We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Hiking Jahnam Waterfall

Great Hiking Experience. Flying off around 10.00 am and reach the peak at around 12.00pm. After a... read more

Reviewed 5 July 2019
syamsiahTan
Better than expected last minute booking for WIND CAVE tour.

Our first time in Kuching. Could not decide on which tour operator out of quite many to choose from... read more

Reviewed 17 June 2019
SeowdomSleep
Read all 39 reviews
  
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
39
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
39
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2019

Great Hiking Experience. Flying off around 10.00 am and reach the peak at around 12.00pm. After a short walking from peak, arrive Jhanam waterfall & the view is amazing. Recommended for those whose like the adventure activity and exploring the nature. Ketua Kampung and all Backyard Tour team member is friendly and supportive. Nice accommodation. Please use suitable hiking shoes (don't hesitate to ask Abbie). But don't worry, Backyard Team is creative.Definitely will repeat again!!
#LeaveNo1Behind #Backyard

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank syamsiahTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2019

Our first time in Kuching. Could not decide on which tour operator out of quite many to choose from or self drive. Decided quite instantly on BACKYARD as the website write up sounds different. It was the social 'back to the local community' concept that caught my attention.

Cause was our first time and we had only two full days, we wanted to something with the popular must-go and yet able to catch a glimpse of the natural local heritage or cultural. So so glad we engaged Backyard.

Abbie was our guide who first and foremost communicated very promptly and carefully pre-trip. Right at the onset, I had the most positive impression. Really helpful pre-trip service.

We also had a good 'buy' of both professional tour guide knowledge and services plus personal insights into the places we went. What was valuable was info about places in-between destinations. Abbie was also rather candid to provide views about what spots in town we could give it a miss so she helped not waste our time when we left her to do some more 'tour walk' on our own.

The service and guiding by Abbie was of the good standard despite the not so high pricing, and throughout our needs were taken care of. We could sense she was not just after some commercial benefit. Example, provided head torch for us and chilled drinks when the weather got very hot. It's the small details that made us feel like we were with an old friend not a paid guide. She was also quite flexible to detour for a meal in the local town centre and took a different route for us to catch a local river side village.

I think our first trip Kuching would have a just better than so-so if not for this wonderful one day simple tour with Backyard. This is super nice trip!! I will surely ask my friends and family to engage them for a value for money yet no quality compromised, very personalised service!!

May I wish Abbie and hubby great success in bringing sustainable livelihood back to the local villages yet keeping the authenticity of their tribes!! Thank you so much Abbie!! We will be back with our 'tribes' :)

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank SeowdomSleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackyardTourMalaysia, Manager at Backyard Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2019

Thank you Seow Chin for such a detailed review.

Glad to hear you enjoyed the trip to our backyard. Hope to see you, and your friend and family members next time.

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2019

Amazing Experience, very local and authentic! would love to come again. Great for anyone who would like a local villagers experience

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank piumsuratin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2019 via mobile

Our trip for 2 weeks program was really dope. Its priceless tour which I visited Begu and Kidding village for empowerment purpose. Recommended for those who are passionate on exploring nature

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank irvandiassanjaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018

It is such a good experience with Backyard. Our group is with small kids and old folks, and all of the family members enjoyed the experience! I love the food that cooked by local and we had them in the small cottage in the juggle, so much fun!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank JieY0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackyardTourMalaysia, Manager at Backyard Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Thank you for your review, Pearl! Glad to know that you had a good time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews