We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
34
100
14
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
100
14
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This was a cheaper hotel for us but we were pleased with it after all. The location is fine but not as good as those near the lake. It is on a major road and a flyover was outside the window of our room. However with aircon on we slept well regardless as the traffic mainly keep going here and does not stop to toot their horns. If possible, ask for room near back though and not on the highway. Would be quieter. Needs double glazing to make it quieter. Room size is adequate we felt - not large but fine. Could offer free teabags, coffee etc.

We would have liked a non-smoking room as this one stunk of smoke, so if you don't like smoke, see if they have non-smoking ones - maybe not. The reception area does not allow smoking which is good but rooms did.

Staff did not speak English except manager who was nice guy.

The bathroom is glass so does not offer any privacy when in there.

The beds were really comfortable and the duvets were nice too.

Fairly basic but for price was a good option we felt.

Room Tip: Get one away from the flyover. See if they have non-smoking ones.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwaysunderway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We came here as we had seen good reviews. Our experience of the Elan wasn't a good one at all. People at reception didn't speak English (except for one guy who was quite nice) and didn't make an effort to be helpful or nice. The room wasn't very clean and when we arrived to the room the toilet was full of urine. It was a very small room and didn't think it was very clean. We had booked the room with breakfast and it turns out they ordered KFC. We told them in chinese (as my husband speaks some) that we were veggies and they didn't take notice. On the second day we didn't get anything! When we complained they kept us waiting for a long time whilst the girl at reception saw people that came after us and didn't sort anything out in the end. It is pretty central but still about 5 blocks away from the central area. We wouldn't stay here ever again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I booked two rooms in this hotel as my wife and I were traveling with her father. Another reviewer describes the hotel as cozy. Cozy meaning small. We booked a City View room. There was maybe 18 inches at the end of the bed to pass and 4-5 feet on either side of the bed. The toilet was in a glassed off nook on one side and the shower on the other side of the wall with the TV in between. The sink was on another wall in the room. In other words the space was tight. This room was very inexpensive and the staff was helpful. It is on a busy road that did quiet down at night some so it was not too hard to sleep. At some point, you get what you pay for and there is nothing wrong with this hotel but if I go to Guangzhou again I think I will pick another hotel.

Room Tip: You want a room away from the road.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbeachey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

The hotel has a cosy ambience and newly renovated rooms and toilets. It is located beside a very busy road and overhead highway. There is a bus-stop just 20 steps from its main entrance, and a bicycle-for-rent station about 50 steps away from the main entrance. The hotel is able to loan the cards needed to rent a bike. It is not within walking distance from the lake (maybe an hour or more to walk to the lake) but it is certainly reachable by cycling. There are some amenities and shops nearby but nothing fanciful. However, for the low price and clean cosy rooms, I think this place is certainly a good place for those on a budget and not requiring something that's too fussy.

Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
Thank tiara1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

What a find! Great facilities with budget price. The room is so much better than what we expected with the price that we paid. A bit antique but looks really classy i.e. beds are five star, free cable TV with up-to-date movies, roomy toilet/shower. We booked 3 rooms - 1 double, 1 twin and 1 single. All 5 of us are very satisfied. For double, it's really for couple as the bathroom door is the see-through type ;-) Will definitely stay in this chain of hotel if I visit Hangzhou again. A pity it's not found elsewhere in China.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeyean2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews