We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Rainforest Experience ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Permai Rainforest Resort
Ranked #11 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Our family (two children ages 8 and 10yrs) stayed here for 4 nights and loved it! We were unable to stay in the trees houses as these are only for two so stayed in a single story cabin. The cabin had two rooms each with 3 single beds, shower, toilet and small lounge with fridge and kettle. Our taxi from central Kuching was only RM 58. The staff were all so lovely and more than happy to help in any way they could. Breakfast and dinner were included in our stay. Due to low on occupancy for the first two days, they did not run the buffet but just allowed us to choose from the menu. The food was basic but nice. The jungle walk was great to explore the bush and each night after dinner we walked along the paths of the resort with our torch to see what we could spot. In our 4 days we were lucky enough to see giant ants, a black scorpion, flying lemur, large owl, macaque and silver leaf monkeys, pit viper snake, chameleon, hermet crabs, horseshoe crabs, massive land crabs and bats. We paid to do the evening mangrove boat trip which was fabulous. We headed out at 5pm with our personal boatman and a guide who was awesome. He gave us a lot of insightful information along the way. We stopped to watch dolphins, looked for crocodiles but didn't see any due to the king tide, saw the proboscus monkeys, fireflies and a 150 year old fishing village. We were back by around 8pm. We would definitely recommend this trip to others. Our girls enjoyed playing at the two private beaches and just exploring. As others have said, if you are looking for luxury accommodation then this is not the place for you. If you want a real rainforest experience and to have wildlife at your back door, you will love it as much as we did. Well worth the visit!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Selina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 37 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 days and it is what is says it is!!! Jungle heaven sounds of pure wild life. We stayed in the tree house number 9 and it was brillent loved it nice bed hot water and sounds of nature!! We thought we might of got to see more wildlife but we did see monkeys and flying bats at night. We did do the jungle walk at night which was fun and got to see a few more interesting bugs and frogs and little tip if you do the jungle walk have a torch well needed lol. The people there was loveky very helpful. Breakfast is basic but enough to make you feel ful I say just enjoy the experience and make the most of it. And defo go to kutching awsome place loved it!!!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017

the room was very good and clean, great view from the balcony, with resident monkeys and squirrels, the staff were friendly and helpful, there are plenty of activities on offer.
we climbed the local mountain which was an amazing experience, also visited the cultural village which was a good experience. The restaurant serves good value meals and has great views. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: for couples choose a tree house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Rene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

My family and I loved the location as its located at the rainforest area. The resort being next to the sea and in forest was amazing. We loved every bit of it. Would definitely go back again. Hospitality was good and the staffs were very helpful. The food served was good too.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank satvin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

This. Raintree resort is back to nature concept The treetop rooms was a great change from the usual type .The buggy was always there. The staff was always with a smile ready and always try their best to solve problems The rooms were basic -no Tv no newspaper no internet .Ttoiletries only soap and toilet rolls .A lot of outdoor activities lined up to keep ones thought away from the city life
The rainforest with the morning showers and the night roar of the sea waves will be there in ones memory always
My photos will tell you more. One plant take care gives you itch please keep off

Room Tip: Treetop no 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Eliyasingan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.8 km away
Damai Beach Resort
Damai Beach Resort
#14 of 55 in Kuching
727 reviews
22.6 km away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,666 reviews
21.9 km away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 km away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#27 of 55 in Kuching
264 reviews
22.5 km away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
2,039 reviews
22.5 km away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Permai Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Permai Rainforest Resort

Address: Teluk Penyu, Kuching 93050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: RM316 - RM479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Permai Rainforest Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Permai Rainforest Resort is an eco-resort set in pristine Borneo rainforest located by the beach at the foot of mystical Mount Santubong, Sarawak. Carefully designed to minimize impact on the natural environment, it offers a unique rainforest experience and a variety of activities from dolphin watching to high ropes courses and guided kayaking tours. Just 40 minutes from the Kuching, its an ideal way to experience Borneo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Permai Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Permai Rainforest Hotel Kuching
Permai Rainforest Resort Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing