We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good standard & quality”
Review of Oriental Pavilion

Oriental Pavilion
Ranked #17 of 1,376 Restaurants in Petaling Jaya
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good standard & quality”
Reviewed 4 September 2014

Always maintains a very good standard & high quality of Cantonese food with a Malaysian touch. Excellent dim sum as well as traditional Chinese dishes on a normal fare. And also superb high end cooking of special dishes like suckling pig, braised shark fins, abalone, KL hokkien mee, braised lamb & beef, yam basket, fresh water prawn noddles, etc. Reasonably priced on the higher end but good quality for the money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 8asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    57
    18
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“One of the best places in town for Chinese food”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have always loved this place. Many friends have had their wedding dinners here and the food has always been very good. We ended up having our wedding lunch here too - and till today, friends still talk about how good the food was (and about our friend who did the toast - but that is another story).

We went back there again earlier this year for a reunion dinner with my Uni mates. Again, the food did not disappoint. It may be a bit pricey but it is not too expensive and it is expected for a place like this and for food this good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MunOnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Good food and good environment. Waitress service is excellent. I like the braised whole abalone with japanese mushroom & chicken wing stuffed with shark's fin is my best dish. The wing is really stuffed with the shark fins. Must try.

Helpful?
Thank GlancyLai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
601 reviews
394 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“When the place gets busy...”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Food is very good for a Chinese restaurant like this one.

However, when the place gets busy, the service goes haywire. Maybe this a typical situation in a chinese restaurant

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Long M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
526 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Good Chinese restaurant, patchy service”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Have been to this restaurant numerous times, all for dinner. The food is generally good and delicious. The char siew, siew yoke & duck is recommended. Service can be slow, but sometimes ok. There are often wedding dinners being held at the restaurant, which then makes the atmosphere very noisy. But the service can be slow even without a wedding. Overall, worth going there for a meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yss97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oriental Pavilion also viewed

Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
 
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
Petaling Jaya, Petaling District
 

Been to Oriental Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing