We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but food and service not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Reviewed 22 October 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Sofitel for 10 nights in mid October 2010. We had made a reservation directly through the Sofitel’s website. We did shop around and booking with a hotel directly turned out to be the best deal.

Things we most liked: our room (especially that comfy bed), the beach and the sunsets.
Things we liked the least: rip off prices (drinks, taxis), food and inconsistent service.

We visited Mauritius before and stayed up north at a 4* hotel then. Over the last few years we also stayed at 4* and 5* hotels in Thailand, Seychelles and Grand Cayman so we have a benchmark to measure the Sofitel hotel against.

CHECK IN
The check-in was fine. The room wasn’t ready when we arrived in the morning but we were taken to the Spa to refresh after a long flight from London and then went to the beach to relax.

THE ROOM
We were very pleased with its look and feel. It was a Luxury room on the top floor with a balcony and a great view over the ocean and the Boathouse. The bathroom was large with two sinks and a bathtub and a walk-in shower. The toilet was separate. The king size bed was just wonderful, best I have ever slept in at any hotel! In addition, we had tea/coffee making facilities and a mini fridge. We stocked up the fridge with goodies from the nearby Spar shop and it didn’t seem to bother anybody. The housekeeping service was friendly and efficient.

THE MEALS & DRINKS
Having read mixed reviews about the buffet food and prices we decided against half board. Food choice at breakfast was fine but the service was inconsistent. Sometimes we had to wait a long time for our drinks or a knife or butter and sometimes everything was just great. Sometimes there was plenty of food and sometimes there was a short wait for fresh bread or scramble eggs. No big deal though. Well, dinner buffet didn’t meet our expectations. Not very inspiring or well presented, not five star! We tried it twice and agreed it was not good value for money. The Chinese dinner at Ming Court was mediocre too. My main course with prawns for £25 (1200 rupees) tasted just bland! However, the Japanese dinner was wonderful. The room service was good and only half the price of the buffet. The beach front restaurant was a nice spot for lunch but the choice and quality of food was below a 5 star standard (e.g. spaghetti was great and pizza wasn’t). We enjoyed eating outside the hotel. I highly recommend a Domaine Anna restaurant close to Flick en Flack. A mouth watering prawn dish was only £10 (450 rupees) and a rum packed cocktail for less than £4.

We knew wine would be expensive and not great and so we mainly drank local beer and/or cocktails ... at 5 star prices without 5 star quality ... we could hardly taste rum but still had to pay £10 for each drink. Happy Hour was fine (but same watered down quality). The guitar player one Saturday night was fantastic.

THE BEACH
We actually liked the beach very much. The not so perfect off white sand didn’t bother us. The Boathouse staff were helpful and we used the facilities a lot. The waiting staff often came with free refreshments. There were many sun loungers, beds and hammocks to choose from even though the hotel was fully booked. The beach never felt overcrowded. The sunsets were spectacular! The Hilton hotel next door seemed a bit cramp and had mostly fir trees instead of lovely palm trees fringing the beach. We didn’t use the pool as our beach was just great.

DAY TRIPS
We loved a trip to a nearby Casela Park. Walking with lions was an amazing experience!! The shopping trip with Dolane from Taxi Mauritius to Floreal and Curepipe was fun too. And I have to mention a trip to the Blue Bay Marine Park plus Ile aux Aigrettes which we booked online from Mauritius Attractions. Snorkelling in Blue Bay was like swimming in a huge fish tank. And then we were taken by boat to the little island to meet the giant tortoises and see some rare birds.

CHECK OUT
It was still a nice experience. Our flight was around 10PM and we were a bit uncertain what would happen to us and our bags. We left the room at noon, however, we were still treated as valued guests and encouraged to use all facilities. Our luggage was taken care of and we stayed on the beach until the sunset. Before the departure we were taken to the Spa to shower and change. And then we went to pay or bill. We pointed out one item that didn’t belong to us and it was promptly removed. The taxi was on time and it was a happy end.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would certainly put the Sofitel hotel in Mauritius on our list of holiday places to come back to.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonikafromSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,924)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

554 - 558 of 1,924 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2010

We stayed for 4 days and had a Great Holliday. Rooms were great, but Hotel needs a maintenance overhall. Food was Ok but for a Hotel in that class I expected more. Service was slow.
Great location and the Private Function was the highlite of the trip. At least at the funcyion we received great service and food.

Dean

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AluviPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We had a great week here. Hotel is gorgeous, staff wonderful, very friendly and helpful. Food was lovely, buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. They have 3 other restaurants that you can use but we were very happy with the buffet. Great facilities, free watersports and activities around the hotel

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottishjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

The hotel is in a beautiful setting - pool and beach lovely. Luxury rooms really nice with fantastic bed and pillows and lovely view. Buffet food was best buffet food ever on holiday with lots of choice and good quality. Breakfast very good but not completely relaxing because of the birds but we overcame this by taking it in turns to leave the table. Evening entertainment very professional and enjoyable - pity not many guests around, possibly because of the price of the drinks. We made use of the happy hour though. Not really anywhere to walk to but we were aware of this beforehand so accepted this. Enjoyed Chamarel Falls and Coloured Earths in rented car. Port Louis and Grand Baie ok but due to traffic take a long time to reach. Did not enjoy the Glass Bottom Boat trip - it was clear we had all had enough but still the boat kept bobbing about with not much to look at and several people felt unwell but we were forced to stay out at sea.

The holiday was to celebrate our Ruby Wedding and when booking with Netflights we were promised a free gift every day for 7 days but only received a cake and 2 glasses of sparking wine even though we queried this, so a bit disappointed at that.

Our second hotel was on the east coast - Le Prince Maurice (separate review).

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluejay81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Right from the moment we arrived we were treated with that five star touch. All the staff were so friendly and helpful, they could not do enough for us. Our room was ready even though we had arrived early in the morning and it was fantastic. The bed was so comfortable and the room was very well furnished, clean and welcoming with fresh flowers. We did have trouble with a light not working but this was fixed within the hour. We had upgraded to a sea view and this was well worth it. A great view of the ocean and the most beautiful sunsets!
We were on full board basis and there was no restrictions on which restaurants we could eat at although we did have to book at some. We ate on the beach one night which was a wonderful experience and the meal exceptional. Lunch was excellent with a beautifully cooked light three course meal eaten overlooking the beach.
We did not go on any organised trips but instead caught the bus from outside the Hilton Hotel next door , going to Port Louis and the market at Quatre Bonne. This was so easy and great for seeing how the locals live with no time restrictions on your visit,
The evening entertainment was very good with local groups and dancers, a varied programme.
The manager and his staff were at a poolside welcome evening and were very approachable and friendly. All in all we had a great hoilday and although we do not usually return anywhere, we might make an exception here.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayhurrahHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
1.4 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,554 reviews
17.2 km away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,961 reviews
23.1 km away
Sofitel So Mauritius
Sofitel So Mauritius
#4 of 6 in Bel Ombre
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,223 reviews
36.5 km away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
22.1 km away
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa

Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90517
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#7 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#7 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range: RM956 - RM3,110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the delights of Mauritius at this luxury hotel, which spreads over 9 hectares of tropical garden on the west coast of the island. Most of our rooms and suites have been fully renovated in a modern Asian decor using natural materials. Rooms are equipped with broadband Internet access and the Sofitel MyBed for ultimate comfort. Pamper yourself at our Asian style spa, enjoy a day at the golden beach, or savour gourmet cuisine in our restaurant and we will make sure you relax in style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Mauritius l`Imperial Resort And Spa
Sofitel Mauritius l`Imperial Hotel Flic En Flac
Sofitel Imperial Hotel
Accor Imperial Hotel
Sofitel Flic En Flac
Wolmar Sofitel
Sofitel Imperial Mauritius
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing