We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dungun
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tenggol Coral Beach Resort
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

My first time visiting tenggol. I have heard many good reviews about the island and so decided to plan a snorkeling trip with the family. I was staying at the beach front and the room is very comfortable. Food was a variety of Easter to wester to local delicacies. Water was slightly salty but drinkable it is understandable as the island is quite remote and there are limitation. The best was the bbq night with fusion food. Simply amazing.

I was mesmerized by the beauty of the island. The snorkeling was amazing, but I was curious about how it feels like to be submerged underwater swimming among the fishes.

So I decided to do a try out to see how I would fare out. The instructor Mr Andy was fun and a hottie to begin with. I breathed for the first time underwater and felt so comfortable with proper professional guidance. Finally after a short while off we went into the blue. I will never forget the experience and it is a definite I will be taking my scuba divers license in this beautiful place.
Thus my final say is I am completely taken and will definitely be back to the island and the ever great crew.

See you soon...

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank wong l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2016

This place on the first impression was very nice until we experienced the worst diving experience.

Room- basic, broken hot shower
Food- average, salty water, food taste was inconsistent but the variety was sufficient
Dive- worst dive trip ever, I DO NOT recommend this place at all to anyone
Good luck if you dive with them- DM who do not follow PADI rules for safety

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Shadow_Carine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

Imagine a dive guide to divers ratio of 1:13!! They practice having one dive master at the front, one DM trainee(?) at the back. And the dive master guide you from entry to exit. In between go find interesting things on your own at an unfamiliar dive sites. Having 13 people following one DM at the front, go figure yourself.

Due to this extreme ratio of DM to divers, they normally take you to dive sites nearby, regardless of your dive experience. If you are an experienced diver, choose the other dive center there.

Rooms are ok, except for leaking roof during rain and broken hot shower. By the way, there is no wifi there.

Try to avoid the beach, sand flies bites are not a pleasant experience.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank jason429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siewkhoong, Director of Sales at Tenggol Coral Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2016

Hi Jason, Thank you for your frank review, First and foremost irrespective of your level,
Every divers will go through a check dive before the DM or Instructor can decide who should go to a more demanding site, safety is our main concern, we practice using a Sweeper as what we call it if the group is slightly large, why is because the DM behind can make sure no one left behind or get lost, won't it give the divers more confident to explore in between the front DM and the DM behind ? Our sweeper will be last one to surface during exit. We have experienced divers fell nervous if they can't cope with the DM in front and start racing among each other to be close to DM Instead when everyone knows at least they is another DM behind them, Briefing is very important therefore paying attention during briefing is equally important. As for sandflies Tenggol is not a commercial island, it is basically back to nature, did you apply mosquito repellent in the first place. Rains come and go in the island and most happen at night surprising. And when it come it is always heavy and strong wind and it won't last more than an hour.
Our resort consist of wooden chalet not concrete that is to blend with nature. Your comment is very valuable to us. Thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016

When visiting Tenggol you got to manage your expectations: With regard to the dive sites the visibility and the variety of aquamarine life is just great. Regarding the resort one can state that it definitely needs some refurbishment. The water is oftentimes salty and the breakfast is not worth the money. Be sure to bring your own drinks (water) in case you do not want to stay for many days.

Stayed: May 2016
Thank nolde10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016

In the past 2 months I have been twice to Tenggol Beach resort with friends and family.
it is a wonderful, friendly place. The beach chalets are right on the beach, the snorkeling is very good in the bay and the diving top standard.
The food is good, it's a shame there are no fresh fruit juices.
I highly recommend this resort not only for diving. It makes a wonderful 3-day getaway.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricialowismagnani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungun
33.1 km away
The Qamar Paka, Terengganu
28.4 km away
Tanjong Jara Resort
28.7 km away
Ulek Beach Resort
Ulek Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Dungun
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.1 km away
Six Villa Inn
Six Villa Inn
#6 of 10 in Dungun
9 reviews
0.0 km away
Anggun Beach Guest House
Anggun Beach Guest House
#1 of 10 in Dungun
2 reviews
28.7 km away
Teluk Lipat Seaview Inn
Teluk Lipat Seaview Inn
#4 of 10 in Dungun
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenggol Coral Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenggol Coral Beach Resort

Address: Lot 7563, Kuala Dungun Jalan Rajawali, Dungun 23000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Dungun District > Dungun
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Dungun
Price Range: RM100 - RM500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tenggol Coral Beach Resort with 20 natural timber chalet blends harmoniously into the environment, creating an exclusive village-style living experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tenggol Coral Beach Resort Dungun, Terengganu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing