We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dusty Old place and Expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel City House Los Guayacanes
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Chitre
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

Hotel los Guayacanes in Chitré used to be one of the best places for staying in Chitré maybe, now it is just a dusty old place.

We had a family trip for Feria de Azuero and thw first night there was a huge power outage all over town but the hotel had no backup power plant, so this meant no lights, no air conditioner, no restaurant, no tv for us... we basically stood there inside our car for about 2 hours waiting for the electricity to come back again.
Finally when we got to our room, it was nothing close to what we expected, entrance door was cracked, furniture was old, bed was full of dust, it smelled like a cave, damaged and dirty ac, shower had no hot water, bathroom lookes like my grandmas house 20 years ago but ugly. The only good thing about this place I can mention is a small lake where you can take nice pictures and the restaurant's look.
I would NOT recomend this hotel to anyone, I feel 90 bucks per night is too expensive for this poor quality.
On the second day we asked if they could compensate us somehow because of the hard time we had with the power outage, they just said it is what is... So we decided to switch to Hotel Versalles, this is a Great Hotel! Hot water, clean room, nice pool, delicious food, great service for the same money...

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ricardo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2016

Pros: Very nice place with very nice personel, rooms of the perfect size witch a big bathroom, the common areas could use some love to increase the beauty of the play as it seems a bit abandoned under the renovations that were taking place. Breakfast was realy good but waiters need to be a little more into customer service as they are the ones who provide water and cook to order (night shift however was more customer service driven) . As city is close we ordered some pizza and it took just like 20 minutes to be delivered wich is very handy when all service its closed and the recepcionist (male) was very nice to bring some ice as the one in the collhe coolers was missing already. The casino in the back its also a plus to hang a while and one last advice... ask for the lower rooms as they do not have elevators on the facilities it could give you some trouble if you have some issues with the stairs or heavy luggage.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have a nice hang out balcony for couple talks
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ssubiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed one night. The building/room we stayed in appears recently renovated. Clean, modern, comfortable bed, TV, Wi-Fi, etc.at a reasonable price. On site restaurant had a fabulous buffet breakfast. Buildings surround a large pond/garden area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis M, Gerente at Hotel City House Los Guayacanes, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guests.

Thanks you for your coment, we are making inprovements to provide better service


Luis M
Gerente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

The food was very good, also the service and our room was perfect, smelling so good and nice beds.

What wasn't very clean were the pools, so I didn't dare to go in them. But for the rest is perfect. Very beautiful facade and garden.

Room Tip: Rooms with view to the front garden.
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katizzi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Stay away, the worst ever!
Dirty rooms, the worst was the bathroom; moved the bed (to find an outlet) and did find
all kind of trash. BTW, the only outlet is the one for the TV.
AC did not keep room cool at all, please notice I did not say cold.
Loud music from the outdoor/terrace club, made it impossible to get some rest.
Children running all over the place and adults with loud music (from car stereos) partying at parking lot; called front desk about the noise issues and the clerk was less than helpful.
Male Front desk employee was rude and unpleasant, the female night clerk was nice.
Almost $600.00 for a 4 nights stay in a single room .... DUMP!

STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belllllisima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chitre
0.9 km away
Hotel Versalles
Hotel Versalles
#4 of 5 in Chitre
54 reviews
2.0 km away
Cubita Boutique Resort & Spa
0.8 km away
Gran Hotel Azuero
Gran Hotel Azuero
#2 of 5 in Chitre
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.5 km away
Hotel Piamonte
Hotel Piamonte
#1 of 1 in Las Tablas
16 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Bali Panama
Hotel Bali Panama
#1 of 3 in Chitre
30 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#2 of 6 in Chitre
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City House Los Guayacanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City House Los Guayacanes

Address: Via Circunvalacion, Chitre 0601, Panama (Formerly Hotel Celuisma Los Guayacanes)
Region: Panama > Herrera Province > Chitre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Chitre
Price Range: RM251 - RM360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City House Los Guayacanes 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel City House Los Guayacanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing