We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent crew that made a world of difference to this gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dungun
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tenggol Coral Beach Resort
Reviewed 29 March 2016

One resort by the beach is pretty much like the next. But what made TCBR stood apart from the rest was not the dive sites nor the rooms, it was the crew. With the resort being tucked on Tenggol island 45mins from Dungun, the crew kept with them a honest good natured sense of 'kampung spirit'. They truly enjoyed their interaction with their guests, and it is a palpable sense of friendliness & openness that is not only motivated by PR or profit.

Due to bus schedule conflicts, we had to leave one night earlier than plan and the crew gladly arranged our lodging on the main island of Dungun at no extra charges. They even brought us about the small central area of the main island when we needed to get some stuff and took care of our dinner.

TCBR offers full board service and the food quality was fantastic. There is free flow of beverages and sliced bread for when you get hungry in between meal services and dive times.

We were in the standard rooms located at Block D and it is recommended if you are not concern about standard of rooms. Having said that, the standard rooms are neat and fairly well maintained, but it is very basic. There is hot water and AC. Try to get the deluxe bungalows with a seaview if you have slightly more budget and would like to have a nicer space to unwind after your diving activities.

Dive equipment were well taken care of. Most are still pretty new. All their dives are boat dives instead of shore dives and there are enough dive sites that you shouldn't need to re-visit the same location twice within your stay.

All in all, a hidden gem for those looking for an experience & interaction with the local crew beyond just the diving.

Room Tip: get the deluxe bungalows, the standard rooms were pretty dingy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LynFongSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2016

Love this place. Food, accommodation, people, staff, view, facilities are nice. Went there for a holiday and for sure, will be visiting the same place to get my diving license. Experienced a discover scuba diving, and i was so lucky to get a very nice instructor, Michael. There are few more instructors, who are as nice as our families as all of them take care us very well during our first time diving and showed us the creatures in the sea.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Summerday16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siewkhoong, Director of Sales at Tenggol Coral Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2016

Hi There,
Warm greeting from Tenggol Coral,
Thank you for your support and your comment.
We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stays with us.
Whatever, you and your family experience, we would not stop from there
You can rest assure that we will make your stay more memorable on your next visit.
Our motto is always "make our resort as your second home"
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 12 January 2016 via mobile

It is a fantastic and amazing island for diving or snorkeling.
There is a lot of fresh corals and colorful fishes. And you might have a chance to meet up sea turtles, whale shark...
Nice sunset with a cup of hot coffee / tea.. Relaxing..

But.. It is too expensive after it become popular.. The price is increase about few hundred ringgit after a year...

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siewkhoong, Director of Sales at Tenggol Coral Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016

Hi Thank you for your support,
The resort has been in operation for the last 4 years now, We don't know when since your last visit to the resort, as everything going up in prices, how we wish we can maintain our prices, however, we have been improving our level of services as compare with your last visit. Thank you for your review, it is most valuable for us. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2015

I was there on October. The overall experience to Tenggol coral beach resort was value for money.

The boat transfer to the island was rather quick, only took 45 minutes on speed boats with friendly boatman.

The rooms were clean and tidy, with all the basic necessity provided. Most important was wifi was provided.

Dive center are rather complete now, with gears, tank, tools etc. Friendly DM that could speak malay, english, cantonese and mandarin.

The food served is buffet, breakfast, lunch, teatime and dinner. Slightly above average with variety of choices.

Around the island is rather calm, quiet, simply breathtaking.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leggedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2015

Stayed in the beach front bungalow for 4.
Room is clean, with air cond, water heater, beach view, porch, and spacious bath room. And there's electricity throughout the day.

Our Dive master, Guang Liang, was friendly, caring and shows enthusiasm in diving. Dive sites are beautiful but some could be dangerous with strong current. He was familiar with dive sites and looked after us throughout the dives. Overall, the dive experience was good.

The dive center is well organized and systematic. We were given a basket each to store our dive equipment. Towers are provided at the dive center. Baskets and towers are numbered and assigned. Equipments given were in good condition.There are porters to carry the gas tank to the dive boats and return.

On the weekend of our stay, there were barbecue nights and live band performing. We even had hotpot on Monday night!

Cons. Shore is rocky, need booties. Water is treated but still salty. Best bring your own mineral water if you can't tolerate a little saltiness. Prepare to be soaked with sea waters if you are taking an uncovered speed boat to the island. Journey is about 35-45 mins. My advice, bring water proof bag.

Beware of sand flies, they bite, and it itches.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vpotter12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungun
33.1 km away
The Qamar Paka, Terengganu
28.4 km away
Tanjong Jara Resort
28.7 km away
Ulek Beach Resort
Ulek Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Dungun
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Anggun Beach Guest House
Anggun Beach Guest House
#1 of 10 in Dungun
2 reviews
28.7 km away
Teluk Lipat Seaview Inn
Teluk Lipat Seaview Inn
#4 of 10 in Dungun
11 reviews
29.7 km away
Riverbank 101 Dungun
Riverbank 101 Dungun
#2 of 7 in Dungun
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenggol Coral Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenggol Coral Beach Resort

Address: Lot 7563, Kuala Dungun Jalan Rajawali, Dungun 23000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Dungun District > Dungun
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Dungun
Price Range: RM100 - RM500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tenggol Coral Beach Resort with 20 natural timber chalet blends harmoniously into the environment, creating an exclusive village-style living experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tenggol Coral Beach Resort Dungun, Terengganu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing