We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roach infested hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Primula Beach Hotel
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Roach infested hotel”
Reviewed 1 June 2011

One of the worst hotels I've stayed at. The smell of food permeates and lingers in the room. The bathroom has roaches and we found them in the restaurant as well!! Only bath towels in the room and they aren't that clean either!! Hotel is dead at night...

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StefyKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    65
    92
    46
    22
See reviews for
96
43
9
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marikina, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

First of all, if you want a vacation that includes beer drinking nights out in your itinerary, Terangganu is not the place to be. My husband and I were disappointed when we were told that the hotel or any other hotel in the city did not serve beer. But the buffet meals were good, the staff extremely helpful, rooms relatively inexpensive and very spacious, although a bit shabby. If I have to go back to Kuala Terangganu in the future, I would stay at the Primula again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

To me, the hotel was decent enough, and while not what I consider to be the best value for money, it isn't too bad as well.

The location couldn't be better for a hotel in KT itself, with a beach right behind the property, and very close to all the central sights, as well as transport hubs.

However, the hotel has seen better days, and is slightly aged. While rooms and bath are kept clean, and there are some touches of more recent amenities, I'd say it's about time for a refurbishment. My room had a king sized bed, a table & chair (for work / dressing), a small couch, and a balcony. The bathroom was quite big, with a standing shower.

The breakfast is a standard spread of local dishes, with some continental variations, and is sufficient. Food in the hotel isn't too bad as well, but I think it's not top notch either. We had some food at the beach front resort, and we felt the food was decent, but we can find better outside in the town itself.

There are a few small downsides - the wireless internet access is inconsistent - sometimes you can get onto the network, but there's no internet access, and sometimes the access speed comes to a crawl. More than once I had to resort to using my own mobile broadband instead. Another small matter was the fact that the hotel doesn't seem to be enforcing the smoke free policy in common areas. There were people lighting up all over the lobby and meeting areas, as well as the restaurants, which was a little unpleasant for me as a non-smoker. Also, I thought that Malaysia has a non-smoking policy for common areas. Aside from these two complaints, the hotel is quite acceptable to me.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mozilla_monster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Despite the bad reviews, i categorised this hotel as pleasant and accommodating. I stayed in a twin room with super single twin beds. The room wasn’t perfect but I found no flaws in the room either. I was there accompanying my husband on a business trip. The room can nicely accommodate the four of us ( 2 adults and 2 kids). My room was facing the sea and i loved the view of the ocean. You have your private access to the beach but when i was there, there was a construction going on at the beach. Breakfast was authentic with a few local Terengganu delicacies. The other restaurant (the one near the pool) was slightly cheaper compared to the one in the main building.Pool was big with a slide for the kids. Staff was friendly and helpful. There’s a free shuttle service going to the market a few times in a day. However, i think the wall between rooms are too thin as we can hear sounds from other rooms.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farikica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights from 9th March; the hotel was not very busy. On entering our room it smelt of stale cigarettes – the room was large but the decor was tired and in need of refurbishing there were stains on the bed sheets. The bathroom was exactly the same. We sat around the pool which was clean . We ate in the hotel restaurant for our breakfasts and evening dinner the food was very nice and reasonably priced. There is no alcohol sold in the hotel. We walked down to the Ocean Restaurant(this can be reached by walking along the beach) this was very busy - here you could buy beer or red wine – we didn’t eat there but the food looked really nice. If you are looking for 5 star accommodation and 5 star restaurants we did not find them in Kuala Terengganu

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveller8888850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuala Terengganu hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Terengganu hotels
2.8 km away
Duyong Marina & Resort
Duyong Marina & Resort
#7 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
149 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Grand Continental
Hotel Grand Continental
#9 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
191 reviews
7.3 km away
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Terengganu
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Ter...
#2 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
#5 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
146 reviews
1.5 km away
Grand Puteri Hotel
Grand Puteri Hotel
#4 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
76 reviews
1.8 km away
J Suites Hotel
J Suites Hotel
#14 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primula Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primula Beach Hotel

Property: Primula Beach Hotel
Address: Jalan Persinggahan, Kuala Terengganu 20400, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Kuala Terengganu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Price range (per night): RM244 - RM330
Hotel Class:3 star — Primula Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Primula Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primula Beach Resort Kuala Terengganu Hotel Kuala Terengganu
Primula Beach Kuala Terengganu
Primula Beach Hotel Kuala Terengganu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing