We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't' Even Bother”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Sepang
Reviewed 5 September 2017

The photos look great, the reality is totally different. The buildings are past their best, it is set on mud flats, not blue water. Some reviews say you can go to the beach - yuk, shallow mud flats again with plenty of rubbish around and a view of the port. There is nothing to do and the brief encounter we had with the food and drinks was horribly underwhelming. We were meant to stay four nights, we lasted less than 24 Hours.

Room Tip: Don't waste your time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KarenandNigel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErwinV, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear KarenandNigel1.

Thank you very much for your review, though as per your rating we certainly have not been able to meet your expectations during your stay, on behalf of the Management and Team of the Resort I would like to apologize for any mentioned lapses of service / product during your visit.

Rest assured that our focus will be to review and amend any areas of concern, in an effort to improve, hoping through this to receive better ratings going forward for any visit from yourself or any other guest.

I warmly welcome you to contact me should your travels bring you back close to our hotel, so we can see if through personalized attention to that stay, you will get a new and better impression of our resort.

Yours sincerely,

Erwin van der Veen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,778)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 108 of 2,779 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2017

They had beautiful rooms, with wind blowing through the balcony 24/7. I really enjoyed that. The entire property is very impressive and relaxing. I appreciate that they organise a lot of activities for their guests. I also liked how they had free bicycles everywhere to use through their properties and buggy service was very frequent.

Things I didn't like:
1) The staff were definitely not courteous enough. This is a beach resort, courteous and smiling staff are mandatory. No one smiles, no one is ready to help. And half their own staff isn't even aware of where hotel activities are happening. I even asked one staff to show me their banquets because my family is planning for a beach wedding next year & he said he's busy arranging buggies, but he couldn't even find someone else to show me around, he asked me to just go & see on my own. I come back & ask the receptionist about the hall capacity & he doesn't know! Not my loss. In every buggy, the driver will have another staff next to him and they'll be chatting away loudly, how can they not know it is rude. Even the guests keep quiet while riding the buggy in order to be polite to fellow guest.
2) There's a huge spread for breakfast. They say it's till 10:30 am. But half the trays are empty after 9:15. And nobody cares to refill them. When I told one of their waiters, he listened, just smiled & went abt his work! For a resort charging rm850 per night they definitely ARE NOT upto that standard. If you want to charge that much, the service has to be upto that level. I had complained as politely as I could to the restaurant manager & he assured me it won't happen again, next day morning was the same story!
3) The swimming pool is too small for such a large property. It's completely crowded throughout the day. You can't even complete one lap.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
1  Thank Aslina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErwinV, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Aslina A,

Thank you very much for your review, though as per your rating we certainly have not been able to meet your expectations during your stay, on behalf of the Management and Team of the Resort I would like to apologize for any mentioned lapses of service / product during your visit and in particular we will address the knowledge and service orientation of some of the team.

Rest assured that our focus will be to review and amend any areas of concern, in an effort to improve, hoping through this to receive better ratings going forward for any visit from yourself or any other guest.

I warmly welcome you to contact me should your travels bring you back close to our hotel, so we can see if through personalized attention to that stay, you will get a new and better impression of our resort.

Yours sincerely,

Erwin van der Veen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

** 50-min check in **
We came here during the long Merdeka holidays. We knew there will be lots of people considering the long weekend but was surprised there was only 3 people manning the check-in.
Isn't this a 5-star resort and guests paid extra for peak period? Management should have known this upfront and allocated more staff.

One suggestion is to have a couple of servers providing drinks to those waiting in the long snaking line.

** Breakfast **
Decent spread of Asian and Western but the table we were allocated were full of ants and flies hovering around. Not such a good start to the day for the guests.

** Room **
Pretty good and comfortable. Not much lighting but I guess that's the ambience the resort have in mind. Only beef here was we were provided shampoo and body lotion but no body shower gel - not sure if we were meant to use the bar soap instead...

** Amenities **
Big no-no was the parking space. Limited parking within the compound and guests had to park outside (beyond the guardhouse and at the public beach area).

Plus point was the available free bicycles for guests to move around - great idea and a fun way to move around.

Pool and fitness centre kinda small to fit the entire resort, probably not the main focus here since it's a beach resort with the available water activities.

** Service **
Despite the chaotic scene and apparent lack of staff, they were courteous - kudos to them. If it weren't of them, rating will be lower.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rui Jian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErwinV, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear Rui Jian N,

Thank you very much for your review following your stay, though your rating is below our desires, rest assured we will address issues that are within our control for improvement. Due to the over-water character of the resort parking is limited available on-site, yet the resort has a large overflow carpark with more than sufficient spaces available, and a shuttle van to pick and drop guests utilizing this facility which is located roughly 400 meters from the hotel entrance.

I will certainly share your kind feedback towards the team to them as positive encouragement for their efforts made.

Receiving constructive feedback helps us a lot, and as such, aside from forwarding any positive comments to the team for encouragement, we will certainly have a look at areas of concern in a positive manner.

We do hope you will visit us again to witness some of these improvements, hopefully leading to a 4 or even 5 star review upon such time.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for personalized assistance to make this happen.

Kind regards,

Erwin van der Veen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

From the hotel room to the breakfast area... It's houseflies, houseflies and more houseflies!~~~~ Be prepared when you go.

AvaniSpa, however, is excellent. The masseurs offer very good massage. I would like to thank Dee for the very good massage experience.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank TravelMadder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErwinV, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear TravelMadder,

Thank you very much for your review following your stay, though your rating is below our desires, rest assured we will address issues that are within our control for improvement. We will continue to work with our pest management contractor to discover and implement new and additional ways to address the (ad hoc and temporary) inconvenience of flies in this rural area..

Receiving constructive feedback helps us a lot, and as such, aside from forwarding any positive comments to the team for encouragement, we will certainly have a look at areas of concern in a positive manner.

We do hope you will visit us again to witness some of these improvements, hopefully leading to a 4 or even 5 star review upon such time.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for personalized assistance to make this happen.

Kind regards,

Erwin van der Veen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

We booked 3 villas. Spent 4 days of the worst 5star resort we ever had. I am platinum GHA member.

Front desk refused my staffs to check in even with authorisation letter received by the resort and acknowledged weeks ago. I need to make several calls to resolved it.


Check in 30th Aug , 2 room villa was dirty and old and Aircond is not working. At 2am , room having funny electrical sound , checked for 1 hour , even technician couldn't find the source and happened before. The technician requested us to change the room at 3:30am.

During check out , waited approximately 35minutes for my turn . When it reaches me Ranga took along time to calculate my bill, but she was the one calculated it during my check in. She were very impatient and no smile at all and keep saying problem with my bill. She charged my card without showing me the final bill. Obviously I need to check for what I paid , she went to the room behind the counter and disappeared for another at least 36 minutes , I was still waiting . Suddenly she appeared very rudely showing face as if I caused her to do extra work. Never apologise even we all waited for such a long time, fold the receipt very rudely.

Then I request to seek clarification from duty manager mr sizurin. When he appeared he does not care to hear my concern but start to give his reasonsss about billing problems and IT problem. I have explained to him if you need to take a long time 35 minutes to print a receipt why don't your staff just explain this and send to me later , why need to make us wait for more than 35 minutes. He still repeating himself like a tape recorder and saying that I am giving him problems. He challenged me to report this to higher authorities and complaints this in other channels. Since he is suggesting this to me so I am writing this here now. When I asked sizurin to put me in touch with the the general manager Mr Erwin, he told me to use my own phone or from the call canter to call him he will not call Erwin. But can a duty manager behave like this? Asking client to make our own call yet he knows Erwin is around. Later on he asked his colleagues front office manager to discuss with me still the same he repeatedly saying the same thing as sizurin without wanting to understand is not about the billing that i was upset. And the funny part is the front office manager said to me that avani will offer me a drink as compensation!!! Thanks !!! I am not after a drink. I still insist that I need to speak to Erwin.

So Erwin came ,he was a lot different from the rest , he try to hear me out and understand the situation. He promised to revert to me in the next 2days. I will update the outcome of investigation here.

P/s: I am recording my experience here as suggested by Sizurin. All in all the matter could have resolved in 10minutes if front liner humble themselves to hear customer feedback.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
4  Thank AndrewChong381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErwinV, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear Monkey381,

Though obviously I would have wished to meet under different circumstances, I was happy to have had the opportunity to meet with you, hear you out in person, and ensure your feedbacks were well noted, and will be reviewed within the management team for improvement.

As discussed, recent changes in taxes have caused some hickups in our systems, but as equally discussed with your good self I believe more clear communication and attentiveness could have made the experience much better.

I apologize once again and will revert back further off-line.

Kind regards,

Erwin van der Veen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sepang
13.3 km away
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
#1 of 38 in Port Dickson
1,217 reviews
19.2 km away
Avillion Port Dickson
Avillion Port Dickson
#2 of 38 in Port Dickson
1,471 reviews
17.6 km away
Sama-Sama Hotel KL International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Seri Malaysia Bagan Lalang Sepang
13.3 km away
Lexis Port Dickson
Lexis Port Dickson
#4 of 38 in Port Dickson
527 reviews
16.1 km away
Tune Hotel KLIA 2
Tune Hotel KLIA 2
#4 of 14 in Sepang
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort

Address: Sepang Goldcoast, No. 67 | Jalan Pantai Bagan Lalang, Sepang 43950, Malaysia (Formerly Golden Palm Tree Iconic Resort & Spa )
Region: Malaysia > Selangor > Sepang District > Sepang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Sepang
Price Range: RM372 - RM697 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort stretches out from the Sepang coastline, almost a kilometer into the sheltered waters of the Straits of Malacca with 392 luxuriously appointed over water villas that shape a palm tree. This new upscale resort offers guests a wide range of sports and entertainment activities as well as great food & beverage outlet selection. Located in the district of Sepang, in the southern part of the state of Selangor, AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort is a short 35 minute drive from Kuala Lumpur International Airport. The resort is also conveniently located close to the Sepang International Circuit - home to the Malaysian leg of the F1 race. Inspired by Polynesian and Maldivian architecture, blended with contemporary Malaysian interior design, each over water villa showcases a range of features that will ensure you take full advantage of the relaxed comfort, knowing we have the details covered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotelopia, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Palm Tree Iconic Hotel Sepang
Golden Palm Tree Iconic Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing