We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dar Rahaothello
Nearby Hotels
US$138
US$107
MGallery
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Garance(Essaouira)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Essaouira Lodge(Essaouira)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$103
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$143
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fontaine Bleue(Essaouira)
US$78
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Villa Maroc(Essaouira)
US$152
US$148
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Al Madina(Essaouira)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$51
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dar Al Bahar(Essaouira)(Great Value!)
US$49
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Gonatouki(Ghazoua)(Great Value!)
US$281
Travelocity
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
39
2
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
2
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocal artauthentic moroccan foodindoor fountainhome basebeautiful housecentrally located in the medinaweek staywhere breakfast is servedeasy accessperfect locationmint teawithin walking distanceold citycomfortable beddarroofcaretaker
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our second time a Dar Rahaothello. This trip we stayed at 7 other Riads in Morocco; many were equally attractive in decor, but none matched the service we received from Nezha. We find the town very relaxed, and again we had a superb meal cooked by Nezha (3 fish courses and an apple crumble). We feel at home!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cstotesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017

We stayed in Essaouira, Morocco, at the Dar Raha Othello for 12 days and enjoyed every day there. My husband had trouble moving around after a long plane trip, and service was arranged for us to ensure that we would not miss the experiences that presented themselves. With the great food and attention by the staff, by the 3rd day, my husband was able to walk 1.9 miles. This added to our enjoyment. Nezha, who manages the riad, and her staff helped us arrange excursions outside of the Medina (walled city) and also pointed out activities we might consider inside. And, best of all, if we just wanted to sit and enjoy the indoor fountain and court yard, or the roof terrace, the common spaces were so inviting, it made it very easy to do that; or if you want to dine in for the evening, Nezha is a fantastic cook. Although our 2nd level room was "just right" and we didn't spend much time in it. Also the youngsters from the neighborhood were very, very helpful. They and my husband struck up friendships, where he looked forward to chatting with them daily.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Willa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017

Dar Rahaothello is the perfect oasis in the heart of Essaouira's medina. Lovingly and thoughtfully renovated, it includes all of the modern amenities (each room boasts its own en-suite bath and wi-fi is reliable throughout) while 100% retaining its old-world Moroccan charm, with a traditional courtyard, roof deck, stone and marble architecture, and open kitchen. Rooms were private, and the beds and baths were very comfortable.

From the euphoria you'll feel on the morning after you arrive when stepping onto the rooftop terrace for breakfast while looking out over rooftops and minarets and listening to the call to prayers (the perfect setting for a sunrise yoga practice), to the customized recommendations you'll receive on what to see and where to eat or drink, to the delicious dinners elaborately prepared by Nezha (the chef and concierge - and I would HIGHLY recommend opting for her this), you will be transported to a very magical vibe.

Because of Nezha's connections, we were able to get the traditional gifts we wanted to take home from reputable merchants, at highly reasonable prices, and without the hassle of haggling or having to figure out the "best" places to find things. However, if you're there simply to take in the colors, fragrances and ocean breezes of the medina, there is absolutely no pressure to buy anything.

Essaouira is a wonderful navigable city with so much to see and do. We liked it much better than the other cities we have visited in Morocco (all of which have their own appeal) and arriving back at Dar Rahaothello always felt like coming home.

Room Tip: As in all riads we have visited, there are steps, and so travelers with mobility issues may wish to request the 2nd floor.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank patricia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Dar Rahaothello was an excellent choice for my 3-day stay in Essaouira! The house is beautifully decorated, clean and well kept. My double room was pretty large, comfortable bed with a sitting area, bathroom is good size, 24h hot water!Nezha the lady who runs the house is extremely kind and friendly, gave great advice on where to eat and shop. She made me breakfast and dinner everyday which was very delicious! The grill whole fish and apple crumb are my favorites! The house is in a quiet spot off a busy street, very centrally located in the Medina! Highly recommended!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Johnny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

This Dar is positioned at the end of a dark covered alley. Off the lights are turned on in the alley it's Fine, but otherwise it's really dark.
But inside it is nice. You almost have the place too yourself, staff not always there. But off they are there they want to help.

A big tip: They advertise with two types of rooms a twin or a double. But within the doubles there is a big difference for the same price! We first got a small double with tiny bathroom. When we asked we could change to a much much bigger room and larger bathroom.
It would be more fair iff the advertise with two different descriptions and price difference between them.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AnoekV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews