We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very confortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Century Hotel Xiaoshan
Ranked #64 of 2,437 Hotels in Hangzhou
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This hotel is very beautiful and confortable. You can find different kinds of restaurant inside the hotel (grill, caafe, chinese, japanese cuisine) and an excelente massage service - very profissional.
The room is very clean and confortable too. Very nice view.
The breakfast you can find many options of eastern and western food.
Internet Wifi in the lobby and with cable in the room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frezaque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2011

Visited the hotel in december 2011.Dont judge the hotel from the exterior look.It looks old but the inside is warm and welcoming.The staff is also very warm.The single room(for one person) is too small,even for one person.U feel cramped.But then I was upgraded to another room and the room for double is nice,good space.Bathroom ok,well equipped.Not as good as the 5 star branch "New world hotel".But i must say the dinner in the western cafe is really very good.Large variety and very well served and the breakfast is awesome.Much better than the 5star one.Too many varieties.You can easily skip lunch.The hotel is also equipped with a fitness room,though no swimming pool.But tennis table is free ,unlike other hotels.Overall,it was a nice stay and if i had to choose,well i will return back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saspire2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Centrally located at 20mins drive from Xiaoshan International Airport, close to the textile city of Hangzhou/Shaoxing, this is a very comfortable hotel to live into. Since you are in China do not expect any more English for conversation than the regular Good Mornings and Good Evenings. I was out of luck because the Italian restaurant was under renovation and for the american diner Chef was on leave. However the rooms are very comfortable and if you are on the higher floors you can expect to see the best skyline of Hangzhou.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanaindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Beware Rm 1017 (a business suite) at this hotel (see pictures)!

I traveled to China last week as the result of a speaking invitation. It was my first time in the country and our first two days in Shanghai could not have been better (I also rated the Shangri-La in Shanghai). However, it made us ill-prepared for what we faced at the New Century Hotel in Xiaoshan. The pictures that we had seen on line made it appear to be as nice as the "5 star" rating that it has on TripAdvisor, but our experience was quite different.

Our host (a Chinese consulting company) graciously booked a Business Suite so that my colleague/traveling companion could share my room on a roll-away bed and not have to pay for her own room. When we arrived at the hotel, we were pleased with the look of the hotel lobby and in fact, all of the common areas. They were very nicely decorated and maintained -- very clean and shiney. This in no way prepared us for the room that they were about to escort us to and leave us in. No sooner had the bell captain closed the door to my room, I turned to my colleague and said "They can't possibly expect us to stay in this room." Business Suite #1017 had absolutely no redeeming qualities, unless you count to the two very large boxes of wrapped condoms on the bathroom counter. Really!?!

That could only be topped by the open condom wrappers that we found in the bedside table drawers while we were hunting for the "Guest Services" guide. Despite having turned on every light, both rooms had a seedy, dingy look to them. On the other hand, if you review the pictures I posted with this review, you might agree that it was probably a blessing that the lights weren't any brighter. The room also positvely reeked of stale smoke odor.

We were traveling with a vendor-partner who is based in Singapore and has traveled to China several times. We asked him to come and take a look at our room to see if it was "standard fare" for the hotel and for China. Once he got a look, he admitted that although his own room was not great, it was about what he expected and certainly much better than ours. My primary panic at that moment was that if this hotel not only received 5 stars on TripAdvisor, BUT was also rated the #1 hotel in Hangzhou on TripAdvisor, what other options did we have?

I called downstairs for assistance and after several broken chinese/english minutes was transferred to the Assistant Manager. To her credit, she immediately came upstairs to see what our concerns were. I can't believe she could have been very surprised at what she found, as I would expect an Asst Mgr to be familiarized with his/her own guest rooms, particularly the 4 "Business Suites." She seemed to appreciate our concerns and asked if I would give her some time to see what else they had available.

I was almost positive at that point that the hotel would not be able to find anything we would be comfortable with, especially since some further investigating turned up a list of guest policies including guidelines for: using rooms by the hour, taking items from the room (full price list for each item in the room) and prohibiting card playing, etc.

About 10 minutes later, the Asst Mgr called from the 16th Floor and asked us to come and take a look at Room 1617. Happily, the difference between the two rooms was night and day. Although the condoms were still on the bathroom counter and the carpet would have benefitted from a good cleaning, the room had been significantly updated. In fact the creepy walk-in closet in Rm 1017 was actually a guest bath in Rm 1617.

One final word of caution...the "No Smoking Floor" on 16 is apparently more of a suggestion than a rule. As we were leaving the 16th floor with the Asst Manager to go and retrieve our luggage, a maintenance man got off the elevator with a cigarette and continued to smoke it as he walked down the hall and right past the Asst Mgr, who didn't say a word. We could also smell the smoke coming from a few other rooms from time to time. Still much better accommodations than the first room. I'd give our second room a solid "3."

In short, the common areas in the hotel were very nice, the service at the hotel was pretty good, the food was okay, but beware the guest room they put you in!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank wendywwBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017
Thank gercery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Shangcheng District
Bokai Business Hotel
Bokai Business Hotel
#734 of 2,437 in Hangzhou
75 reviews
East Railway Station
Huachen Kenzo Hotel
Huachen Kenzo Hotel
#1,124 of 2,437 in Hangzhou
161 reviews
Milan Hotel
#996 of 2,437 in Hangzhou
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Xiaoshan Hangzhou
#49 of 2,437 in Hangzhou
170 reviews
Xihu Resort
JI Hotel Hangzhou Xihu Kaiyuan Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Century Hotel Xiaoshan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Century Hotel Xiaoshan

Address: No.77 Renmin Road, Xiaoshan District, Hangzhou 311200, China
Region: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou > Xiaoshan Downtown , Xiaoshan District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 2,437 Hotels in Hangzhou
Price Range: RM224 - RM380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Century Hotel Xiaoshan 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Century Hotel Xiaoshan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing