We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food”

Uroko Japanese Cuisine
Ranked #225 of 1,840 Restaurants in Petaling Jaya
Restaurant details
Reviewed 14 July 2016

The food here is good and the dishes are creatively presented. It has an inviting atmosphere and the staff make an effort at being welcoming. Slightly pricey for its location but all in it's worth a visit.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Legal_itinerant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2016

We were at Uroko for a birthday celebration and it was disappointing. The food came out at vastly different times for each diner. The sushi/sashimi came out 45 minutes after some of our party had already finished their meal. Reason given: the sushi bar could not cope. There was a misdescription in the menu of one of the dishes which said the dish featured sweet prawns but when the dish came, the sweet prawns were missing. Reason given: none except that the value of the dish is the same. Portions were small and ought to be adjusted even if it means the pricing has to be similarly adjusted. Manageress was good and tried to address our complaints as well as she could. They obviously couldn't cope on a Saturday night. Would not consider dining here with a large party on a weekend.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Smyoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Everything to be expected from a mid-range, mid-priced Japanese restaurant. Have been going to this restaurant since they opened and the quality is there to be tasted. Menu a bit limited but what is available is worth ordering. They also have a nice yakitori section with the chicken wings being the best of the menu.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kamal_Hez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

Uroko is a good place for some reasonable Japanese food, especially on weekdays as this place tends to get crowded on Fridays & weekends.

Standard Japanese fare, and usual menu selections. Their sushi moriwase is good portioned and fresh.

They have a long table for family & larger groups, but make reservations if you need that. Nice ambience, although place could do with some Japanese music.

Good street parking available, since this cluster of shoplots are not many.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank schia48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2016

I always like how the authentic Japanese chefs serve their dishes depending on what they have and what they feel would appeal to a certain guest.

This is my second time ordering the Omakase course, which are priced at RM150, RM250 and RM350 per pax. Every dish that comes would be a total surprise!

At RM150 first I was served with a soft shell crab salad. The salad dressing was really good. Next was the edamame with fish strips and mayonnaise. Then comes sashimi ( 2 pcs each of salmon, tuna and yellowtail) which was very fresh. Foie gras (duck liver instead of goose) with special sauce which was tasty, soft cawanmushi, scallops soup on a shell over fire , prawn skewers with garlic sauce and ebiko. When they served some mini noodles in soup I was already too full to tuck in. The course was ended with a lemon sorbet. The next round I come over it would still be Omakase set for me..

Service and the ambience of the restaurant are good. Tables are placed too close to each other and it's just too easy to hear other people's conversations which you would prefer not to hear..

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Abbylim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Uroko Japanese Cuisine also viewed

Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
 
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
 

Been to Uroko Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.