We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Cozy place in a historic town”
other travellers have booked this property
House Front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House Front
Entrance Living room/Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
House Front
Entrance
Living room/Kitchen
Japanese style main room
Bedroom
Hallway/Stairs
Utility room
Bath room
Toilet
Ninenzaka & Sannenzaka slope- 1 minute walk
Kiyomizu dera temple - 10 minutes walk
Yasaka Shrine, Gion - 10 minutes walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Nattayah
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“A Cozy place in a historic town”
Reviewed 1 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

The place was more than we expected. It was clean and comfy. The design was very nice and we could get the feel of a modern japanese living space. It was located near bus stops, sub way station and convenient stores so it is not difficult to get around or grab late night snacks. But most importantly, Nobu San, the host was very helpful and friendly. We were impressed by his info leaflets that include buses arrival time, maps of how to get around Kyoto and maps of the restaurants around the area together with their specialty and budgets!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael E
Olympia, Washington, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delightful House in Great Location”
Reviewed 9 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We (me, spouse and sister) spent 3 nights here. House is ~900 yen taxi ride from Kyoto station and Akiko met us at nearby taxi stop. The house is 800 meters from Kiyomizu-dera temple area and convenient to taxi-stop and bus stop on major street. We walked to the temple and then northwards through scenic areas. Other days, we took the bus to major sightseeing areas.

The house was well equipped. My wife and I enjoyed sleeping on futons in the upstairs tatami room while my sister slept in the western style bedroom. The host supplied well written (with pictures!) documentation for the appliances. Of course, in Kyoto one does not spend much time in the house. We brewed coffee and made toast for breakfast and then enjoyed remainder of our meals out and about. However, the well equipped kitchen and western-style dining room would have made dining-in quite easy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and amenities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton
Reviewed 15 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brisbane Australia
Reviewed 11 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Warongkek
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What more can I say?”
Reviewed 22 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

What else can I write when every words I have in mind have been taken.

Anyway, I was the only thorn among four roses putting up in this lovely "almost traditional little" house for a week.

"Almost " because my mind wander aloud whether they use electrical stove in those day. What a convenience this invention warmed many a Japanese meals sourced from
a Fresco convenient store nearby.

Although the bathroom and toilet are separated by frosted glass, personally I would have preferred better privacy, Many a time, out of respect for the roses (or rather my need to enjoy greater privacy), I have to switch on standby mode.

Heartfelt thanks, Nobu san, for making the house so perfect for our stay in Kyoto.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Futon bed
Liked least: The doors of the bathroom and toilet
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing