We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb! :)”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sakura River Inn 1

Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger. Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
First room.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
3D map of the apartment.
View from the room! Can you see the river under the balcony?!
Reading e mail from the balcony! Priceless!
Balcony under the Sakura!
Enjoy feed the ducks from the balcony!!
Takasegawa
You will arrive from there!
French restaurant 5 meters from the apartment
Entrance of the apartment!
Bedroom 2
New summer futons sheets from muji
Mirror in a toilet
Finally new gas stove!
Useful table under gas stove!
Water filter!
Japanese cups
New Kitchen stuff.
Corridor
Shower room.
Washing machine and soap
Marriage ceremony from balcony (with zoom)
Mayumi with our first guest. 21 march 2014
view from balcony
Just in case!!!
Don't miss to sign our guest book!
Bedroom 2
Living room.
Aroma Therapy.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
EnidlLiao
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
“Superb! :)”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My friends and I had a great time living in the sakura river view apt. The apartment was perfectly located in a quiet place while close to the downtown area. The ornamentation in the apartment was lovely and created a cozy atmosphere which made us feel so relaxed. Also, the extra bikes Mayumi provided for us came in quite handy and enabled us to experience the city in a more interesting way!
For anyone who would like to lead a wonderful journey in Kyoto, I would definitely recommend this apartment!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henkjan_n...
Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great cozy apartment in quiet location near Gion”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a really great time here. The apartment is exactly as described an well supplied with everything you may need. There is a portable WiFi device that works all over Kyoto. The apartment is clean and well located. It is not large but we slept here fine with the four of us. The soft sounds of the river next door reminded us of sleeping in a boat. There are plenty of nice restaurants and convenience stores nearby. Andrea was in Italy for family affairs, but Mayumi took all the time in the world to explain everything about Kyoto, the neighborhood and the apartment. Mayumi is extremely helpful and speaks very good English with a charing Italian touch. She arranged a stay in Myoshin-ji monastery for us and a rental car in Shodoshima, which was perfect. Mayumi provided us with bicycles for all of us, and cycling in Kyoto is easy and fun. Hope to be back one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location by the river and service by Mayumi
Liked least: Difficult....
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linn M
Tromso, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing location, cozy little flat”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Our stay with Andrea and Mayumi was great! They were so helpful answering any questions we had, and had even arranged for an extra bike for us. We used the bikes so much to get around.

The area was super central, with loads to see near by, and easy bus access to other parts of town (including the train station). The streets are narrow and cosy, with countless restaurants and bars. A great neighbourhood! Right next door is a Korean BBQ place Andrea and Mayumi recommended, and it was fab!

The flat was lovely, right on a little canal. The flat is small, but has every thing you need. It is clean and well kept. Thanks so much Andrea and Mayumi, we had a great time in your city!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the hosts
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krigglez
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Apartment, Amazing Location, Amazing Hosts”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Mayumi and Andrea are wonderful hosts, and our stay at their apartment was equally as wonderful! My three friends and I arrived at the apartment to find 4 bikes outside and a cute note on the door welcoming us. Mayumi and Andrea met us at the apartment, and they were both so sweet and helpful. They showed us around and explained everything so that there was no confusion abut anything, such as turning the lights on/off, using the washer, the shower, the wi-fi, etc. They had a bunch of maps of the city and circled different sites to see and also had bus maps for us, which were super helpful during our stay! The apartment was lovely and very comfortable for four of us. It was clean and had everything we needed. It was also plenty of space for the 4 of us. We loved the balcony on the little river and we all used the bikes everyday! Biking is my favorite way to enjoy a new city, and we were able to travel all over! The location is incredible - it's very central and there are so many things to see and do nearby, like the Nishiki market, a large river, amazing shops and restaurants. We were also able to easily travel to other sites, like Arashiyama (monkeys and bamboo forest) and some temples. And the bus ride from Kyoto Station was only 10 minutes! We couldn't be happier with our hosts and our stay. It was amazing in every way =) I hope to meet Andrea and Mayumi again in future travels!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness, cute apartment, location, hosts
Liked least: Lights were difficult to turn on/off completely
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming Kyoto”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great location, very clean, and great personal attention to detail by owners, who gave a personal tour of local neighborhood. Japanese style accommodation. Quiet street, yet very close to the center of the action.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$280
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing