We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“not bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Grand Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Grand Continental
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2016

stayed here for 2 night for the business trip.
got the room with the sea view.

the service was good, and the room is good.
however, for the breakfast buffet, there is not much variety.

as for me who love to walk, the attraction such as Pasar Payang and China Town is still within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AsrulSeruji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_GrandContinental, General Manager at Hotel Grand Continental, responded to this review, 1 November 2016
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments with regard to your previous stay with us.

I have read through your comments highlighted and I will certainly inform my Executive Chef to look into improving the choices of breakfast.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

Best regards.

James Chan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    60
    75
    26
    9
See reviews for
49
46
7
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Hotel seems quite old but facilities are decent. The room is big and accommodating. Beds are comfortable. Basic needs provided (shower gel and shampoo, hair dryer, ironing board). Location is ok. Few shops around the area. But KT generally doesn't have much to do in the area. Breakfast was decent. A bit on the pricey end. But overall ok.

Stayed October 2016, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Selinawongg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_GrandContinental, General Manager at Hotel Grand Continental, responded to this review, 29 October 2016
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review with regard to your previous stay with us.

I have read through your comments highlighted and I am glad that you are satisfied with your stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your review and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again.

Best regards.

James Chan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Need more maintenace to keep clean and neat. Need to add more gym equipment.as currently lacking on many weight lifting devices. Room will look great if given additional touch on the paintings. Overall still ok.

Stayed October 2016, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Saravanan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_GrandContinental, General Manager at Hotel Grand Continental, responded to this review, 11 October 2016
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review with regard to your previous stay with us.

I have read through your comments highlighted and I will certainly look into it. By the way, for your information, we have plans to refurbish the hotel soon.

Once again, thank you for your review and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again.

Best regards.

James Chan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for two days in room 1120. My reviewed for the hotel was old but nice . Got parking inside the building so u dnt hv to compete for outside parking. It nearest to the local atractions.The breakfast should hv varieties n should hv authentic foods like nasi dagang. The pool is small n not strategically located as the sun will covered the place at early as 9.00 o'clock. No towel at the pool should bring from your room. My reviewed for the room we stayed was nice fully refurbished room but have to add more white light to it. We just have 1 toothbrush provided n i dont know why for 1 queen bed room tht should include 2 people thou. Other than these the hotel is okay n u can feel like home

Stayed October 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank linaznz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_GrandContinental, General Manager at Hotel Grand Continental, responded to this review, 5 October 2016
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback with regard to your stay with us recently.

I have read through your comments highlighted and for your information, Nasi Dagang is currently being served daily during breakfast.

I will certainly inform my Housekeeper to look into improving the service at the pool and amenities provided in the rooms. We will evaluate the lighting in the rooms and will take necessary action to improve it.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

Best regards.

James Chan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

The interior of this hotel look classic as this is an old hotel. But the service is still good. It's hard to find a good and modern hotel in the heart of Kuala Terengganu. The breakfast buffet also have quite good option of local food but I'm quite frustrated because they don't serve Nasi Dagang in the two days I ate breakfast there (Nasi Dagang is one of the signiture dish of Terengganu breakfast). Another things that ponder me is in the hotel website, it said that one of the premium room facility is you will have the access to executive lounge. BUT I couldn't find any executive lounge in the hotel.

Stayed July 2016, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank iejayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_GrandContinental, General Manager at Hotel Grand Continental, responded to this review, 5 October 2016
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review with regard to your stay with us recently.

I have read through your comments highlighted and for your information, Nasi Dagang is currently being served daily during breakfast.

For your information again, our Executive Lounge is located at the lobby. Kindly contact Reception for assistance.

Once again, thank you for your review and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again.

Best regards.

James Chan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Terengganu hotels
6.6 km away
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Terengganu
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Ter...
#1 of 32 in Kuala Terengganu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.6 km away
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
#8 of 32 in Kuala Terengganu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.0 km away
Grand Puteri Hotel
Grand Puteri Hotel
#7 of 32 in Kuala Terengganu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Duyong Marina & Resort
Duyong Marina & Resort
#6 of 32 in Kuala Terengganu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Ming Star
Hotel Ming Star
#3 of 32 in Kuala Terengganu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.8 km away
Primula Beach Resort Kuala Terengganu
Primula Beach Resort Kuala Teren...
#19 of 32 in Kuala Terengganu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Continental

Property: Hotel Grand Continental
Address: Lot 004023, Hotel Grand Continental Jalan Sultan Zainal Abidin | Daerah 8, Kuala Terengganu 20000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Kuala Terengganu
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Price range (per night): RM165 - RM259
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Grand Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Continental Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing