We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Great experience with local people

Abbie organized an incredible tour! The 5km trekking with a local guide till the waterfall and back... read more

Reviewed 28 June 2022
Sabrivig
Brilliant day our Being One with Nature

We recently took part in the Be One With Nature day trip which included a hike through rainforest... read more

Reviewed 5 September 2019
RainbirdM
,
Kent, United Kingdom
Read all 40 reviews
  
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
40
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
40
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews local guide abbie waterfall village trekking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2016

I contacted Backyard Tours 2 days before my trip to Kuching and Dawson was quick to reply to my email. Dawson suggested a day tour to Bau town area, which was about 40 minutes away from Kuching. I had a great time exploring Bau and its surroundings with Dawson and Abbie. Dawson and Abbie were friendly, informative and knowledgeable guides. We went to a local market at Bau to buy food for our lunch. Thereafter, we stopped by Blue Lake before going to Serikin market, which was an interesting weekend market located at the border of Malaysia and Indonesia. For lunch, we had picnic at the waterfall. We ate local snacks, kolo mee and a local fruit (Buah Assam). After lunch, we went to Fairy Cave, which was a beautiful limestone cave. Before the tour ended, Abbie and Dawson took me to a local food stall to try shave ice dessert and local food. It was a fun day and I highly recommend Backyard Tours.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank intermagix
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BackyardTourMalaysia, Owner at Backyard Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2016

Hi,

It was an awesome day spent with you as well! We're glad that you've enjoyed the experience that we offered and we truly are thankful for the positive review you have given us. We will work harder to ensure we provide better experience for future travellers. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely
Dawson Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016

The visit to Bidayuh Annah Rais Longhouses, 100 km south of Kuching at the foot of the
Borneo Highlands was well organised by our capable, cheerful and courteous guide, Ms Abbie Hosanna. Her passion for her Bidayuh(Land Dayaks) heritage and culture, and knowledge of her "backyard " was impressive.
When we arrived we were greeted with small glasses of rice wine, Tuak at the information booth.Abbie led us past the traditional longhouses still home to the community.We viewed the famous Borneo skulls from their 'head hunting' past.
Included in the package was delicious home cooked meal by Ms Karum. We sampled ethnic dishes such as stir fried jungle vegetables, "paku", freshly harvested from her backyard.She also served her specially brewed Tuak . We also drank a traditional tea, Bakah Baras, made from a special tree found there. The final touch to the Bidayuh adventure was putting on Ms Karum's traditional tribal costume for memorable photos.

Good job, Abbie for your quick responses to our emails and patience in tailoring this tour to accommodate our tight schedule.

Date of experience: September 2016
2  Thank ivychongwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BackyardTourMalaysia, Owner at Backyard Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

Thank you Ivy for such a lovely review. We are glad you, Siew and Woon have a good short time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

It was a new experience for my friends and I. Really get what I wished for, an authentic jungle trekking & cooking in the forest! Delicious pansuh, fish & tapioca leaves. Dawson & Abbbie made us feel comfortable throughout the journey. Lawrence & Simon were entertaining & wonderful local guides too! Awesome trip with you guys today ^^. Thank you!
The only worry is that the road to the village is prone to landslides. Would recommend to those who are looking for authentic experience!

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank LydiaW737
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BackyardTourMalaysia, Owner at Backyard Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2016

Hi,

Thank you for such a positive review, it'll no doubt spur us on to work harder to ensure the trip experience is of good quality to future travelers. We have also enjoyed our time with you and your group throughout the trip, and we've had a great meal of local food just like you did. We hope to see you again some day!

Sincerely
Dawson Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

This is a truly special experience that I would recommend to anyone who is interested in sustainable, authentic, and ethical tourism. Visiting Kiding village was a real privilege and only made possible through the incredible teamwork of Abbie and Dawson. The community of Kiding welcomed us and opened their homes. The surrounding countryside is breathtaking, and the hikes to the waterfalls are the stuff great memories are made of.

Date of experience: July 2016
3  Thank Vivelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BackyardTourMalaysia, Owner at Backyard Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Hi,

Thank you for such a positive review which will only motivate us to work even harder to improve the experiences in each of our trip. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed the trip just as much as we did while hosting your group. We hope to be able to host you again should you decide to visit Kuching in the future. Thank you for the wonderful memories.

Sincerely
Dawson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Had an amazing, one of a kind experience in Kiding Village! The whole community was extremely welcoming and hospitable, and Abbie and Dawson were absolutely awesome guides! Would highly recommend staying a couple of days and hiking up to the waterfalls whilst you’re there!

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Cornelia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BackyardTourMalaysia, Owner at Backyard Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Hi,

Thank you for such a positive review and we would like you to know that we have had wonderful time with you and your group all the way up in Kiding village and we're glad that you did as well. We would like to host you again should you decide to visit Kuching again and your review will spur us on to work even harder to provide better experiences for our future trips.

Sincerely
Dawson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews