Santubong, Sarawak. Carefully designed to minimize impact on the natural environment, it offers a unique rainforest experience and a variety of activities from dolphin watching to high ropes courses and guided kayaking tours. Just 40 minutes from the Kuching, its an ideal way to experience Borneo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Permai Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Permai Rainforest Hotel Kuching
Permai Rainforest Resort Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing