We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay
Nearby Hotels
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Langholm Hotel(Walvis Bay)
US$85
US$83
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Beach Hotel Swakopmund(Swakopmund)
US$166
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
US$112
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lagoon Loge(Walvis Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Europa Hof(Swakopmund)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
15
39
28
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
39
28
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentre of towngoing the extra milebuffet breakfastmain buildinglounge arearooms are comfortablegreat hotela great stayfree wifiafricavariationcoastclosingsupperspeedfurniturelaundry
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2017

I stayed over at Protea on a business trip and must say that it was a great stay. Rooms, bathrooms are nice and modern, internet at an awesome speed. I must comend the GM and staf for going out of their way to be of assistance with arranging transport etc. We had an absolute awesome stay with you. Keep it up, we will most definately be back again

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank E2365UHgaryj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant J, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Dear E2365UHgaryj,
Thank you so much for your awesome review on the Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay. I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us!

Thank you for your words of appreciation. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay and to hearing from you again!

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,

Grant & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

The service by hotel staff was very good with all those availed to us going the extra mile to assist in any way. The food serves is another plus and catered to all our needs. Overall a very good experience.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 92vnicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant J, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear 92vnicol,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay with us on Trip Advisor.

With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that you had an overall good experience.

As a VALUED GUEST, your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit.

Grant & Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

It's a very nice hotel and very clean too. The serious problem I have was the fact that the first day when we arrived, there were no towels in the room. I quickly called for some and was assured there were on the way, my wife hopped in the bathroom taking shower, 20 minutes waiting for towels, she had to dry herself with her own T Shirt. Towels only came 2 hours later. The second day we asked for an iron and ironing board, which never came and we just wore the clothes as is. Protea, something is wrong management wise here... You can do better than this. I love Protea, but this was a turn off.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 289musan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant J, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear 289musan,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review after your stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay. I can assure you that your comments will be used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service levels and facilities.

The inconvenience which you experienced throughout your stay is most definitely not the standard we strive to achieve. As this seems to be an isolated incident, please be assured that your comments have been addressed in detail with the relevant management and STAFF.

I can assure you, should you stay at Protea Hotel Walvis Bay again, that every effort will be made to ensure that you enjoy our true hospitality! Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. It would be my pleasure to assist you with your next reservation and to ensure that you are well taken care of during your next stay with us.

Regards,

Grant Januarie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

We stayed in Walvis Bay with family and I found a little coffee shop in the hotel on the lagoon side.

Founding the coffee shop was great, founding Lavazza coffee in their grinder changed my mornings.

For the rest of our holiday this was our morning pit-stop for a perfectly prepared cappuccino or 2. :) :)

Loved it!!!!!!!!

The staff was all very friendly and they had fresh muffins and cake every morning on display to enjoy.

They had a food menu serving nice basket options for during the day.

One can also enjoy a buffet breakfast around the same time, in another section of the hotel.

They have a nice fireplace in this area close to hotel reception.
It was lit on one of the cold mornings. Soft seating area, very comfortable to just sit and relax.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacques H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant J, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Jacques H,

Thank you very for this review on one of our coffee shops. We will definitely convey this review to the Team. We hope that on your next visit we will be able to host you in our Hotel to further showcase Our Protea Hotel by Marriott hospitality.

Regards,

Grant & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

This is a very ideal place for meetings. Staff are cautious and venue very ideal with adequate public address system and WIFI. Tea break snack and lunch are good and comes with venue booking for meetings at reasonable price.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Edosa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant J, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear Edosa O,

Thank you so much for your awesome review on the Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay. I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay and meeting facilities with us!

Thank you for your words of appreciation. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF you commended for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you back to Protea Hotel Walvis Bay and to hearing from you again!

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,

Grant & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews