We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and Quite Run Down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines
Ranked #43 of 86 Hotels in Makati
Reviewed 20 October 2017

My business partner and I checked in on 29 September 2017 for a 3 night stay. The hotel has 3 elevators of which only 1 was working. When we entered the room the carpet had a bad smell. The band was loud and we had difficulties in hearing the singer, though at times the music is lower and we enjoyed the music. The car park at the basement 1 is too small and the car elevator brings the car to basement 3 where there is no working passenger lift. So we have to walk up 3 levels to the lobby. It is not a difficult task for people who are in good health but if you do have a medical condition than you may want the security to accompany you in the car elevator.
When we ordered the food from the music lounge it took awhile to come. When I looked up the chef and helpers were at the stairs watching the lady singing. After sometime when I asked the waitress to follow up, I saw her approaching the chef and it took another 25 minutes for the food to come. Luckily it was good. The staff are friendly but there are lots of room for improvement.
My comments some years back was almost the same as the present. I can see that the management has not improved on it. Good to give a miss to this hotel and book St.Giles which is diagonal to this hotel about the same in price but it is far more cleaner and new.

Room Tip: Book St. Giles is far better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DhonMennen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (847)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 847 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017

You're typical 3 star place. You're in a decent location (walking distance from Avenue mall, century city, Powerplant Mall, and tons of food places), and a quick cab ride away from the nicer park of Makati and other attractions.
The hotel is average, but the price fits what you get. The rooms were big, clean, no bugs or anything nasty. The place does look a bit dated, but cleanliness and pest control seems up to date. The price of their food is good, but the food is just edible. I'd recommend eating outside of the restaurant since their food is truly just edible and you can find better food for the same price. But if you're not wanting to go out, the food is okay.
The staff is rather unprofessional. The cleaners have the personalities of animals and don't know how to act professional. Front desk does their job, but they aren't polite or courteous. I called the front desk to tell them my room key was not working, was informed that they were immediately sending up someone to assist, but after waiting for over 30 minutes no one arrived. Had to go down to the front desk and they acted like they never got a call. So unprofessional.

Decent place, though.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank pinayam1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

This place needs major renovation. First the car park is located underground where the car needs to take the elevator to B3. The area is also small and you can find dirty clothes lying on the ground. The lobby, the elevator, and carpet is old and dirty. The guest room is big but again I am very bothered by the dirty carpet. The only good about this area is the location and the size of the room. I hope they can renovate this hotel soon.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acyap83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Located towards the edge of the Makati business district, yet in a crowded area. Categorised 3-Star. Unpretentious foyer and reception area. Helpful staff. Large rooms having everything needed including a clothes iron and ironing board, tea/coffee/water. No view to speak of except peering into the windows of apartments across the street. Food not that tasty. Buffet breakfast had a reasonable spread.

Room Tip: No view from any room except roofs and apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Max J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Parking is not great - we had to go to the basement and through a very tight vehicle lift to get to the parking. Walking to the lobby, we had to use the same vehicle lift, walk through the unpleasant basement and out the side of the hotel only to be greeted with fading carpet and musty ambiance.

Elevators - too dated, cramped and took forever to service us.

Room is okay but not amazing - I couldn't remember anything that would make me excited to go back to this hotel.

Pool - Has a claustrophobic feel and looks unkempt.

Location is the only commendable aspect of this hotel.

I strongly recommend a massive renovation if they want to sustain their business.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Regina1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.1 km away
St Giles Makati Hotel
St Giles Makati Hotel
#29 of 86 in Makati
480 reviews
0.1 km away
The A.Venue Hotel
The A.Venue Hotel
#41 of 86 in Makati
742 reviews
0.1 km away
City Garden Hotel Makati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Artina Suites Hotel
Artina Suites Hotel
#27 of 86 in Makati
327 reviews
1.2 km away
One Pacific Place Serviced Residences
3.2 km away
aurumOne Makati Suites (formerly aurumOne Makati)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines

Address: 7835 Makati Avenue, Corner Eduque Street, Makati, Luzon 1209, Philippines (Formerly Berjaya Manila Hotel)
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 86 Hotels in Makati
Price Range: RM162 - RM257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently tucked away in the verdant city of Makati, Berjaya Makati Hotel sets in the hub of urban wealth showcasing abundance of West and East culture. Setting itself apart from the others, the hotel not only gives easy accessibility to shopping malls but also to business trading in Manila. BERJAYA MAKATI HOTEL OPENS 3 NEW EXECUTIVE FLOORS. Berjaya Makati Hotel continues to offer its guests only the best hotel experience with the opening of three more floors boasting of 33 deluxe-level rooms.From having 179 rooms, the hotel will now have a total of 212 rooms with the opening of three new floors in July. Berjaya Makati Hotel, one of the recent players in Makati City’s bustling hotel industry which is currently enjoying robust growth and a steady influx of guests, now gives more options to visitors who are more discriminating with their choices.The new rooms, located on the 23rd, 24th and 25th floors of Berjaya Makati Hotel, have complete amenities at par with accommodations in pricier hotels. With the recent addition of 33 premium accommodation options, Berjaya Makati Hotel intensifies its mission of providing only the best to its guests, in line with the global hotel chain’s tradition of giving memorable experiences worth coming back to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HotelQuickly so you can book your Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Manila
Manila Best Western
Best Western Makati
Makati Best Western
Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing