We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing Environment and Friendly staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dungun
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tenggol Coral Beach Resort
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Visit Tenggol Coral Mid of Oct, everything good.. they upgrade my room from bayview to beach front, a big surprise after a tired drive from KL ! Nice food for the whole 3D2N trip.. and helpful instructor for the 2 Days dive trip. The only sad thing is didn't meet up with Mr Whale Shark.. Sure will pay another visit again!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2016

Tenggol Coral Beach Resort is located on a small but beautiful bay. There’s a restaurant and a diveshop and that’s it. The beachview chalets are as they say, right at the beach, while the bayview chalets (we had one of those) are higher up and offer only glimpses of the bay through the junglefoliage and diveshop buildings. Nevertheless it’s a beautiful place! Our room was very spacious and had a double and a single bed (plus an extra stretcher if needed), big windows with wooden shutters for some nice sea breeze and a nice balcony. The beds were excellent. All in all very comfortable, only the hot water in the shower didn’t really function. In the restaurant (which serves as a communal area) the food is served buffet style. There’s a lot of choice, most of it oriental and a bit western now and then, and the menu is varied every day (one day they even did steamboat) so we enjoyed it very much. Minor drawbacks are that the buffet is often cold and that the eggs for breakfast are softboiled…very softboiled. Big plus is that coffee, tea and toast are available all day long. Staff of the restaurant is a bit aloof, but helpful as soon as you turn to them. How different from the diveshop right next door which is staffed, apart from some professionals, by a lot of trainees who are very sociable and enthousiast and on the whole a merry bunch who smoke too much… Their equipment is good and new, they only don’t provide the convenient strap-on fins. They brief you well on the sites and can deliver 4 dives a day while returning between each dive due to the proximity of all the divesites. I think the longest boatride is 15 minutes. Inside the bay there are some wrecks to explore (modern fishing ships) and along the etches of the island there are beautiful fields of coral. Whalesharks we didn’t see, but we saw turtles, barracudas, rays, groupers and puffers, triggerfish, a black tipped reef shark. Unfortunately the visiblity was only 10-15 metres, but hey that’s nature. To conclude: it’s a marvellous place and the divestaff stole our hearts. Alltogether the place is 5-star stuff but for that to accomplish it needs to beef up the general feeling of hospitality and serve better eggs. One final thought: special thanks to Jennifer from KL-office for all her hard work! And ah, there's no wifi.

Room Tip: Chose beachview for the tropical paradise feel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank friestijl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016

I would give Tenggol Coal Beach resort an average. Fairly basic which is to be expected as it is a protected marine reserve. The accommodations were ok but could have been a lot cleaner. Food was terrible and always cold and the most disappointing part of our trip. Wound up buying water and making our own coffee as the water provided for free is very salty. Staff was nice and fun but lacked management and guidance. Overall an OK trip and I think we just had a bit of bad luck. The crew was not paying attention and the dive boat got stuck during low tide. This meant we lost a day and had to squeeze 4 dives into one day...not exactly what we had planned. All in all things like this happen and we understand you need flexibility, plus the staff was sorry and offered a few concessions. Overall a good trip but not the great one we were hoping for.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main reception area are quieter, the view of the bay is nice so take a water fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

O.M.G! Finally I found a hidden gem where the island was with lesser crowd even during the holiday season! Weeeehoooo. We went for a 3D2N stay at this resort during Malaysia day stretched till weekend.

This island is famous for divers, however we only did snorkelling after reading comments that it was good for snorkellers too! The island dint disappoint us as it was quiet and overall this is just perfect. There is a nice place to snorkel just a stone's throw from the resort. We saw a small shark, jellyfish and variety of fishes!

The food and the accomodation was decent. However, food and water a bit salty perhaps largely due to the place is at the island but it dint really bother us much. We just bought mineral water there. It's RM5 for one bottle of 1.5L.

We would definitely recommend friends to come over!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Chloe_cpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

I had a great experience diving here. This place is well known for whale sharks and manta ray - I was quite unlucky for not spotting either after five dives. However, the overall diving experience was good - they have good crew who are friendly and helpful, and the visibility was good in general. Saw lots of coral, colourful fishes, turtles, nudibranch and sting ray. The visibility was so good that you could simply snorkel around the beach and you'll see quite a lot.

Accommodation and food were average, and there were little activities you can do apart from diving and snorkeling, so do set your expectation right.

Would definitely come back again at one point!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZC_SydneyStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungun
33.1 km away
The Qamar Paka, Terengganu
28.4 km away
Tanjong Jara Resort
28.7 km away
Ulek Beach Resort
Ulek Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Dungun
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Anggun Beach Guest House
Anggun Beach Guest House
#1 of 10 in Dungun
2 reviews
28.7 km away
Teluk Lipat Seaview Inn
Teluk Lipat Seaview Inn
#4 of 10 in Dungun
11 reviews
29.7 km away
Riverbank 101 Dungun
Riverbank 101 Dungun
#2 of 7 in Dungun
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenggol Coral Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenggol Coral Beach Resort

Address: Lot 7563, Kuala Dungun Jalan Rajawali, Dungun 23000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Dungun District > Dungun
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Dungun
Price Range: RM100 - RM500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tenggol Coral Beach Resort with 20 natural timber chalet blends harmoniously into the environment, creating an exclusive village-style living experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tenggol Coral Beach Resort Dungun, Terengganu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing