We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food.”
Review of Oriental Pavilion

Oriental Pavilion
Ranked #17 of 1,376 Restaurants in Petaling Jaya
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic food.”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Had my wedding dinner there – food was absolutely delicious, staff were accommodating. I go occasionally and every time, the food has always been great.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SanshineC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    57
    18
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
298 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Good Dim Sum”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This restaurant serves good and fresh dim sum. We were there for lunch and have ordered some dim sum plus fried rice, half a duck, etc. The food quality and service was good. The downside of this restaurant is the food is a bit pricey

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GuteReise88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great food but a bit pricy”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Oriental Pavillion is my favorite Chinese restaurant in Petaling Jaya, when I am prepared to spend a bit more. This is one of the best Chinese restaurants in PJ, offering many creative and delicious dishes, particularly seafood, soup and (lunch time), dim sum. Definitely value for money. But if you want an economic meal, don't come here!
Also, if you want to come on weekend, reservation is a must. This is a popular restaurant for wedding dinner

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tanmalaysia_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“No compromise on taste”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Selected the least expensive option from set menu 1. We had a private room set with 2 tables, 1 waitress and 1 captain throughout dinner. 2 Peking ducks arrived in pomp and after the oohs and aahs, the captain proceeded to slice up the birds. Crispy skin with mandarin pancakes, sweet sauce, cucumber sticks and spring onion with frilly ends, we promptly gobbled down the 1st course. Skinless birds were returned to the kitchen for a later re-apperance. Drumsticks were chopped and served up - juicy and ducky-licious. Next were individual bowls of soups - yummy to the last drop. Don't recall seeing any sharks fin as stated on the menu... The fish course was a deboned pomfret, its flesh cut into bite-size pieces and stir-fried with snow peas and chilli. Not too hot to bring out freshness of fish. The fish's skeleton was then deepfried, held up by a wooden skewer and stuck onto a radish base like the sail of a boat. Being chinese, everyone enjoyed the crunchy goodness of deepfried fish bones. Waste not, want not. Roasted crispy shatin chicken was next, looking like giant boxing chicken (chicken wing drummets coated in flour and deepfried). After biting in, we discovered each portion was actually half a mini bird. Tasty and meaty like a quail, unlike boney pigeons or sparrows on famine strikes. Even the youngest diner (5 yr old) had no complaints about eating a mini bird. In the dish's centre was steamed chicken meat rolled up like a sausage and sliced into coins - ok but not as impressive as its deepfried version.

Veggie dish was young spinach braised with salted egg yolk & century egg. Unlike the usual method, it was more thick gravy than superior stock. Thumbs up. The duck reappeared as sliced duck meat & bean sprouts tossed with fresh egg noodles. Somehow the earlier duck was tastier, perhaps cos' it was plain roast duck. Served with noodles, the meat had additional seasonings and kinda lost its ducky-ness. Dessert was a refreshing bowl of chilled longan and aloe vera pieces, and steamed cake (malai-koh).

20 of us, great food and camraderie plus 3 assortment of birthday cakes, all went home happy albeit a significant dent on the wallet. Apparently this place is known for good dim-sum - any excuse for a return visit.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gr00vyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Stellar quality”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I've visited this restaurant on and off for many, many years. Simply loved how authentic and simplified they've made the Chinese cuisine to be. Service isn't impeccable but I'd say it's above average and the ambience is cosy. A perfect spot for a typical family gathering. They have private rooms available too for more privacy especially for patrons celebrating special occassions. I've tried their packages, dimsum and ala carte and I love them all. Price isn't really on the low side but I am more than willing to part my hard earned money for quality. It isn't insanely expensive however; slightly above average comparing to other similar Chinese restaurants in town. The place is always packed for lunch and dinners, so call up to make reservations if it's an important occassion to avoid disappointment; more so during festive seasons.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MitchKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oriental Pavilion also viewed

Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
 
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
 
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
 

Been to Oriental Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing