We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Swakopmund Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$271
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandcastle Apartments(Swakopmund)(Great Value!)
US$48
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandfields Guesthouse(Swakopmund)(Great Value!)
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Namib Guesthouse(Swakopmund)
US$119
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Margherita(Swakopmund)
US$143
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveller rating
90
146
52
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
146
52
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationold railwaypool areahistorical hotelcentral courtyardinteresting townlovely hoteloriginal buildingchoose this hotelvictorian stylebit datedgerman townstaff were professionalthe air conditioningthe hotel staffshort strollexcellent facilities
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 304 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2018

After a few days exploring the Namib-Naukluft Desert we spend a day or two in Swakopmund before flying to Cape Town. The hotel is sweet in many ways- the courtyard, the pool, the staff, the location. On the downside- their is a casino attached and the bedrooms were a little dated. Clean and comfortable just a little aged. Would I stay there again- yes. For what it was- a transit hotel it was perfect for me.

Room Tip: rooms on the 2nd floor have a better view and less noise
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tahoepov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetWilson-Moore, General Manager at Swakopmund Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I'm pleased to see that you enjoyed your short stay with us and we look forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel, hopefully for a longer period this time so that you get to experience what we as a hotel and Swakopmund have to offer as a destination!
All the best to you and your family for 2018!

Kind regards
Janet Wilson-Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017 via mobile

We stopped here for one night on our way to Damaraland. Clean efficient hotel. Iconic building quirky restaurant.
Would recommend this as a reasonably priced stopover but if you want to explore the area and stay longer you may want something more charming and personal.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mad_Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetWilson-Moore, General Manager at Swakopmund Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Dear Doug,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I'm happy that you enjoyed your short stay with us. It's a pity you were not able to stay longer and experience what we have to offer as a destination. We are conveniently located as the center of town and the beach is only a short walk from the hotel. Hopefully you will be able to stay longer on your next visit.
Wishing you all the best for 2018!

Kind regards
Janet Wilson-Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

Rooms on the side of the swimming pool are quiet. Internet is super, breakfast excellent, beds marvelous, bathrooms sparkling. Its the best place to be. the hotel has history and the décor is excellent. Staff services are good

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the swimming pool are very quiet and far from the roads
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Maro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetWilson-Moore, General Manager at Swakopmund Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Thank you for the wonderful review and for choosing to stay with us!
We appreciate your business and your trust in us. I am pleased to hear that our staff and service met your needs and expectations.
Wishing you a wonderful festive season and all the best for the New Year!

Kind regards
Janet Wilson-Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

Swakopmund Hotel and Entertainment Centre is a Legacy Hotel. On the whole we can recommend it since the staff tries very hard, the surroundings are beautiful and the food is good. There were some drawbacks however.
Our internet did not work and it took 3 visits with technicians to get it going. Nobody else in our group had a problem. We had a nice room along the central courtyard but on the opposite side of the pool with no view. There were decent beds, plenty of towels and a good TV. The fridge was musty and not working. The bed was very firm and unyielding….uncomfortable on our older bodies. The mattress was hard on the hips, but the place is very pretty, the staff polite and the room large and relatively clean. It would be nice if the bathroom had a magnifying mirror and the soap was not such tiny pieces. There is a coffee maker. There are no robes. The hair dryer was very weak and we didn’t find the floor to be very clean. The biggest problem for us, other than the hard bed was the cleaning products they used which were very perfumed and made us choke. This is not a hotel I would look forward to returning to, but it was adequate and beautiful. You will be ok with it. It's within walking distance of everything in the town, which is a plus.

Room Tip: Try to get one along the pool courtyard so that you'll have a view. If you favor quiet, try not to be too close to the restaurant.
Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetWilson-Moore, General Manager at Swakopmund Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Carolyn,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your stay. I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. Please note that your concerns have been noted so that I can address them with my management team. We do hope you give us another chance and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Janet Wilson-Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

Every time I have stayed here I always get friendly service from the reception staff, they are always willing to assist with anything. Breakfasts are tasty and really worth having. Rooms spacious and clean.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetWilson-Moore, General Manager at Swakopmund Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Thank you for staying with us again! We appreciate your loyalty and your continued trust in our hotel and our staff. Rest assured that we will do everything it takes to make us deserving of your loyalty.
We look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards
Janet Wilson-Moore
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews