We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ryokan Ugenta
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan 
View Hotel
Ryokan 
Hirobun(Kyoto)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Hiroya(Kyoto)
View Hotel
Ryokan 
View Hotel
Ryokan 
Tochigiku(Kyoto)
View Hotel
Ryokan 
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Kuramaso(Kyoto)
View Hotel
Ryokan 
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Chatani(Kyoto)
View Hotel
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
14
9
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
9
2
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I have stayed in many ryokans in Japan, and I have to say that Ugenta is one of my top experiences. The design is not quite like a traditional ryokan but a fascinating blend of classic Japanese and contemporary modern design. The blend is seamless and it worked very well. While the design of this ryokan is modern, the service is old-school Japanese, which is to say, excellent.

Ugenta is situated in a 2-storey building along the Kibune road (and next to the river). Kibune is a small road-side town which has interesting shops and small restaurants, and it is lovely to wander about after visiting the shrine. It will probably take all of one hour to do that, so the ryokan is perfect for a getaway to do “nothing”. Of course there is the forest trail which goes up over the hill to Kurama (and other lovely temples) but again you can do that in less than 2 hours at a very slow pace (from Kibune to Kurama, and back).

We were provided with a complimentary pick-up from Kokusai Kaikan station (less than 30 mins from Kyoto Station) and from there to Ugenta it took about 20 minutes. Check-in was done in the room and we were served matcha and sweets.

Dinner was amazing – a 9-course meal of amazing presentation and meticulous cooking. I requested for a no-meat menu (fish is ok) and it was done very well. Plenty of spring vegetable, roots and flowers were used in the meal.
The wine and sake list was impressive though a little pricey (expected).

We chose the Western room. The other room is the Japanese room which is only slightly bigger. Both rooms have a private “rooftop” bath and shower, and there is nothing quite like soaking in a hot tub looking at the forest in the privacy of the ryokan. I even spotted a wild deer!
The Western room has many George Nakashima pieces (dining table, chairs, sofa, sofa table) – all very tastefully put together. It isn’t like some hotels with jarring designer pieces which gives one the sense that they are trying too hard, if you know what I mean.
The bathroom was superb – very spacious with large windows overlooking the forest. Soap and shampoo are from Lanvin, and the facial set is from Shiseido.
We didn’t use the fireplace as it wasn’t cold enough.

The service, like I mentioned earlier, was excellent. They helped us make dinner reservations in Kyoto for the next day, and accommodated our last-minute request to check out a little later than planned. The next morning, we were given a information print-out of an onsen at Kurama just because the night before we asked if there were any onsen in the area! It reminded me of the impeccable, they-know-what-you-want-even-before-you-know-it service I experienced at the Mandarin Oriental Tokyo.

I’ll go back to Ugenta again in a heartbeat if I could!

Room Tip: Western or Japanese will be just as good. The Japanese has a bigger indoor bathtub, and the dining table is "sunken in", whereas the Western room has a "normal-height" dining table and a fireplace.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank greenflubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We booked the Western-style room and I - not having done any homework - was amazed to find original George Nakashima works being used as ordinary furniture: dining table and chairs, settee, coffee table, credenza...all beautifully kept, yet sporting the inevitable scratches and marks of daily use.

The room actually comprises the upper two stories of a 3-storey building. Large picture windows offer galllery-like views of the ryokan's carpark, adjoining road, river and the area beyond which slopes upwards to the ridge separating Kibune from the huge Kurama temple-complex. Walking back from the latter involves a picturesque 2-hour hike; in our case, it was snow-covered and uniquely enjoyable, almost spiritual.

Service is impeccable and the food is as good as a Michelin-starred (or two) restaurant's.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms to choose from. Each is self-contained and very private.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank biketrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Ugenta offers the best ryokan room that I have ever been to. Detailed design in the room and the gorgeous food, not to mention the breathtaking onsen tubs on the top of the building.

Kibune is definitely worth visiting, and don't miss out Ugenta if you happen to be in Kibune :)

Room Tip: There are only two rooms at Ugenta. Either one will give you a perfect ryokan experience.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccc_1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

This ryokan was the highlight of our Japan trip... We stayed at Four Seasons, Peninsulas etc, but this was truly an experience. we had the Japanese room (there are only two rooms - one traditional and one western style) -- and we enjoyed it sooo much.

The food was to die for - but I guess for food lovers of the Japanese cuisine! Not for beginners...

The service was more than amazing as we had it basically all to ourselves! I wish we could return to Japan and to Ugenta.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tkvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

This place is 45Mins Approx from Kyoto Train Station, Along the car journey to your destination you follow the path of the main river with beautiful tree's and other scenery which will change from city to rural as you get closer to this destination.

The Ryokan is set along side a riviene at is both calming and scenic.

Its a great place if you want to just get away from it all and relax.
There are 2 rooms there a western style room or tradional Japanese room.
We stayed in the traditional Japanese room and it was massive.
Over 2 Floors you have 2 Hot tubs (1 in and 1 outside)
A balcony that over looks the riviene and a bedroom with tatami mats and duvets (Very comfortable)

The ground floor has a sunken table as a centrepiece with heated floor for your feet.
The room has airconditioning and a state of the art electronic toilet (with seat warmer of course). Also a TV but dont expect to receive too many channels or CNN or BBC News etc. Its not that kind of place.

The top floor has a cd player and a computer although everything is in Japanese but they can convert some of it into english. But you can connect your laptop to the LAN cable.

You need to have a fairly good understanding of the Japaese language as the staff here do not speak too much english but are very very helpful. From the time you check in to when Breakfast and dinner is being served it is all done with great care and respect.

Breakfast and Dinner is included and breakfast can be Continental English or Traditional Japaese (Fish Rice Miso etc)

Dinner is a long 1-2 hour affair with approx 10 courses served individually.
Amazing presentation of food and amazing original Japaenese flavours of food. Thi is real Authentic Rural Japan.

Worth the money and worth the experience.

There is not much around the long hill side, a pottery shop at the bottom a few traditional restaurants and also a beautiful temple.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tell_It_Like_It_Is_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews