We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel in Reunion Island.”
Review of Hotel Le Recif

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Recif
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2015

This has been my second time visiting Reunion. My stay at the Le Recif hotel was average. If I honestly needs to rate this hotel it would be average. The location of the hotel is good. The service at the hotel is ok as I feel they try their best. The rooms is ok although not big. The big turn down of the hotel is the internet which is slow. The foods at the restaurants is not good and very limited. I generally like local creole cuisine but did not enjoy the food at this facility. The lack of in room dining facilities is also terrible, You are ofrced to go to the restaurant. The cats which is roaming freeling at breakfast and dinner is very bad. As someone who is allergic to cats and also from a hygienic point I do not enjoy eating with cats runnion around and when I get up to dish get on the tables.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank henmo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent G, Direction de l'Hôtel Le Récif at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2015

Dear "henmo67",

Many thanks for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us.

We are very sorry to hear of your disappointments with your dinner. We most certainly should have offered you replacements for those dishes that you felt did not meet your expectations.
Please be assured that your comments have already been followed up, espacelially concerning the cats.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again to make you change your mind.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 28 of 1,406 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2015

A good place to relax after touring the east coast and central areas of the island, with the option to explore more of the island like a round trip, exploring the south.
Recover in the air conditioned hotel room, at the beach, at one of the pools, enjoy the good breakfast, spend a peaceful evening on your balcony or terrace.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent G, Direction de l'Hôtel Le Récif at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2015

Dear "Robert L",

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay with us at Le Récif.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be passing on your feedback to our team very shortly.We pride ourselves on the best service we always try to offer so we are delighted that we met your expectations.

Please do come and stay with us again soon.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2015

We had a sea-side superior room on the first floor.
The check in was very fluent. The room was already vacant at 11 AM.
The breakfast was buffet style with a lot of choice (eggs, cheese, cereals, fruit,...)
When we where there it was very quiet.
There are some good restaurants in the area, even on the beach.
We started here our trip through La Reunion, and it was a good idea...

Room Tip: every room on the first floor on sea side (426 was good)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phille133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent G, Direction de l'Hôtel Le Récif at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2015

Dear Valued "phille133",
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed our stay with us and that it was a good start for your trip through the island.
We hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you again soon!
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2015

The hotel was not too bad. Food was a little disappointing however the rooms were neat and tidy. The beach is unfortunately across the road from the hotel through pine trees. Would recommend viewing the sunset though it's spectacular.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AfricanNomad1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent G, Direction de l'Hôtel Le Récif at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2015

Dear Valued "AfricanNomad1985",

Thank you for leaving a review about our hotel after your stay with us in Nov. 2014.

We are sorry we did not completely meet your expectations concerning the food.

We indeed are not directly on the beach : our customers have to cross a narrow sandy road and walk 30m. But the georgous sunsets are worth that short walk, arent' they?

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

All the best and safe future travels,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2015

I had to move to this hotel after a stay of 7 day in the Lux* (5*****)
Maybe because I stayed in a higher class hotel the days before that I was not too happy with Le Recif.
Room are rather small as is the bathroom. Pool is good but small (and cold). No service or chairs on the beach.
Breakfast is ok but don’t expect too much. Service is very good and friendly except for the (Indian) management who treats the staff badly and looks down to the customers.
I never tried the restaurant since there was absolute nothing to eat for me, being a vegetarian.
I gave some laundry to the hotel but afterward I had better bought new stuff since the price for the laundry was more that the clothing was worth.
In September the hotel was rather empty, but still the parking was full all the time. I’m afraid that if the hotel is full you must park your car somewhere else…
In short: No a bad hotel but if I have other options I would go there!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent G, Direction de l'Hôtel Le Récif at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2015

Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you very much for posting your thoughts on your recent stay with us.

We were disappointed to discover that your stay at le Récif*** was far below our usual standards.

We have taken all your feedbacks and comment onboard to help delivery a brilliant service the other guest that come after you.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains hotels
2.5 km away
LUX* Saint Gilles
LUX* Saint Gilles
#1 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
2,678 reviews
1.1 km away
Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles
Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gill...
#11 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
853 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Boucan Canot
Hotel Boucan Canot
#4 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
Residence l'Archipel
Residence l'Archipel
#6 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
276 reviews
4.1 km away
Le Saint Alexis Hotel & Spa
Le Saint Alexis Hotel & Spa
#7 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
565 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Les Creoles
Hotel Les Creoles
#3 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Recif? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Recif

Address: 50 Avenue de Bourbon, Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains 97434, Reunion Island
Region: Reunion Island > Arrondissement of Saint-Paul > Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
#3 Family Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
#4 Business Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Price Range: RM527 - RM1,920 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Recif 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Recif reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Hotel Du Recif
Hotel Le Recif Reunion Island/Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing