We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Place”

Kobe Animal Kingdom
Book In Advance
More Info
US$759.88*
and up
Private Kobe Custom One Day Tour by Chartered...
Ranked #2 of 511 things to do in Kobe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Park is in a series of warehouses/greenhouses adjacent to Portliner rail line (about 10 minute ride from Kobe-Sonnamiya station). Park provides several exhibits where you can get up close to several rare animals and even touch various animals (tortises, kangaroos, camels, llamas, etc.). The kids enjoyed interacting with the animals. There were various shows, including a bird show and dog show. These shows were unimpressive. The bird show included an owl, falcon, and parrots that flew back and forth between two trainers. The shows were completly in Japanese, but that's ok because you can get the jist of what's going on. But the birds kept missing their trainers and would fly into the nearby trees where they would need to be retrieved by trainers. The do show consisted of a dog herding sheep and three dogs retrieving frisbees. The dogs were not very well trained and I have seen better frisbee shows by normal dogs at local dog parks. So overall, the park was fun for a 2-3 hour experience, but don't expect the same level of expertise and training that you would see at animal shows in the US.

1  Thank honolulutraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
神戶動物王國, 営業 at Kobe Animal Kingdom, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for your reply.
This is our pleasure to have you visit here and had a good time here
Hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"bird show"
in 9 reviews
"petting zoo"
in 8 reviews
"love animals"
in 6 reviews
"guinea pigs"
in 5 reviews
"dogs and cats"
in 4 reviews
"mae station"
in 4 reviews
"animal lovers"
in 4 reviews
"hanging flowers"
in 3 reviews
"rare animals"
in 2 reviews
"feed the animals"
in 2 reviews
"small animals"
in 2 reviews
"friendly animals"
in 2 reviews
"various animals"
in 2 reviews
"children and adults"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful flowers"
in 3 reviews
"buffet restaurant"
in 2 reviews
"super fun"
in 2 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2018

One of the good places to go in Kobe after a fulfilling kobe beef meal. Kids loved it too. Have bird shows including different kids of owl. Easy access, just next to the metro

1  Thank J_Su_Mw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
神戶動物王國, 営業 at Kobe Animal Kingdom, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for your reply.
This is our pleasure to have you visit here and had a good time here
Hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

I never thought that there will be a "zoo" in Kobe, a busy city. This animal kingdom is just right besides the train, extremely to reach there.

The no. of species is numerous. Not only we can see the animals from south pole, we can also see animals from desert. It is the first time that I see a rabbit which the length of his body is longer than my arm.

The birds can fly freely while you are walking in the kingdom. Of course, a must visit for those that loves cats and dogs. They just lay on the chairs, tables and you can touch, scratch them as much as you want.

We spent more than 2 hours in there with just only 1500 yen per adult, I will come back again when I visit Kobe next time.

2  Thank SLauCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
神戶動物王國, 営業 at Kobe Animal Kingdom, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for your reply.
This is our pleasure to have you visit here and had a good time here
Hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018 via mobile

I highly recommend this place for kids, families and even couples. I loved the fact that we could get really up close and personal with the animals instead of just watching caged up animals from afar. This place surprised me as I've never been to an animal kingdom/zoo that has minimal barriers and allow animals to roam freely in the compound. They also provide many shows and activities that we could watch according to their schedule. A place that's really fun for anyone at all :)

2  Thank Christynlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
神戶動物王國, 営業 at Kobe Animal Kingdom, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for your reply.
This is our pleasure to have you visit here and had a good time here
Hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2018 via mobile

Visitors are allowed to interact with almost all animals here. The animals include dogs, cats, rabbits, guinea pigs, deers, kangaroos, sheep, camels, horses, alpacas and capybaras etc. The fact that you get to feed and interact with so many animals makes it so much better than any zoo can offer. There are shows throughout the day so there’s always something to see. Most of the enclosures are indoors, so you can enjoy your time even in the coldest times of the year. Food here is okay, which is slightly disappointing as the place is worth spending quite a few hours in order to get the full experience. The park is located some distance from Sannomiya, with nothing around except industrial buildings and institutions, so don’t expect to find food nearby.

Thank MelmanP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
神戶動物王國, 営業 at Kobe Animal Kingdom, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for your reply.
This is our pleasure to have you visit here and had a good time here
Hope to see you again soon.

((There has 4 restaurants at kobe animal kingdom, buffet of Forest, Wild Cats of curry, hamburger of Retriever, and snack and drink of Alpace cafe' shop.))

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kobe Animal Kingdom also viewed

Kobe, Hyogo Prefecture
 

Been to Kobe Animal Kingdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing