We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (416)
Filter reviews
416 results
Traveller rating
220
144
36
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
144
36
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old world charm oldest hotel colonial times old fashioned excellent hotel middle of town hotel is centrally located other guests comfortable rooms cooked breakfast beautiful garden sea front oysters within walking distance german namibia twin
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 416 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2017

A convenient central location yet just a few minutes walk to the sea front. It's one of Swakopmund's historic buildings but has been brought (almost) up to date whilst retaining a lot of the original features - in particular the main staircase. Staff are friendly and efficient although they struggled a little at breakfast on my second day when a coach party of German tourists all turned up for breakfast at the same time. The food in the restaurant is very good and reasonably priced if a little rich for my taste. As I was booked in as part of an organised tour I didn't know the room prices so can't comment on value for money but found everything to be just fine.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan_490416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

Very old colonial hotel. Rooms are outdated but oke. Inside garden is a small beauty. Try to get a room in this garden.
Very good breakfast with lots of choices. Due to a early roundtrip flight, we were too late for breakfast, but they just hold it for us.
Parking in front of the hotel. You have to pay a smal amount to the guy who will guarding your car.

Room Tip: room in the small garden
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariebur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

We just visited a few days ago as part of our holiday in Namibia and were absolutely amazed at how good the hotel is run: Staff is not just very friendly and helpful, but even remembered our name the next day - not something we expected in the first place, but it made us feel very valued and welcome! The hotel's interior design is beautiful and creates a truly historic impression which is underlined by many photographs from earlier times which are interesting to look at. We had - what we think was - a recently renovated room: no carpet (we prefer it that way), excellent shower and bathroom facilities and a very comfortable bed. Room size was generous and attentive room staff put chocolates in the room which - after a long drive through the desert - made our welcome at the hotel perfect that evening. Food at the restaurant is excellent and delicious. We ordered Oryx medium-rare and actually got it that way which made for a delicious dinner. Staff at the restaurant was very helpful and friendly. Overall, we felt extremely welcome and spoilt at the hotel and look forward to staying there again when we are in Swakopmund next time. Oh.... parking outside the hotel is save as there is an official guard watching the cars day and night.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Karin6300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

The Hansa Hotel proudly declares that it opened in 1905. It has been carefully updated, but there is no mistaking it for a contemporary hotel. Accordingly, it is missing a few conveniences--notably, elevators--but the grandeur of the space trumps that.

The hotel is centrally located in a shopping district, a few blocks from the ocean. Our room was huge, with a sitting room sufficiently large to host a cocktail party for 8-10. That room contained a third twin bed; the other two twin beds were in a sleeping alcove separated from the rest of the room by heavy drapes. The bathroom was large; there also was a large walk-in closet/dressing room. The room was silent at night, and the beds very comfortable, so sleep quality was excellent (however, I thought the comforter was excessively warm, and would have preferred one substaitial pillow to the two thin pillows test were provided.)

The breakfast buffet was well presented, but hot items were limited to a warm egg soufflé. Breakfast meats were limited to cold cuts. There were a number of breads, but no toaster. As expected, the public spaces were expansive and grand, including a beautiful garden.

Our initial attempt to logon to the in-room wi-fi failed but the staff immediately responded and provided an alternate Internet address that worked well throughout our stay. There is an in-room safe, but the hotel does not have a fitness center.

You can stay in excellent but indistinguishable contemporary hotels in many parts of the world, but the Hansa Hotel is unique in its excellence.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Highly recommended restaurant
Superb kitchen
Very friendly and experienced staff
Secure parking
Super variety of wine
Superb advise when it comes to choice your meal
Children friendly
Affordable prices

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Werner S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews