We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A terrific Inn at Boquete”
Review of Hotel Panamonte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Panamonte
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2013

From our time traveling around Boquete this appears to be the best lodging. It does not have that "old Panamanian" charm that I was expecting but it makes up for it with large, beautiful rooms that are spacious and well decorated. The beds are comfortable with fine linens. There is ample lighting, flat screen TV, a safe and in room wifi. The bathrooms are large as is the shower and there is plenty of hot water. The rooms have large patio doors, an ample patio with outdoor furniture. The patios overlook the lush grounds.

The restaurant is very good with a somewhat formal feel but it is not stuffy. There are windows on two sides of the room which are usually open keeping the room fresh. The tables are covered in fine linen with cloth napkins. The menu does not change and does get a little boring. But the food is very good.

Our favorite spot was the outdoor bar/restaurant. It is nicely decorated with overstuffed furniture and two wonderful fireplaces. A great place to sit on cold windy nights enjoying your favorite drinks. They also serve the main restaurant menu. Drinks are very reasonable by US standards.

The staff is very helpful, friendly and watchful. With only 12 rooms they seem to know everyone.

The hotel is a great place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlOjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dvisite, Front Office Manager at Hotel Panamonte, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Thank you very much for the excellent review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you, family and friends at the Panamonte.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 96 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2013

My husband and I took a trip to Panama, which spanned December 20, 2012, through January 3, 2013. We stayed at Hotel Panamonte on the following two nights: December 26 and 27. You can see my reviews of the other hotels as well as the tour company that helped us plan our trip.

Hotel Panamonte is a nice hotel. It is quiet, clean, and the gardens are amazingly beautiful and fanatically maintained.

I am a light sleeper, so it was great that we did not hear any noise from the rooms next to us.

Because it rains so much in Panama, the builders put covered walkways throughout the entire complex. Therefore, you can walk from the main entrance to your room and not get wet.

Regarding the restaurant. I know a lot of people say it is really great, but my husband and I weren’t that impressed. We thought the food was just OK. Of course, that’s only our opinion.

Would I recommend this hotel to a friend and would I stay there again? Yes.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mah1066ban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dvisite, Front Office Manager at Hotel Panamonte, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Thank you very much for the excellent review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you, family and friends at the Panamonte.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Lovely, colonial style hotel with spacious and inviting rooms and patios. Excellent restaurant and cosy bar for the chilly evenings.
Restaurant staff could be more jolly and the breakfasts more interesting - but a small complaint really.
Highly recommended for a forest stop off with lots do do in the area and the hotel a short stroll to nearby shops and restarantsu and Boquete town.

Room Tip: Rooms nearest the reception and overlooking the main garden appear to have better patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dvisite, Front Office Manager at Hotel Panamonte, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Thank you very much for the excellent review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you, family and friends at the Panamonte.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Panamonte is a really nice hotel situated in the cool mountain town of Boquete. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful but the restaurant staff was generally sullen, the room was large and very comfortable andThe grounds were beautiful as were all the facilities. I found this hotel to be the best one that I have stayed at in Boquete.

Our only complaint was that when we went to the bar in the evening, it was a bit cold and we wanted to sit by the fire and all of those seats were reserved. There was a sign that said reserved for 7:30pm and we arrived at 8:00pm and the seats were empty until we left at about 9:30pm. Several other people were also turned away from these seats. Without this, I would give the Panamonte a 5.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kondan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dvisite, Front Office Manager at Hotel Panamonte, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Thank you very much for the excellent review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you, family and friends at the Panamonte.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Large and spacious rooms with air conditioning, front porches and even a couple of tv stations in English. They had live music on New Year's Eve and fireworks for all to participate. Friendly staff and most could understand English and our poor Spanish .

Room Tip: Suit 1 and 2 are closest to the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blue30350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL PANAMONTE B, Director de Recepción at Hotel Panamonte, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Greetings from Panamonte,

Thank you very much for your excellent review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our food-beverage service and look forward to having you, parents and friends at the Hotel Panamonte.

Please use the PANAMONTE HOTEL-RESTAURANTE accounting for the future reviews.

Best regards,
Doris Taylor Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boquete hotels
6.6 km away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 12 in Boquete
395 reviews
2.0 km away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boquete
342 reviews
13.6 km away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Ladera
Hotel Ladera
#10 of 12 in Boquete
132 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Valle del Rio
Hotel Valle del Rio
#7 of 12 in Boquete
190 reviews
5.0 km away
Boquete Tree Trek Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Panamonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Panamonte

Address: Ave 11 de Abril, Boquete 0413, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Boquete
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boquete
Price Range: RM689 - RM1,251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Panamonte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1914, the Hotel Panamonte has been the Old world charm in the enchanting highlands of Boquete luxurious rooms and indulgent culinary experience of choice for travelers from near and far. For more than 50 years, the Collins-Elliot family has blended their Old World Swedish tradition of hospitality with the friendliness of Panama in Boquete's extraordinary cloud forest setting of mountains, valleys, waterfalls and flowers. The result is the creation of a destination luxury hotel that combines the best of history with modern amenities. For three generations, families from Panama City, the United States and Europe have been coming to The Panamonte to celebrate weddings, honeymoons, christenings, family, and corporative reunions. Discover for yourself why staying at the Hotel Panamonte has become a tradition-it is so much more than just place to rest. It is a place from which to refresh the body, mind, and spirit and make memories that will last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Panamonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panamonte Inn And Spa
Panamonte Hotel Boquete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing