We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but tired resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Sepang
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Had a team building in this resort. Chalet was nice with 2 separate bedrooms with sea view. However the chalet itself was dilapidated with peeling paints and air-conditioning was terrible. Set the air-conditioning to the lowest temperature but it didn't work. Imagined that I sweated inside the bathroom which felt like a sauna instead. Not much choice for the lunch buffet. Furthermore the restaurant only served plain water as its beverage for lunch? To ensure that we got it right, we even checked with the waitress & she confirmed it. Breakfast was better with more choices and this time they served coffee and tea. However, The next morning around 7 am, we needed to go to the ballroom for activity. We waited about 10 - 15 minutes for the buggy to come - perhaps it was due to rainy day that hardly any buggy was in sight? However, most of the buggy drivers in the resort were pleasant & friendly. Nevertheless, the management were thoughtful by placing an umbrella in each room & it was definitely useful for it was very hot one day and raining the next. Overall, this resort would be suitable if you just wanted a simple, relaxing day. You may consider to try out some of the activities offered but most of it were payable.

Room Tip: If you have elderly people, do request for rooms nearer to the hotel lobby or restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank novgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvanS499, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear novgal

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your opinion after your visit to AVANI Sepang Gold Coast Resort

Please accept my sincerest apologies regarding the minor issues you encountered. Chef will be thrilled to learn that you enjoyed the Breakfast Buffet arrangement , and thank you for the points on the lunch arrangements !

Rest assured that I will follow up your comments. Your feedback is very valuable for us and will allow us to continuously strive to provide excellent service for all our guests,

We look forward to having another opportunity to provide you better experience in the future.

Best Regards,

Ivan Susanj
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,845)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 134 of 2,845 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2017

A nice place to stay if you don't eat or drink here, and the prices border on criminal. The drinks in the bar are beyond belief, 13$ for a small bottle of Sprite, and 24.50$ for a small draught beer is beyond a joke, and the restaurant is even worse .

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
1  Thank gordonr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

It has a great location to capture great sunset pictures. During lowtides, the sea recedes way past the chalets, leaving them standing on muddy flats which are not scenic at all. On the plus side, it offers good opportunities to walk way out to 'sea'. I'd say it's good for corporate events with scenic conference facilities, a big open deck adjacent to the ballroom for outdoor evening activities. If hotel food is not what you want, Sungei Pelek town is just 10km away, a short 15-minute drive.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ric_L123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvanS499, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear Ric_L123

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your opinion after your visit to AVANI Sepang Gold Coast Resort

We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your time with us and found our resort very picturesque and you managed to do lots of walking !

We look forward to having an opportunity to serve you once again and entice you into our F&B offering once again ! We look forward to having another opportunity to provide you the BEST of Bagan Lallang experience in the future.

Best Regards,

Ivan Susanj
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Went to AVANI for mom's Birthday celebration last August. Had a wonderful time with family and kids.
Special thanks goes to Ms Sarala who was kind enough to accommodate our special request for family sitting at the Bila-Bila Restaurant, handling 20 pax with a lot of hyperactive children somehow become easier with her much appreciated help.

Room was a bit warm though. During daytime it get stuffy, I suggest to have ceiling Fan for better air circulation/ventilation.

Will definitely return again soon!

Room Tip: Kid's pool are really small, get there early during breakfast at 8am and plenty of gazebo for yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rabiatul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvanS499, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear Rabiatul H

Thank you very much for your review following your stay, and the great rating which is really appreciated !

Your feedback will be shared with the team and they will be thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your time with us ! We look forward to welcoming you to our " tranquil place " in the very near future

Please do not hesitate to contact us for personalized assistance to make this happen.

Kind regards,

Ivan Susanj
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

Location, design and idea to compete with truly beat in class resorts but after only 11 years in operation, this place needs more attention to detail and real maintenance to fight off the challenges of their environment.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvanS499, General Manager at AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear Julie H

Thank you very much for your review, though as per your rating we certainly have not been able to meet your expectations during your stay, on behalf of the Management and Team of the Resort I would like to apologize for any mentioned lapses of product during your visit.

Rest assured that our focus will be to review and amend any areas of concern, in an effort to improve, hoping through this to receive better ratings going forward for any visit from yourself or any other guest.

I warmly welcome you to contact me should your travels bring you back close to our hotel, so we can see if through personalized attention to that stay, you will get a new and better impression of our resort.

Yours sincerely,

Ivan Susanj
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sepang
13.3 km away
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
#1 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,240 reviews
19.2 km away
Avillion Port Dickson
Avillion Port Dickson
#2 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,484 reviews
17.6 km away
Sama-Sama Hotel KL International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Seri Malaysia Bagan Lalang Sepang
13.3 km away
Lexis Port Dickson
Lexis Port Dickson
#4 of 37 in Port Dickson
532 reviews
0.0 km away
Seri Bayu Resort
Seri Bayu Resort
#11 of 14 in Sepang
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort

Address: Sepang Goldcoast, No. 67 | Jalan Pantai Bagan Lalang, Sepang 43950, Malaysia (Formerly Golden Palm Tree Iconic Resort & Spa )
Region: Malaysia > Selangor > Sepang District > Sepang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Sepang
Price Range: RM381 - RM766 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort stretches out from the Sepang coastline, almost a kilometer into the sheltered waters of the Straits of Malacca with 392 luxuriously appointed over water villas that shape a palm tree. This new upscale resort offers guests a wide range of sports and entertainment activities as well as great food & beverage outlet selection. Located in the district of Sepang, in the southern part of the state of Selangor, AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort is a short 35 minute drive from Kuala Lumpur International Airport. The resort is also conveniently located close to the Sepang International Circuit - home to the Malaysian leg of the F1 race. Inspired by Polynesian and Maldivian architecture, blended with contemporary Malaysian interior design, each over water villa showcases a range of features that will ensure you take full advantage of the relaxed comfort, knowing we have the details covered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your AVANI Sepang Goldcoast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Palm Tree Iconic Hotel Sepang
Golden Palm Tree Iconic Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing