We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Nearby Hotels
US$300
US$212
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$380
US$235
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$481
US$235
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$465
US$213
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kanra Kyoto(Kyoto)
US$566
US$482
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
US$253
US$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Ryokan 
US$328
US$248
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Monterey Kyoto(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
US$411
US$208
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$330
US$278
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Ryokufuso(Kyoto)
US$324
US$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Reviews (2,560)
Filter reviews
2,560 results
Traveller rating
1,522
763
195
54
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,522
763
195
54
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssanjusangendo templenational museumtouzan barken yokoyamatrattoria settecomplimentary taxijapanese restaurantmk taxiconcierge deskbeautiful hoteltrain stationthe general managera short taxi ridewet roomzen gardenwestern style hoteldeluxe room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 2,560 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Outstanding in every aspect-food, accommodations and service. Location was very good as well-easy to get to Kyoto train station and to most attractions. Taxi’s were always easily available to get to sights.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank C8204PRbarbarag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKyoto2018, Guest Experience Manager at Hyatt Regency Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear C8204PRbarbarag,

Thank you so much for your recent stay with us and I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Hyatt Regency Kyoto. We appreciate your kind compliments about our service, food and guest room.

We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to Kyoto in the not-too-distant future.

Sincerely yours,
Jen Lee
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

Great hotel. The only issue is that it's pretty far (walking) from Kyoto station. For non-Japenese speakers like us, the buses were harder to navigate than the trains. The hotel is about 15-20mins walking from Kyoto station, so it was a little harder than we would have liked to get around. Overall though, the hotel was great.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Zanis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKyoto2018, Guest Experience Manager at Hyatt Regency Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Zanis M,

Thank you for staying at Hyatt Regency Kyoto and for taking the time to share your feedback.

Whilst I am absolutely delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us, I am equally concerned over your disappointment with the location. Our hotel is located in Higashiyama area, with some highlight of Kyoto nearby including Sanjusangendo Temple, Kyoto National Museum, and Tofukuji Temple, while the access to Kyoto Station is only 7 to 10 minutes by a taxi.

All of us are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely yours,

Jen Lee
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

Everyone at this hotel was helpful and attentive. Most spoke very good English. My daughter and I had a twin room with 2 huge beds and plenty of space for our bags. We had a delightful view of the back garden. We loved the shower. We also loved the breakfast. Once they learned that we wanted more than 1 cup of coffee, they kept coming by to ask if we needed more. The geisha performance in the lobby with a glass of champagne was a nice touch. We ate in the Italian restaurant one night and it was delicious. We also got acupuncture in the spa! The day that we left, we were able to buy sandwiches in the pastry shop to take with us to eat on the train. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mermma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKyoto2018, Guest Experience Manager at Hyatt Regency Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mermma,

Thank you so much for your recent stay with us and I appreciate your kind compliments about our service, guest room, spa treatment and food. I am sure to share your comments, which motivate us to continually rededicate ourselves to a superior experience for our valued guests.

We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to Kyoto in the not-too-distant future.

Sincerely yours,

Jen Lee
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

This is one of the best hotels that we ever stayed. The Management should give high appraisal for their front desk staff. They were very friendly and very helpful with very good English. Me and my family very happy and impressed with their service.

The only hick-up during our stay was the breakfast, the front desk already informed when we checked in that we can choose either to have western or Japanese breakfast and when we asked the restaurant, they did not speak good English and what they explained seems that we have to pay extra to get the Japanese breakfast. In the end, we did not eat the Japanese breakfast during our stay.

We shared this info to the front desk and they apologize for this and provide us with a free taxi to the station.

But overall a very nice hotel with excellent service. Would consider staying again at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Prigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKyoto2018, Guest Experience Manager at Hyatt Regency Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Deni A,

Thank you for staying at Hyatt Regency Kyoto and for taking the time to share your feedback.

I am delighted to learn that your overall stay with us has been an enjoyable one. Thank you for sharing your comments regarding the service at breakfast. I have shared your experience with our Food & Beverage management team for further improvement.

It was our privilege to have you as our guest, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely yours,

Jen Lee
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

We read booking.com and reserved 2 nights at the Hyatt. The reception areas are nice but you go to the rooms and they are small, faded and a bit shoddy. Bathroom tiny with a shower that couldn’t aim straight. It feels like a budget hotel. Breakfast was good, lunch in the Japanese Touzan was very ordinary. We didn’t try the Italian because if they couldn’t get Japanese right how would they get Italian right.
Staff very courteous and helpful. English spoken by most staff.
If you go make sure you are not put in rooms at level B1. No view. On the ground floor. Dark and dingy. 3 stars is being generous.
For Seasons in a different league.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKyoto2018, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Dear Ray B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

We do apologies if your stay did not live up to your expectations especially in the guest room and our Japanese restaurant. I have replied to you through our on-line survey and explained a little more in detail regarding your stay.

Please note that we have taken your comments very seriously and will discuss them with relevant departments to see how we can improve in the future.

Thank you again for your comments and we do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to Kyoto.

Yours Sincerely,
Miriam Varoli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews