We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$117
US$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
US$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redstar Culture Hotel(Hangzhou)(Great Value!)
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
US$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$299
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
28
41
11
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
41
11
10
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2014

I had the unfortunate experience of staying at this hotel for 6 nights. Nothing worked - not phone,WiFi,TV,torch,room safe…… The room was in the VIP section in a building separate from the main one. The room was designated non-smoking but reeked of smoke and had not been dusted or cleaned properly. Towels were dirty,hot water tepid and English almost entirely unspoken. Whatever the event I hope to never have to experience this caliber of hotel again.
Most guests I encountered expected a view of the Westlake - there is a hill view but definitely no lake nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daphne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2014 via mobile

nice rooms, not very clean. The whole building has muffy/smokey-air (ashtrays in the room). emptying bathtub leaks on bathroom floor. wifi most of the time too weak. cable mostly ok. we stayed 5 nights. the first 3 mornings i asked for a bowl and a spoon to put in the nice selection of cereals and used my pocket knife to spread the butter. day 4 and 5 I knew where to get them myself in the other room. the Western and Chinese buffet are extensive with good food, I only missed cold milk for the cereals.
Unfortunately I needed to send a letter: their hotel-booklet says, bring it to the desk. The desk-staff says: "very sorry, no stamps". they could not help. The name says "International", but only very few of the ample employees speak a Western language and these very limited. The banquet dinner for 200+ guests was chaotic, as the buffet with good and ample (Chinese and some Japanese) food is not organized.

Stayed: November 2014
Thank ghbonu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We booked for a two day stay. We were upgraded - God help those who receive a basic room! The first room was freezing cold and stank of cigarette smoke, the glass sliding door onto the terrace was broken (off its rails) and all in all, very poor. The next room we got was a better location (on 2nd floor) but it was like an oven (obviously air con not turned on as it was supposedly empty which is understandable), the view was awful - onto domestic backyards with their shabby sheds etc - didn't matter because the blind didn't work anyway so it stayed firmly unopened so there was only filtered daylight. The room was truly filthy - a discarded medication tablet on the bathroom floor which had been there for a long time - covered in fluff and dirt.
Dinner in the restaurant was execrable - literally, could not eat it so a complete waste of money. Staff helpful but totally unqualified and inept.
Breakfast - truly vomit-worthy. The room was filthy (dark carpet was encrusted with grime and old dirt/food), the buffet was really horrible, couldn't find on piece of crockery that wasn't chipped, tea cups came with no saucers. Cold food was hot, hot food was cold. In attempt to find some redeeming feature, I even tried a couple of dim sum - shenzhianbao and char shao bao - both inedible. Western food - indescribable! Mind you, the calibre of guest may be an explanation - shouting on mobile phones, feet on chairs, spitting in public......horrible.
We left a day early and the cost was well over RMB1,200. This is NOT an international hotel - staff quite willing but certainly not able. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Was there in a business trip and stayed from June 18 to June 23. What a disaster this place is. Had it not for the host of this trip paying for the rooms as I was in his Territory, would had left that instant I checked in. We were placed in the so called "VIP" building a few meters away from the main building. It was extremely hot this time of the year in Hangzhou with humidity of 99% and temperatures in the 40C or 95F range. The location of the hotel is a good 20 mins walk to the WEST LAKE. Upon entering the VIP building the air conditioning was no turned on and felt very unpleasant. I asked the front desk to check if the AC was working in this building and the response was they switch it on and off to conserve electricity. In other words, we dont have enough customers in the VIP building to warrant turning on the air conditioning. The room is another matter, the units were blowing out 'cool' wind not 'cold' as should be the case in this area and this time of the year. After complaining about how hot the rooms were, and the AC was already on when i entered, the room temperature gauge was never below 27C or approximately 82F. Needless to say aside from going there to sleep, I had to spent most of my time in the lobby of the main hotel. Why? you asked? well, according to their claim that wifi is available in the rooms, it only works in the hotel main building lobby and not anywhere else. What a joke! Be prepared to sit in a sauna like environment if you decide to have breakfast at their 2nd floor restaurant in the main buliding. They dont even turn the air on! After complaining that they need to have the AC on, the response was....it has been on for hours now. Not to my surprise there was no customers there except for me at 8:30am and I left immediately without eating as well.

As for the other reveiws about free drinks and beverages and snacks,,,there was nothing of that sort in the VIP building except an area where there are 2 coffee pot that are always empty and 2 cookie jars with stale cookies. Do yourself a favor and stay at the Hyatt or other chain hotels,,,avoid the Chinese brand hotels all together.

Room Tip: Stay away completely..
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cordonbleu99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Traveled alone, non-Chinese speaker, in Hangzhou for a December weekend after a business trip. This hotel is a couple blocks from the main street straddling part of Westlake; the hotel is about a 15-20 minute walk from Westlake with good walking paths. The rooms are beautiful, clean, and quiet --- some pictures attached (my camera is not good with artificial lighting, but you'll get the idea).

The staff was friendly and helpful, and had an English speaker (not with perfect understanding, but easily good enough) available each time I had questions, covering various times-of-day during my two day stay about questions involving restaurant recommendations, walking directions, Internet, and arranging a taxi.

The hotel restaurant was good also, with a nice mix of Chinese-specific items and selections I'd expect to see in the US.

If even I travel again to Hangzhou I would very gladly stay at the this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews