We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Random but comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Green Peace in Kyoto
Ranked #260 of 410 Speciality lodging in Kyoto
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Hard to find from the rail station, but not so far once we got directions from a local.

Conveniently located near botanical gardens and bus routes which made it easy to get around
Also a pharmacy an supermarket and postie nearby. We had to go to the postie to withdraw cash as th local atm s and banks don't accept the UK credit cards we had with us.

This is quite a run down.homestay kind of place in need of a good clean and update. The owner was lovely though, very helpful with local attractions and also left us a note for our arrival, saying if we were early to go ahead and use the room and facilities and meet her later that charities us well.

There is a small kitchen area on each floor, though a little grubby it's useful for hot drinks and toast.

Th place was busy when we went, lots of people staying for a long time, nit the most social of places to stay.

All in all the places was fine, basic and not fantastically clean but you get what you pay for.

The WiFi here was super fast too btw

Room Tip: Upstairs seemed quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwenhwyfar_Ifanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

But may be a place for you! It's basic, old but clean enough, it's comfortable Japanese sleeping style in a very quiet neighborhood, a fan, AC for an extra Y200/ day. And you have most of what you need, TV room, Wifi, washing machine, equiped kitchen, bicycle to use, bus and metro close by.
But...Why not for us? The place is like a kindergarten, rules for everything and papers everywhere, on the walls, on the doors, on the pipes, on the fridge...What to do, How to use, Why this and that, how to go or when to flush the toilet... etc. But may be some needs that because even with so many notes they don't do it.
Why? Because we have hard time with all that cooking smell filling our room from the 2 kitchens, one of it upstair in front of us, (Could be a complete bath at the place of it)
Why? 20 rooms/40 people and only 1 squat toilet upstair in a space of 60x60 cm on a platform of 50 cm; an exercice in itself.. Just next to us, almost felt like they were peeying in our room. And the washing sink in the kitchen, next to the stove, some were using the kitchen sink to brush their teeth or wash their hands after their business.....Discusting!
Why? Downstairs 1 toilet and 1 shower... In 15 years on the road, we never had to do the line every day to be able to take a shower.
If you look for the price 30$/2pers it's your place, you can share with tourist and half permanent people.

Room Tip: The place is easy to find almost at the end of the metro line, stop #2. It will cost you Y280 every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Road20years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Cannot relate to bad reviews as my partner and I had a really comfortable 5 night stay here. While no fancy hotel, the guesthouse was clean - not a single bug and the rooms (we stayed in a private double) were spacious with comfortable futons and storage space and a fan. The aircon was efficient and a very small fee for a whole week. The manager was friendly and helpful when we arrived and the guesthouse seemed popular with other guests. For the price I was extremely satisfied. Only 5 mins from subway which takes you to kyoto in very little time. Stay here if you want a real japanese experience in a quiet friendly neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grogansmash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I stay at Green Peace for months on end whenever I'm in the Kansai region. Most recently I stayed from November 1 to February 1, and it remains a great little deal in the expensive city of Kyoto.
Great location, especially if you're looking for a quiet and more serene atmosphere than hotels in city center.
The house is on the older/dated side and it can sometimes be kind of dirty. But the cleanliness level depends completely on how considerate or inconsiderate the other house guests are.The manager has a cleaning woman come a few times a week, but guests are still expected to clean up after themselves and be mindful of others. So the quality of your stay here is kind of a luck of the draw as to whether or not other travelers during your stay are mindful of keeping common areas clean.
The manager really is a sweet woman; always a kind greeting and smile. During the holidays she even made a traditional homemade New Year's soup and delivered it to each guest to eat in their room. A very kind woman who is doing her best to keep her guesthouse running smoothly.
All in all, it's a simple place to sleep and keep your stuff while you go out and enjoy Kyoto.

Room Tip: There are a few cats, so be mindful of that if you have allergies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KyotoHana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

This is not a fancy three star hotel: it is a guesthouse! Many local guests stay here for a long-term, looking for a job or starters. The landlady herself lives here too, opposite the common living room. Good kitchen facilities, nice neighboorhood (lots of students and education-related-individuals)

Room Tip: this place is often sold out, so book ahead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lefebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#19 of 396 in Kyoto
921 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#14 of 396 in Kyoto
3,120 reviews
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#9 of 396 in Kyoto
2,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 396 in Kyoto
627 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Peace in Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Peace in Kyoto

Address: 14-1 Shibamoto-cho, Matsugasaki, Sakyo-ku, Kyoto 606-0913, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Hotel Style:
Ranked #260 of 410 Speciality lodging in Kyoto
Price Range: RM82 - RM123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Peace offers both dormitory and private rooms. Minimum stay is 3 days. Dormitory, single private, double private. Coin washer. Free shared kitchen and bath facilities. Common area includes TV/VCR and coin internet. In room Internet for fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Green Peace in Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing