We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, certainly not great”

Hostal Los Pinos Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Los Pinos Inn
Ranked #23 of 104 Speciality Lodging in Puno
Reviewed 21 January 2012

I took this place from a travel book and the facilities it said were there, were not there. It was located in a good place not far from the center of town, but miles from all the attractions and the bus station. Breakfast was extra, there was WiFi, but everybody was huddled over their laptops in the small foyer. It is a clean place, rooms were kept clean, the TV had only five local channels and for 40Sol a night it was more than a rip off as it is advertised as a great backpackers hostel. I left after two nights.

Room Tip: My advise is don't
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadnerb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2011

Rooms in this hotel are freezing, it is colder inside than outside during the day and at night it is really cold.
Rooms are clean.
We were not impressed by their service, it seemed we were just other tourists coming to their hotel.
Hotel is quite dark. There is a TV and games in the common area downstairs but it is too cold to stay there. The only way to feel ok was staying under the covers in our room.
For one night it was ok, it would have been better with a heater.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimimundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We arrived in Puno at 5:30am with some friends who weren't staying there overnight but wanted to spend the morning there. We turned up at Los Pinos at about 6am, with no reservation, and were relieved to find that they had a room!

The level of service we received was incredible. They really went above and beyond what was necessary. Once we'd checked in to our room they were able to recommend a morning tour of the Uros islands, which they booked for us and our friends who weren't even staying there. They then went on to book our friends their bus to Copacabana for them, and recommended a great place for us all to have lunch. They were also fine with our friends coming up to use the toilet in our room etc.

Worth noting that the cable tv isn't really cable, just a few fuzzy channels in Spanish! We also found the room very, very cold. Puno gets very cold at night anyway, but even when it was warn outside and we came up to our room for a rest we were so cold we had to layer up and get under the covers! We had sleeping bags with us and we ended up having to use them at night to keep warm. However, it's not fair to blame the hostel for this, and I believe that there were heaters available if we'd bothered to ask!

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this great little hostel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Propietor Tany Silva and her staff made us feel so special and cared-for and went out of their way to meet our needs and to assist us. For example, Tany arranged a driver to take us to Cumbe Mayo. She even called three different places to find the best price and to be sure that we had a taxi with seat belts.
We enjoyed restful nights in a quiet place.
Los Pinos is the BEST location within easy walking distance to the plaza, cathedrals, restaurants, conventio, and the huge people's market where the women are wearing the sombreros de paja.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tulipia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

Value for money(12 euros a night for 2 people), comfy beds and pillows, hot showers, friendly and helpful staff, clean, and 1 day floating island tour we booked through them would recommend. Only forseeable fault is if you visited in winter it would be very cold as no heating in room

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meljhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puno hotels
32.7 km away
Titilaka
Titilaka
#1 of 64 in Puno
438 reviews
0.2 km away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
0.4 km away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 64 in Puno
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Libertador Lake Titicaca
0.6 km away
La Casa De Manuelita
La Casa De Manuelita
#36 of 64 in Puno
98 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#47 of 64 in Puno
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Los Pinos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Los Pinos Inn

Address: Tarapaca 182, Puno, Peru
Region: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 104 Speciality Lodging in Puno
Price Range: RM54 - RM87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Los Pinos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing