We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant”
other travellers have booked this property
House Front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House Front
Entrance Living room/Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
House Front
Entrance
Living room/Kitchen
Japanese style main room
Bedroom
Hallway/Stairs
Utility room
Bath room
Toilet
Ninenzaka & Sannenzaka slope- 1 minute walk
Kiyomizu dera temple - 10 minutes walk
Yasaka Shrine, Gion - 10 minutes walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
carlyrose...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Nene Kyoto house was absolutely perfect for us travelling with our 9 & 11 year olds.

It is so spacious and absolutely charming in the most convenient location to Temples, shrines, restaurant and shops. The walk from the house to Kiyomizu is a treat in itself.

The house is well equipped and traditional in style which is what we wanted. The beds although on the floor had mattress toppers and the linen was beautiful quality and incredibly soft!

Nobu San is a superb host - spending time explaining everything to us even the bus time table should we need it.

Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Loved the style of the house and the location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole945...
Danville, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in November 2014

This review was long overdue...
We arrived at night in a taxi and was so nervous, but Nobu was there to check us in. The process was fast and simple. By morning, we were amazing what a gem we found.

The traditional home was a treasure... situated behind the tourist area...

Enjoyed it, loved it, loved it.

We are planning to come back soon and we will definitely be looking for this place again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the house itself
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raquel P
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect house”
Reviewed 12 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I highly recommend this house, it's the appropriate place for a family with kids, very well located, in a quiet street 10 min walking to Kiyomizu Temple

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCD76
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Nene house, perfect location for exploring Kyoto!”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of three were very pleased to stay in Nobu Takahashi’s Kyoto Nene house for six days and nights in October, 2015, and we cannot recommend it highly enough.

Nobu’s 2-story house is roomy, very thoughtfully laid out, and is a delightful combination of traditional Japanese old-fashioned charm and modern, up-to-date convenience. Its two stories afford the separation and privacy sometimes desired by multiple generations with different sleep patterns up at different times of the day and night.

But the very best thing about Nobu’s House is its location: only a few feet away from one of the most spectacular parts of old Kyoto, and one of the prime tourist and shopping parts of town.

We also found it very convenient to the Kyoto bus lines, for our daily explorations of Kyoto and as the first, connecting, leg towards other nearby places like Himeji and Nara, reached by Shinkansen or local train.

The neighborhood Nobu’s house stands within is very friendly, low-key, quiet and livable- the perfect antidote to the claustrophobia of more built-up parts of Kyoto. There are charming restaurants nearby, but more important to us were the plentiful grocery stores open at convenient hours only a few minutes walk away down the hill.

We felt right at home the entire time we stayed at Nene house, and feel that anyone else
contemplating a visit to Kyoto would be crazy to think of staying anywhere else. Thank you Nobu for making our stay to Japan so memorable and we hope to see you again.

Dillons, Los Angeles California

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Prime location and house amenities
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whyask58
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What is your value?”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

if your values are close to me
You'd rate it like me

Yet
We're different
Most of us

Before Kyoto visit
How old are you
Did you ever live in a wooden house
Did you like it

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$150
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing