We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing for families but no alcohol! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Permai Rainforest Resort
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing for families but no alcohol! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here (2 adults 2 kids aged 6 and 8) for 3 nights in treehouse 3. It was fab. The treehouse is in need of a little TLC (next doors was being renovated) but it was clean, roomy even with 4 of us in there), had great views and air con! You get very tasty breakfast and evening meals with the price of the room but be warned that they don't serve alcohol so if - like us - you enjoy a cheeky beer at the end of an active day - then good to know this in advance. There us however a shop complex (and bar) a 7 minute walk from the resort and a fridge in your room! So there are at least options...!

We did the kayaking, the jungle trek and the boat trip to the mangroves. All recommended. My kids were a bit too small for the high ropes challenges and climbing wall. The jungle pool is cool and very welcoming after a humid trek and both beaches are gorgeous with lovely sand and incredibly warm sea. Lovely staff and a real wilderness treat for the kids. Definitely recommend.

Stayed April 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank LucyHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    179
    58
    18
    21
See reviews for
156
190
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Church Stretton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

These are not luxury cabins - but still you are not paying a luxury price! The tree houses are clean with clean linens and working air conditioning. They give you a unique feeling well above the ground and the nearby shore. When lying down you can feeling a slight motion. Your luggage is delivered and collected from your front door. It must be a problem keeping these wooden houses in good condition withe combined effects of the tropical climate and the proximity of the ocean. Several were under renovation when we were there so clearly managent is trying to keep on top of it. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Wllinglyme organized trips for us to the Semenggoh wildlife reserve to see the orang utans using the resort's bus. Breakfast and dinner in the restaurant were very good and cheap.Would certainly stay there again if the opportunity arose.

Room Tip: We stayed in tree houses 5 and 6 and in cabin 1. All were in good condition. Overall, we preferred t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pethos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our family (two children ages 8 and 10yrs) stayed here for 4 nights and loved it! We were unable to stay in the trees houses as these are only for two so stayed in a single story cabin. The cabin had two rooms each with 3 single beds, shower, toilet and small lounge with fridge and kettle. Our taxi from central Kuching was only RM 58. The staff were all so lovely and more than happy to help in any way they could. Breakfast and dinner were included in our stay. Due to low on occupancy for the first two days, they did not run the buffet but just allowed us to choose from the menu. The food was basic but nice. The jungle walk was great to explore the bush and each night after dinner we walked along the paths of the resort with our torch to see what we could spot. In our 4 days we were lucky enough to see giant ants, a black scorpion, flying lemur, large owl, macaque and silver leaf monkeys, pit viper snake, chameleon, hermet crabs, horseshoe crabs, massive land crabs and bats. We paid to do the evening mangrove boat trip which was fabulous. We headed out at 5pm with our personal boatman and a guide who was awesome. He gave us a lot of insightful information along the way. We stopped to watch dolphins, looked for crocodiles but didn't see any due to the king tide, saw the proboscus monkeys, fireflies and a 150 year old fishing village. We were back by around 8pm. We would definitely recommend this trip to others. Our girls enjoyed playing at the two private beaches and just exploring. As others have said, if you are looking for luxury accommodation then this is not the place for you. If you want a real rainforest experience and to have wildlife at your back door, you will love it as much as we did. Well worth the visit!

Stayed March 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Selina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 5 days and it is what is says it is!!! Jungle heaven sounds of pure wild life. We stayed in the tree house number 9 and it was brillent loved it nice bed hot water and sounds of nature!! We thought we might of got to see more wildlife but we did see monkeys and flying bats at night. We did do the jungle walk at night which was fun and got to see a few more interesting bugs and frogs and little tip if you do the jungle walk have a torch well needed lol. The people there was loveky very helpful. Breakfast is basic but enough to make you feel ful I say just enjoy the experience and make the most of it. And defo go to kutching awsome place loved it!!!

Stayed March 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2017

the room was very good and clean, great view from the balcony, with resident monkeys and squirrels, the staff were friendly and helpful, there are plenty of activities on offer.
we climbed the local mountain which was an amazing experience, also visited the cultural village which was a good experience. The restaurant serves good value meals and has great views. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: for couples choose a tree house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.8 km away
Damai Beach Resort
Damai Beach Resort
#17 of 54 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
21.9 km away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
22.6 km away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 km away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
22.5 km away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
22.5 km away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Permai Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Permai Rainforest Resort

Property: Permai Rainforest Resort
Address: Teluk Penyu, Kuching 93050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kuching
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kuching
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price range (per night): RM352 - RM479
Hotel Class:3 star — Permai Rainforest Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Permai Rainforest Resort is an eco-resort set in pristine Borneo rainforest located by the beach at the foot of mystical Mount Santubong, Sarawak. Carefully designed to minimize impact on the natural environment, it offers a unique rainforest experience and a variety of activities from dolphin watching to high ropes courses and guided kayaking tours. Just 40 minutes from the Kuching, its an ideal way to experience Borneo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Permai Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Permai Rainforest Hotel Kuching
Permai Rainforest Resort Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing