We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveller rating
147
142
44
11
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
142
44
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no elevator breakfast room nevsky prospekt flights of stairs characterful hotel small sign third floor carry your luggage excellent location walking distance small lobby historical building hard boiled eggs apartment building georgian restaurant yogurt porridge
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 354 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2017

Art hotel Rachmaninov is a 3-star mini hotel in the historic centre of St Petersburg just behind the Kazan Cathedral and few steps from the Nevsky Prospect – the main street in St Petersburg. Main interest points: Hermitage, Russian Museum, Faberge Museum, Canal and City tours, shopping centres and restaurants - are just in walking distance.
The hotel itself has all basic amenities. Having experience with different hotels over the world incl. 5 stars – I would certainly recommend this hotel, because of its unique character. True, the rooms are tiny, you might have to jump over the bed to get your suitcase, but all this is compensated by excellent location, fair pricing and extraordinary common rooms. The breakfast room - with small balcony and the view to the Kazan Cathedral, piano, authentic furniture and oil paintings - is exquisite. The breakfast was ok too and they served decent coffee (espresso, cappuccino, Americano) on request.
In the corridors there was an exhibition of original modern art and installations and paintings on the doors which gave a wonderful feeling (especially compared to some cheap reproductions hanged on the walls of 5 star hotels).
There are some large rooms also but unfortunately these were all booked. It seemed that this hotel is very popular and almost full-booked.

Room tip: Try to get a larger room
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sakilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachmaninov_Hotel, Администратор at Rachmaninov Art-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear Sakilla!
Yes, we are indeed very popular so the next time you plan to come and visit us, please make a reservation in advance so that we could give you the best room we have - Rachmaninov room, a huge beautiful room with a cabinet, its own balcony and amazing furniture from Nabokov's family. We are sure you will be impressed even more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

We have gotten the best room available (Rachmaninov room), wich was more of an apartment than a room. The upside is the friendly staff, the downside, and pay attention to this, it is located at the third floor of an old building, no lift, so if you have difficulties climbing stairs, forget it. Another thing they could improve is the front door, went I got there, I almost change my mind as it look decrepit, but inside is much better. Another tip, if this is your first time in the town, do not dare to try to tour it by yourself, I was lucky to be in a group of friends and with tour guides hired.There are so many fantastic things to be seen spread all over considerable distances that by yourself you will be lost and waist your time and money and end up not seeing most of things.

Room tip: Choose Rachmaninov room
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rodbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachmaninov_Hotel, Администратор at Rachmaninov Art-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Dear Rodbm, we are very pleased with your feedback and your opinion is very important for us because it will help us improve our service. Thank you for warm words and we will be happy to see you again at our hotel. Best wishes, Yana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

this is a lovely cosy hotel that is very close to where you need to be......rooms are quirky and their lounge is nice....the receptionists are all nice with some speaking better english than others.....many restaurants and bars within walking distance....it is up a couple of flights of stairs and there is no elevator....metro within 5 min walk.....

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mathew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachmaninov_Hotel, Администратор at Rachmaninov Art-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Dear Matew, thank you for your review. It was really pleasant to hear such warms words from you and we will be happy to see you again. Best wishes, Yana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

The location of this hotel is convenient for sightseeing--for walking and using the Metro. The young women who manage the front desk/reception speak very good English, are very helpful and friendly, and made our stay most enjoyable. They responded to our email requests for information needed to obtain our visa promptly and professionally. They arranged for our driver from the airport, the driver to the train station and even recommended and made a reservation at a restaurant for us. They are GEMS! The breakfast was nicely presented, abundant, with a variety of choices, and some variance each day. It was convenient for us that breakfast was served until 11:00am. We stayed on the same floor as reception in the first room. It was roomy for 2 people. We liked the view. Probably, the only disadvantage is that the hotel is on the 3rd floor of the building and there is no elevator. However, our taxi driver from the airport carried our bags upstairs to reception and didn't wait for a second to be tipped When we left, a hotel person carried our bags downstairs to our waiting taxi. We stayed about five days--it felt like home. When we had a visitor we used the breakfast room to visit. We also used it one evening when we had a lot of computer work to do and wanted a larger table to work on. Wifi worked. Water was hot. The room was warm (it was very cold when we were there). We were there during the Christmas holiday and the rate was double for a couple of the days. The general rate was quite reasonable for the comfort and enjoyment we experienced. Must add: Excellent location! No formal concierge; however they provided us the same service as one.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Josetta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachmaninov_Hotel, Администратор at Rachmaninov Art-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Dear Josetta, thank you very much for your kind words. This is really important for us. We are happy to know you enjoyed staying here. Best wishes, Yana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Our local guide company suggested a short list of hotels and we chose this one. First impression was poor, arriving at a large metal door and a crumbling flight of stone steps, but we had a warm welcome and realised the steps were preserved as a memory of Rachmaninov who once lived there. We had chosen a modest room and it was fine, clean, quiet and with a comfortable bed. Breakfast was ok and the one evening meal was acceptable, but overall the atmosphere, price and excellent location for the places we wanted to see made it a very good choice.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews