We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a fun concept!”
Review of Meeples Cafe

Meeples Cafe
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Such a fun concept!”
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Full disclosure: I have never been to a board game cafe before. I’ve never even heard of the concept; and I was ridiculously excited! Literally hundreds of board games lined the walls. You could either buy brand new games to take home with you, or to play there if you’d like, or you could simply rent them and play there!

I don’t exactly remember the different rates and packages they had, but I do remember it being reasonable, and the place was packed with students even on a weeknight. Students have tight budgets, so a full house says something.

Additionally they have a “Game of The Week”. You can come in as many times as you like, and play this game of the week for as long as you like…..for….free. Guess which game us cheapskates chose to play?

Here’s the best part though, I thought that the game of the week would be a really lame game, especially since it was called Patchwork and I had never heard or it before, but it was absolutely riveting!

We really need a Meeples board game cafe of something of the sort in Dubai! Who’s with me?

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Passmethedimsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LogCheng, Owner at Meeples Cafe, responded to this review, 29 October 2016
Dear Passmethedimsum,

Thank you for the inspiring review! Hope to see you again here the next time you visit Malaysia!

Cheers,
LogCheng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun but rather expensive”
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Definitely a place that is one of its kind to spend time with friends or family. Staff are patient and nice when explaining the rules of the boardgames.

One thing though, the hourly rate have recently been revised to lowest RM14 (for non-member) which used to be just RM6, it's rather expensive especially on Public Holiday EVE which non-member will be charged RM22 for an hour.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Tumty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LogCheng, Owner at Meeples Cafe, responded to this review, 7 September 2016
Dear Tumty,

Thank you so much for your supportive feedback!

Yes, we revamped our gaming rates recently to provide greater experience & cater for different needs/expectations of diverse gamer groups too.

eg. we’ve adjusted the rates upwards on the weekends & holidays to reduce the long wait times/queue lines, to keep more gamers happy.

We also substantially reduced the rates on the specific groups by introducing different promotions too! For instance,
- LADIES NIGHT! (Thursday; 6pm onwards) – where our female gamers can enjoy full-night unlimited gaming at only RM12,
- UNLIMITED GAMING! (Daily; Full-Day) – where you only need to top-up RM6 after the first 2 hours to extend to full-day, unlimited gaming,
- STUDENT DAY! (Wednesday; Full-Day) – only RM7 for each student on the first 2-hours & they can top-up RM6 (total only RM13) to enjoy full-day gaming too!

Thank you again for your review, hope you will visit us again soon & benefit from our various promotions!

Cheers,
LogCheng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Good for bonding time!”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend visited this place and I fall in love with those board game.
All staff are patience to teach the rules of the board game we wnt to play.
We had alot of fun eventhough I lose alot haha.
Highly recommended to a group of friend or family time.
But the menu got limited choices,if wnt to have a happy stomach,mayb need to feed ur stomach first before enter.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank Bee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LogCheng, Owner at Meeples Cafe, responded to this review, 4 August 2016
Dear Bee K,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us here! We're glad to know you & your boyfriend enjoyed the time here! :)

Cheers,
LogCheng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Fabulous Board Game Place ”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

We had a perfect time celebrating my best friend's birthday a few months ago and all of us throughly enjoyed the experience of playing board games at this venue.

We were spoiled for choices and the staff were very good in recommending as well as rescuing us how to play the games we have selected.

They serve beverage and light food here. Parking is a pain so it took us a while to find a carpark spot.

Best to book in advance for parties or get a table especially on weekends as they get very busy.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaycee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LogCheng, Owner at Meeples Cafe, responded to this review, 4 August 2016
Dear Jaycee,

Thanks for your kinds words and the time you took to share them with us!

Here's a good news to share with you: The local town council (MPSJ) have decided to build a new 700-spaces parking building within walking distance from Meeples & it is scheduled to be completed in May-2017. Hopefully that will ease the parking pressure a little. :)

Cheers,
LogCheng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“For the boardgames addicts”
Reviewed 29 May 2016

For those who are into boardgames esp. those which won the coverted the German's Speil of de Jahres, then they should head to this place. It can be a bit tricky to find the place and it is located in the first floor. Gamers can spend time playing and trying boardgames for a fee charged on an hourly rate. The place also stocks and sells boardgames. You can get about 10%-20% discount on the boardgames if you became a member of the Maples club.

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank Naiza A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LogCheng, Owner at Meeples Cafe, responded to this review, 8 August 2016
Dear Naiza,

Thank you for your kind words. We are very happy to hear that you're recommending us, and would be happy to welcome you soon again!

Best Wishes,
LogCheng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Meeples Cafe also viewed

Subang Jaya, Petaling District
Subang Jaya, Petaling District
 
Subang Jaya, Petaling District
Subang Jaya, Petaling District
 

Been to Meeples Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing