We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$302
US$254
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$293
US$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anelia Resort & Spa(Flic En Flac)
US$184
US$129
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$207
US$117
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Manisa Hotel(Flic En Flac)
US$93
US$79
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alphavilla(Flic En Flac)(Great Value!)
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aanari Hotel & Spa(Flic En Flac)
US$137
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Pirogue Mauritius(Flic En Flac)
US$408
US$382
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$929
US$365
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,241)
Filter reviews
2,241 results
Traveller rating
1,257
569
250
102
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,257
569
250
102
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsming courtjapanese gardenluxury roomfamily suitemain restaurantfront officeseafood restaurantindian chefbeach bedshalf boardbeach restaurantlate checklarge poolour honeymoongreat beachmemorable staydress code
Filter
Updating list...
671 - 676 of 2,241 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Right from the moment we arrived we were treated with that five star touch. All the staff were so friendly and helpful, they could not do enough for us. Our room was ready even though we had arrived early in the morning and it was fantastic. The bed was so comfortable and the room was very well furnished, clean and welcoming with fresh flowers. We did have trouble with a light not working but this was fixed within the hour. We had upgraded to a sea view and this was well worth it. A great view of the ocean and the most beautiful sunsets!
We were on full board basis and there was no restrictions on which restaurants we could eat at although we did have to book at some. We ate on the beach one night which was a wonderful experience and the meal exceptional. Lunch was excellent with a beautifully cooked light three course meal eaten overlooking the beach.
We did not go on any organised trips but instead caught the bus from outside the Hilton Hotel next door , going to Port Louis and the market at Quatre Bonne. This was so easy and great for seeing how the locals live with no time restrictions on your visit,
The evening entertainment was very good with local groups and dancers, a varied programme.
The manager and his staff were at a poolside welcome evening and were very approachable and friendly. All in all we had a great hoilday and although we do not usually return anywhere, we might make an exception here.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayhurrahHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We arrived on Monday and booked in for 2 nights. A soon as we arrived to check in we had a lovely lady escort us into the hotel who sat us down to explain everything as we had a complimentary cocktail arrive also. We were upgraded to a suite and our bags were taken to our room whilst we were taken on a golf buggy to the room.
The hotel is very clean and the service is absoloutely outstanding. I cannot reccommend this hotel enough. Every staff member made you feel so welcome and acknowledged.
The breakfast was very nice also and the resort itself with its beach and selection of beds to relax on is great!
There are also many water activities to choose from.
We received a personalised invitation to cocktails by the pool at night that were complimetary and there were canapes and a band playing also. I was there for an anniversary and the hotel organised a cake for us after dinner one night with sparkles that had written happy anniversary on it.
We also had massages in the spa of the resort, so relaxing and beautidul/
I will definitely go back to Mauritius. It made my holiday!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nayba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Designed to give a Zen feel with Buddha statues, loads of water around and plink plink muzak. Check in took 25 mins but we still beat the bags to the room. We booked B&B and could have upgraded to half-board for a 28 euros p.p. - glad we didn't considering the far lower prices at local restaurants. If you like an after dinner scotch how does $10 a shot grab you - just for a J&B. I would still have spent more time and money at the bar in the evenings if the standard of entertainment had been better, but If breathy renditions of 'The Commodores Greatest Hits' are your thing you'd love it. A total lack of atmosphere. To be fair, the band had good musicians, but I'm afraid the singers killed it. I like nice hotels & good service, but I also want to feel I'm getting value for what I'm paying,and not being ripped off. Internet is very cheap in Mauritius, but unlike alot of hotels with fewer stars, Sofitel still feel the need to charge for Wi-Fi. I take no particular pleasure in writing this negative review as I'd much rather report what a great family holiday we had and how we can't wait to go back - the Mauritian people are great, the sea, sand & watersports also, but wherever we venture next on our travels, my family won't let me book them into a Sofitel!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoolsinEgypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We stayed five nights in September/October 2010. I've stayed in several 5-star resorts in South-East Asia, and for the most part this is similar. Rooms are well-appointed, and give you that 'luxury' feel. The open bathroom and soft bed are particular highlights. Housekeeping kept the room to a high standard. Hotel maintenance were called twice to fix a blown fuse in our room, and attended quickly and finally solved the problem. The so-called mini-bar is a disappointment; it stocks drinks and chocolate but does not cool anything! Sometimes it was warmer inside the fridge than in our room. It was also disappointing that there is no free wi-fi anywhere in the hotel.

The hotel itself is well appointed. The staff are friendly, but often I felt that native French speakers were at a huge advantage. Us English speakers did not feel as welcome.

The biggest disappointment was the food. The breakfast was your standard fare of cooked meats, eggs, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, cold meats, etc. However I felt there was less variety than in SE Asian 5-star resorts I've been to. Plus the Sofitel makes you ask for certain items like bacon and sausages, whereas other places offer them as serve-yourself. This leads to bottle-necks. Lunch was the real problem; only one hotel restaurant serves lunch, and the menu is very limited in both number and variety of dishes. We started to plan our day around being elsewhere for lunch, so that we didn't have to eat the hotel food. Dinner was OK; there are more restaurants open for dinner, but you need to be careful about the price.

The pool is large, but the top temperature when we stayed was only 29 degrees C, and the pool was too cold to swim in. The ocean was warmer, but be careful on the 'beach'; it's course shell and coral grit and a little sharp on the bare feet!

Some quick facts for future travellers: taxi fares are pre-set by the hotel. A one-way fare into Flic en Flaq is MRU200. Otherwise, its about a 50 minute walk into town. Do visit though; there are several little restaurants and cafes serving very good food at significantly less cost than the hotel.

A taxi into Port Louis costs MRU1,000 on-way, or MRU1600 return with a 2-hour shopping window.

The ride from the airport to the hotel takes a good hour, depending on local traffic.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ottah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

In many ways a typical 5 star hotel by a beach which reminded us of others we'd stayed in Bali, Cuba and Thailand. The suite we had was large and very comfortable with an excellent view over the Japanese-style garden to the mountain beyond. The bed was suitably huge and comfortable with good-sized TVs in the bedroom and lounger, efficient air-con an a separate toilet/shower off the lounge in addition to the large bathroom. There was a small desk but no free internet or wifi connection (this poorer than other 5 star hotels we have used where a suite equals free access). The hotel's hourly rate is around £6 - in nearby Flic and Flac it is free in some cafes/restaurants. The spa treatments were very good and we found the massages the most relaxing we have had - more so than in Thailand or Bali.

Staff were excellent - almost all cheerful and very willing to help. Several were quite outstanding. The beach was excellent with lots of sand and a safe lagoon. Many of the basic water activities are free and we experienced no difficulties accessing these. Wine/beer is expensive but pretty much in line with similar types of hotels - roughly £30 for an average bottle of wine and around £5 for a small beer. The local bottled water is ok but if you opt for Pellegrino the cost soars again. The Spar in Flic en Flac can supply most drink at very reasonable prices so once again it is just the big hotel mark-up that is at work. While we found the food good overall given the buffet approach to breakfast and dinner in the main restaurant (there are alternatives - do try the Wine Corner) we had two main gripes; breakfast is a bird bonanza with sparrows all over the place and despite staff trying hard there are hygiene issues so you need to be careful and, secondly, we had to ask for more/better vegetarian options. While the first problem remained unresolved the managers did take action to improve the vegetarian options.

We visited the bird park/lion experience and the Royal Botanical Gardens and toured most of the island using one of the taxis with driver/guide. At £50-£60 for a day we found this good value and saved us negotiating Mauritius's roads and drivers. The coast and mountains are lovely and we took over 1000 photos on this trip. We also took a bus to Port Louis which as well as being astonishingly cheap gave us a real feel for the local people. A visit to the chaos of the street markets and Central Market in Port Louis is a must.

Finally, a word of praise for the airport reception on departure. As our driver unloaded our cases we were met by a man in a neat jacket, shirt and tie - clearly badged - who not only brought us a trolley but helped us to the check in desk and thereafter to the security gate: no tipping rule too. The relatively small business class lounge doesn't offer all the facilities you find at major airports but it does have free wifi!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sakiScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews