We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveller rating
202
131
18
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
131
18
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspublic bathbean pasteprovided teakyoto stationwear yukatatop floorspeak simple englishquick bus ridetraditional dinnerryokan experiencetofu dishtatami matstea servicewarm servicetraditional japanese accommodationshabu shabubath house
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 358 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

Everything about the experience of staying here is relaxing and comfortable. The public bath had really nice amenities and I felt as refreshed as I do after a high end spa especially with their nice lotions. Staff was always really helpful and warm to us. Everything was clean and homey. Traditional Japanese breakfast was on time and warm and I got to try all kinds of Kyoto style tofu dishes before I even set outside for the day. A great find!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Debby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yadoryokufu, 広報担当マネージャー at Ryokufuso, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Debby C,
Firstly, thank you very much for choosing our ryokan "Ryokufuso" for your previous trip in Kyoto.
We are really glad to receive your review with detail and your impressions.

By seeing your review with impressions, it is our honor that you have liked our services and hospitality
As we are "ryokan", your understanding of this cultural experience would be our source of being a "ryokan".
Again, many thanks for your kindness and special support.
And, we are very much looking forward to seeing you again by any chance.

Yours sincerely,
Kyoto Friendly Ryokan
-Ryokufuso-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

Out of all the places I stayed at in Japan, I made a mental note to write a review for Ryokufuso. It was cool to stay in a traditional Japanese room, but the food was the star. I knew breakfast and dinner was included and that it was part of the experience, but I was quite ignorant of the 10-course kaiseki meal we were about to experience... and it was amazing. Given the quality of the food, the value was a steal. On top of that the absolutely wonderful people that run this place here... who are there to serve you at night, then there in the morning for breakfast. They were all genuinely nice and spoke great English... not to mention the public bath. What a great thing to soak at the end of a day of looking at Temples in the relentless Kyoto sun. Highly recommend this wonderful Ryokan.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bonnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yadoryokufu, 広報担当マネージャー at Ryokufuso, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Bonnie H,

Thank you very much for your previous stay at our ryokan.
And, we are really glad to receive a review with your truly kind impressions.

By receiving your review, we are pleased to know that you have satisfied with our meals, location and public bath. And it is our honor that you have mentioned about our service and hospitality which are the our ryokan's concept as its serving a "friendly" traditional service and hospitality.
Again, many thanks for choosing our ryokan for your wonderful culture experiences in Kyoto.

Yours sincerely,
Kyoto Friendly Ryokan
-Ryokufuso-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

This was my first time staying in a Ryokan. We had a great experience here. The ryokan is clean and comfortable with friendly staff. The onsen is good, has a nice view of the city and is open early and late.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sdlynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yadoryokufu, 広報担当マネージャー at Ryokufuso, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Dear sdlynx,

Firstly,
Thank you very much for choosing our ryokan for your first experience of staying a "ryokan" .
And, it is certainly our honor to have your review with great impressions.
Your kind review would definitely be a source information of knowing our ryokan for world-travelers.

Thank you again, and we wish you to stay our ryokan on your next trip in Kyoto.

Best regards,
Kyoto Gobal Friendly Ryokan
RYOKUFUSO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018

Read the reviews prior to booking and everything is accurate. Here my two cents.

It was raining and they offered umbrellas. Pretty typical of Japanese hospitality. However on check out when we were returning the umbrellas we had borrowed, they insisted we take them. Also have is towels for our journey.

So friendliness and hospitality is really good. Location for bus stop is perfect to see the sights. The public bath is decent and we preferred it to the one in the room because of the space.

Don't expect 5 star but you will definitely get 5 star service

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Utpal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yadoryokufu, 広報担当マネージャー at Ryokufuso, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Dear Utpal D,

First of all,
Thank you very much for choosing our ryokan for your wonderful trip in Kyoto, Japan.
We are truly honor and pleased to receive a review and knowing your impression about your stay.
Our service which includes Japanese style facility, amenity, scent, atmostpheres, meals and hospitality are based on our culture which have been loosing in this modern life.
For being a "ryokan" Japanese style accommodation, your review is one of the most valuable thing for us and it will be the source of our dedication.

We thank you again for your kindness, and wishing to welcome you again by any chance.

Best regards,
Global Friendly Ryokan near Kyoto station..
RYOKUFUSO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

Ryokans are a must stay when you are in Kyoto. Since we were traveling between several cities - we really wanted to get the traditional Japanese experience and came across Ryokufuso.

We took the bus from the train station and it dropped us off almost out front. Very easy to get to and was in a great location. We just ended up walking to most places.

The staff was amazing and so helpful. They gave great recommendations on places to eat and visit. They were also very helpful with directions and transportation.

I didn't get a chance to go to the baths, but my friend did and he really enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yadoryokufu, 広報担当マネージャー at Ryokufuso, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Dear Mindy T,
First of all, thank you so much for your previous stay in our ryokan.
And we are pleased to receive a review with your truly kind impressions with mentioning your experiences of staying our ryokan.
It is one of the valuable thing for us and we will certainly consider of improvement that we need to make.
Our guest's review often tell us how we can maintain "ryokan" for more foreign friendly accommodation.
Thank you so much for your kind mentioning about our ryokan's service and the reason of choosing our ryokan, and other fine points of our facility.
We hope you to choose our ryokan again for your next trip in Kyoto.

Best wishes,
Kyoto "Friendly" Ryokan RYOKUFUSO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews