We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,395)
Filter reviews
3,395 results
Traveller rating
1,830
1,245
235
56
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,830
1,245
235
56
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station le temps granvia lounge department store station complex convenient location can't beat the location excellent location hotel restaurants large hotel high floor your doorstep city view kansai airport concierge service superior room easy access
Filter
Updating list...
1,805 - 1,810 of 3,395 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2009

I spent 2 nights in Kyoto with my parents and siblings. The location was perfect for our trip. We took the train to Kyoto and the hotel is right above the station. In addition to the train station, there are food and shopping close by.

The rooms were new and clean. Unfortunately, the hotel is very busy and the lobby is constantly crowded. There is usually a line for the concierge. But the staff is still friendly and eager to help.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_Sh0es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2009

Service exceptional. Rooms, property, convenience were all excellent. Restaurants plentiful, but expensive and unremarkable. Showers in room were amazing (yea, I know, sounds weird but you'd LOVE them). Ease of access to trains coming in/out of town and local services - like buses was great.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevcons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

This is probably the best hotel where I have stayed in the last 10 years. It is perfectly located, at the starting point of all public transports (train, subway, bus). Rooms are perfect, quiet, with a king size bed and with a beautiful view (ask for a room looking towards the center of the city, at a high floor). There are plenty of restaurants in the same complex, at all prices. There are three possibilities of hotel breakfast, including a healthy and delicious one at an italian restaurant. The quality of service is outstanding. You never wait for more than 1 minute at the reception desk, everyone is smiling and helpful and speaks English. High speed internet is available free of charge with no limitations in the rooms as well as in the big hall. When we left, the staff took us and our luggage down to the train. Arrival from Tokyo as well as from Osaka airport by train is in the complex of the hotel itself (you do not need to go outside, you just walk 100 meters in the station).

Definitely a gem !

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vidales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2009

Ideally located above main Kyoto station. good facilities and service and value for money. Ideal for people wanting a springboard to explore surrounding areas too. We hired bikes to cycle around the town so saving even more money.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sloughboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

I was thoroughly unimpressed with the Granvia, particularly because TripAdvisor raised my expectations sky-high.

Good:
Rooms were good sized.
Location is convenient when you arrive.

Bad:
-It takes about ten minutes to get from the lobby to your room because the place is so huge.
-Completely impersonal service and rooms.
-The location, while convenient to the trains, isn't close to anything that is special about Kyoto. Expect to have to ride the subway or a bus to get anywhere except the mall.
-Nickel and diming is the name of the game.
-Expect a fight if you want a non-smoking room that doesn't stink of smoke

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emilyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews