We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hansa Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Beach Hotel Swakopmund(Swakopmund)
US$151
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$275
US$268
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BON Hotel Swakopmund(Swakopmund)(Great Value!)
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Eberwein(Swakopmund)
US$101
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$110
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swakopmund Hotel(Swakopmund)
US$192
US$134
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
US$161
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
US$112
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveller rating
203
139
34
12
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
139
34
12
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold world charmoldest hotelhotel is centrally locatedexcellent hotelshopping and restaurantsflat screen tvmiddle of townwalvis baycomfortable roomsother guestssmall balconybreakfast buffetsea frontreception staffbeautiful gardenoysterswithin walking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 390 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2017

Very old colonial hotel. Rooms are outdated but oke. Inside garden is a small beauty. Try to get a room in this garden.
Very good breakfast with lots of choices. Due to a early roundtrip flight, we were too late for breakfast, but they just hold it for us.
Parking in front of the hotel. You have to pay a smal amount to the guy who will guarding your car.

Room Tip: room in the small garden
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariebur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

We just visited a few days ago as part of our holiday in Namibia and were absolutely amazed at how good the hotel is run: Staff is not just very friendly and helpful, but even remembered our name the next day - not something we expected in the first place, but it made us feel very valued and welcome! The hotel's interior design is beautiful and creates a truly historic impression which is underlined by many photographs from earlier times which are interesting to look at. We had - what we think was - a recently renovated room: no carpet (we prefer it that way), excellent shower and bathroom facilities and a very comfortable bed. Room size was generous and attentive room staff put chocolates in the room which - after a long drive through the desert - made our welcome at the hotel perfect that evening. Food at the restaurant is excellent and delicious. We ordered Oryx medium-rare and actually got it that way which made for a delicious dinner. Staff at the restaurant was very helpful and friendly. Overall, we felt extremely welcome and spoilt at the hotel and look forward to staying there again when we are in Swakopmund next time. Oh.... parking outside the hotel is save as there is an official guard watching the cars day and night.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Karin6300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

The Hansa Hotel proudly declares that it opened in 1905. It has been carefully updated, but there is no mistaking it for a contemporary hotel. Accordingly, it is missing a few conveniences--notably, elevators--but the grandeur of the space trumps that.

The hotel is centrally located in a shopping district, a few blocks from the ocean. Our room was huge, with a sitting room sufficiently large to host a cocktail party for 8-10. That room contained a third twin bed; the other two twin beds were in a sleeping alcove separated from the rest of the room by heavy drapes. The bathroom was large; there also was a large walk-in closet/dressing room. The room was silent at night, and the beds very comfortable, so sleep quality was excellent (however, I thought the comforter was excessively warm, and would have preferred one substaitial pillow to the two thin pillows test were provided.)

The breakfast buffet was well presented, but hot items were limited to a warm egg soufflé. Breakfast meats were limited to cold cuts. There were a number of breads, but no toaster. As expected, the public spaces were expansive and grand, including a beautiful garden.

Our initial attempt to logon to the in-room wi-fi failed but the staff immediately responded and provided an alternate Internet address that worked well throughout our stay. There is an in-room safe, but the hotel does not have a fitness center.

You can stay in excellent but indistinguishable contemporary hotels in many parts of the world, but the Hansa Hotel is unique in its excellence.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Highly recommended restaurant
Superb kitchen
Very friendly and experienced staff
Secure parking
Super variety of wine
Superb advise when it comes to choice your meal
Children friendly
Affordable prices

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Werner S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Stayed at the Hansa Hotel in the City Centre of Swakopmund during a business trip. Location is excellent and a lot of restaurants, shopping and the beach is within walking distance. Real German traditional place - very neat, comfortable and clean rooms and excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms on street side renovated and are new and more modern than rooms on sea side. Although street side, no problem with street noise.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews